We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic weekend..”
Review of The Gibson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Gibson Hotel
Ranked #24 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2013

My best friend and I stayed at the Gibson hotel for a weekend in January 13, in order to see Two Door Cinema Club who were playing a gig at the o2. We had a great stay from the moment we got to reception..staff were very friendly and helpful and check in was very fast. Our room was lovely, could not have asked for more, and we had some cupcakes waiting for us which was a nice surpise. The Hemi bar had a nice atmosphere which was a great place to start the night before a concert. Bar staff were great at reccommending cocktails to try and the asian inspired food menu had lots of choice. The Luis is just beside the Gibson which made it really easy to get into the city centre. Breakfast in the morning was of a high standard, plenty fo everyone's taste's and the breakfast staff were very attentative. All in all I dont think I would stay anywhere else if I were to return to Dublin.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catherine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear catherine m,

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed you most recent stay at the gibson hotel and thank you for sharing your experience with the trip advisor community.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon for your next concert or leisure stay.

Kind Regards

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,852)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,443 - 3,449 of 4,852 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2013

stayed here recently and cant recommend hotel enough. going to a gig at O2, got the luas to the door of the hotel literally. O2 is 2 min walk away. staff lovely, room lovely, great location for gigs in O2 or stay in for shopping in dublin.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jor251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear jor251,

I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at the gibson hotel. We can not wait to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My friend and I recently stayed here for the one direction concert at the o2, and everything about this hotel was perfect. The staff on reception were lovely, we arrived at the hotel early as we'd got an early flight into dublin, and there was a room available so we were able to check in straightaway. room was very spacious and clean, my friend and i particularly loved the huge walk-in shower and the speaker system in the bathroom!

The tram was very handy, as it was right next to the hotel, and only a short trip into the city centre which was perfect. The night of the gig, we just ventured across from our hotel to the o2, without any queues and going straight in. The last day, our flight was not until 8:50 in the evening, so our bags were kept back until we had to leave for the airport, and we didn't have to pull around our suitcases all day! Overall, this hotel was amazing. I couldn't fault it in the slightest. Perfect location (especially for the o2) and friendly, attentive staff. Definitely planning another stay here in the future!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear rachabeth,

It is a delight to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we are already looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed here with my wife for one night. Hotel is nice, friendly staff, rooms are spacious, lunch was very tasty at the bar. Location was ideal as the Luas literally stops outside the front door which meant that you could be in Jervis St in 10 minutes.

Overall nice hotel, and would recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roneill82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear roneill82,

It is a delight to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we are already looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed in a junior-suite - absolutely fantastic. Clean, modern,quiet, generously sized, nicely laid-out and very clean. Hats off to housekeeping! Enjoyed the hotel, the atmosphere in the bar area, and especially the breakfast. Word of warning though - don't leave breakfast till last minute -most do so it gets busy, and you'll be disappointed you didn't have the opportunity to enjoy it more!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lizzy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Lizzy N,

Thank you very much for such positive feedback on here and I am sure all the staff here at the gibson hotel will be delighted to read your review. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and we patiently await for your next visit.

Kind Regards

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed in this hotel as we were going to a concert in the O2. From check in to check out it was just a lovely experience. Staff were lovely, on checking in the man (I think his name was Po) said "Hello and welcome to our hotel".....so simple, costs nothing but such a lovely touch. He was so pleasant and welcoming. Our room was just a standard but it was lovely, comfortable, warm etc. Bathroom lovely, double shower. Lovely toiletaries.
The bar is great, buzzing. Food amazing and very reasonable. Staff helpful and enthusiastic.
Would highly recommend this hotel and we will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank knuckey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear knuckey,

Thank you very much for such positive feedback on here and I am sure all the staff here at the gibson hotel will be delighted to read your review. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and we patiently await for your next visit.

Kind Regards

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I loved the cool stylish and contemporary design of the hotel, the room, the bar and the restaurant. The junior suite we stayed in had that wow factor. Great location if you are going to a gig at the O2 - so nice to be able to just walk across the street before and after the concert. Good value - 229 for junior suite, dinner for two, late check out (3pm) and jazz brunch (served from 12.30 - 3). The only negative was it took a long time for our food to arrive after ordering both at dinner and brunch (one hour with the brunch!) Would definately stay here again though.

Room Tip: junior suite on fourth floor was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silvercompass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Silvercompass,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the gibson hotel and for taking the time to provide us with your valued Trip Advisor review. Thank you for your very kind comments about our rooms and facilities, it is great to hear you had such a great stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.5 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 152 in Dublin
3,706 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
1.3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 152 in Dublin
4,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
1.1 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 152 in Dublin
2,663 reviews
1 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#9 of 152 in Dublin
1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gibson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gibson Hotel

Address: The Point Village, Dublin DUBLIN 3, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $124 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gibson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and understated with a music pedigree that runs deep, the gibson hotel Dublin is the ultimate urban retreat. Music lovers, art junkies, food fanatics - whatever your passion it's right on our doorstep. We do sleeping, meeting, dining, gigging, touring, wedding and relaxing really really well. We mix all these things with a fresh, energetic, slightly off centre approach and we know it works. Exhibitions, supporting local artists, urban weddings and the odd celebrity are elements of what makes us different to the normal Dublin Hotel. You will find our staff friendly, responsive and happy - there is a secret to this that we can't possibly share. The gibson hotel is the ideal location to explore the city and planning your stay is easy. The M1 and M50 are 8 minutes away via the Port Tunnel and we have ample covered parking for our guests. With the luas stop right outside our front door Connolly train station is only 8 minutes away and Heuston train station is a short 20 minutes from the hotel. The Luas will take you to the City centre in 10 minutes or if you prefer to take in the views of the River Liffey a brisk 15 minute walk along the quays will bring you to O'Connell street, the heart of Dublin city. Great beds, 100MB complimentary WiFi, a gym, relaxation area, restaurant, bar and meeting space are all part of the deal. The gibson hotel is modern yet comfortable, it's different and it's better, it's large, it's friendly and it's a building that is alive with great people from the moment you set foot until the moment you leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Gibson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing