We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“trendy relaxing hotel”
Review of The Gibson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Gibson Hotel
Ranked #23 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed here last night and really enjoyed it. Got the train to Dublin, straight onto the luas outside Station and we were literally at hotel within about 15 mins. Check in is 3pm but we got to hotel at about 11 so said we would leave our bags at reception and go for breakfast, Receptionist was really lovely and gave us our room there and then, couldn't believe it was ready and we weren't paying an early check in fee.

Room was really lovely, very fresh decor, double doors onto an outdoor terrace area, double shower area and very comfy bed.

Hotel in cool, very modern and fresh, staff were all really nice. Lovely surprise of cupcakes and choc dipped strawberries delivered to our room that afternoon compliments of manager. Had a couple of drinks in bar that night, really good atmosphere in there and really relaxed. Jazz band playing next day around lunch time and i would have stayed all day if i didn't have to get train home.

Hotel is a bit out of city centre but luas is right outside door and drops u straight to abbey street/jervis etc in a few mins, taxi from town to hotel later that night was €11 which isnt too bad at all. We will definitely be back to The Gibson as we didnt make it to the outdoor hot tub this time :-)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karynyellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,795)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,445 - 3,451 of 4,795 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

The Gibson is the best hotel I have stayed in for a while
Next door to the 02 arena it is unmissable
You can park in the multi story car park and get the lift straight up to reception which is rather inconveniently set on the 3rd floor
Check in was find however and the hotels is massive and somewhat futuristic clinial and contemporary which is right up my street
The gym is fantastic as is the relaxation room with steam room sauna and relaxation area
Will be staying here every time I visit Dublin
Hands down my favourite hotel recently
Of and the breakfast is awesome greet selection and staff
Free wifi is a bonus
The only drawback is, of you haven't been before its s little awkward to find as you have to drive right round the hotel to get to the dying door
It's a lot easier just parking in the multi story and getting the lift up!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biggie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Biggie81,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your very kind comments; it really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a visit as much as you did. Your words are very kind, are gratefully received and have given us all a big lift.

I hope it is not too long before you return to us again.

Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for a night to go to a gig at the 02. The hotel is somewhat difficult to access at the moment due to refurbishment but the Doorman was very helpful in offering suggestions to get to the car park (under the hotel and available at a reduced rate to guests).
The 02 Arena is literally next door as is the train station offering frequent services to central Dublin. Our twin room was spacious and comfortable. I was quite surprised to find that there was no bath but maybe other rooms offer these. We had room service supper on arrival which was prompt and tasty. Breakfast the following morning was also good. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Dublin and particularly if they want a good value stop-over after visiting the 02.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreenDayFanUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed three nights at this hotel. It is very modern , refreshing and clean. It is located a little further away from the city but the tram line stops directly out the front of the hotel. Short ride into city. The bedroom was first class and one of the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on. There is all the usual things here including free wifi in your room. The restaurant downstairs is very nice and a lively ambiance about it. If you want some snacks there is a convenience store located a 2 minute walk away. Overall - a very classy hotel and a good choice particularly if you are attending the show across the road. Nice place

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parraboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed in Gibson for three nights just after Christmas. Located just behind 'The Point' A little bit hard to find if arriving by car but not a major issue. Hotel has very modern feel with the feeling of loads of space. We had good views of city from room which was well equipped. Located last stop on Luas (light rail system) which brings you into city centre in a few minutes. Didn't have breakfast so can't comment but had bar food one night which was lovely. At time of stay there was nothing going on in Point or National Conference Centre (also nearby) and maube the area might have a different less relaxed feel if over busy. Would recommend hotel for short city break

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 75Gerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

If you're heading to Dublin for a concert at the o2 this is the ultimate place to stay! It's as close as you can get to the venue, it has the tram and taxis right outside and is ultra modern and quite impressive looking really. I have stayed many times now and I'm always impressed with the service. The rooms are very spacious and there is usually plenty of space to work if you're over on business. The rooms have quirky features such as under-bed lighting and in the morning you can switch the TV on and listen to the news while you're having a shower because the TV has speakers in the bathroom.

One downside that I have found when staying there is that if the weather is bad it easy gets quite noisy, and because an entire wall is glass from floor to ceiling (which looks great...) I always experience the rooms to be freezing! The aircon doesn't make things better. Even when you switch it off completely I'm cold in their rooms so always pack extra socks and sweaters when I know I'm staying there.

The beds are really comfortable and the rooms are nice and clean. The restaurant though is only open on weekends during the quieter months which can be annoying because the bar food is not very exciting despite the thai theme. Room service is quite expensive and the menu isn't very varied which is another downside.

I would not recommend this hotel if you're in Dublin for a city centre break. The location isn't exactly ideal for that.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malin_Gisela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The Gibson is a bit like an office block which was made into a hotel..... However..... The rooms are really modern, fresh and very comfortable.. Incredibly clean and I think that's really important to me.
I have been in hotels.... Namely cassidys in the centre of Dublin.... Which were filthy... Deep down dirty!!!! This was a breath of fresh air.
As I went in January it was overcast but I can imagine that the outdoor areas would be absolutely wonderful in the summer.... If we ever get one again!.
Reception staff could smile a bit more but on the whole the staff were helpful and happy.

I will definitely now use this as my base in Dublin when I return.

One other thing. This is amazingly convenient for the docks. Off a ship ... Straight to the Gibson..
It's right at the end of the Luas line. Couldn't be easier from Dublin and conveniently situated for arriving by boat from Hollyhead.

Cant wait to go back ... Just trying to think of an excuse to get back!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: The rooms are all beautifully modern. Love it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Peter B,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your very kind comments; it really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a visit as much as you did. Your words are very kind, are gratefully received and have given us all a big lift.

I hope it is not too long before you return to us again.

Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.6 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
0.5 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,560 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
2.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#12 of 150 in Dublin
4,693 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 150 in Dublin
2,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gibson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gibson Hotel

Address: The Point Village, Dublin DUBLIN 3, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $122 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gibson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and understated with a music pedigree that runs deep, the gibson hotel Dublin is the ultimate urban retreat. Music lovers, art junkies, food fanatics - whatever your passion it's right on our doorstep. We do sleeping, meeting, dining, gigging, touring, wedding and relaxing really really well. We mix all these things with a fresh, energetic, slightly off centre approach and we know it works. Exhibitions, supporting local artists, urban weddings and the odd celebrity are elements of what makes us different to the normal Dublin Hotel. You will find our staff friendly, responsive and happy - there is a secret to this that we can't possibly share. The gibson hotel is the ideal location to explore the city and planning your stay is easy. The M1 and M50 are 8 minutes away via the Port Tunnel and we have ample covered parking for our guests. With the luas stop right outside our front door Connolly train station is only 8 minutes away and Heuston train station is a short 20 minutes from the hotel. The Luas will take you to the City centre in 10 minutes or if you prefer to take in the views of the River Liffey a brisk 15 minute walk along the quays will bring you to O'Connell street, the heart of Dublin city. Great beds, 100MB complimentary WiFi, a gym, relaxation area, restaurant, bar and meeting space are all part of the deal. The gibson hotel is modern yet comfortable, it's different and it's better, it's large, it's friendly and it's a building that is alive with great people from the moment you set foot until the moment you leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Gibson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing