We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Hotel that could be GREAT!”
Review of The Gibson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Gibson Hotel
Ranked #21 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Good Hotel that could be GREAT!”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Recently stayed at the Gibson for a conference and have to say that overall it's a nice hotel. That said, it could be great with just a few minor adjustments. Here are the pro and cons':

Pros:
- The rooms are big with plenty of closet/storage space. Not something you see in Europe very often and it was refreshing.
- The beds are very comfortable - especially if you like a firm one. I got plenty of restful sleep.
- The shower is fantastic and also very spacious.
- The WIFI is super fast and free.
- The common areas of the hotel are very trendy and cosmetically appealing.
- Check in was fast and courteous.
- The gym is well equipped from a cardio perspective. However, if you're looking for more you're out of luck. They do pretty much state this on their website so that is fair.

Cons:
- Room service is not good from either a quality or timeliness perspective. I used it twice - once during dinner time and once the late night menu. Both times it took almost an hour to receive my food and neither time was it of decent quality.
- The room safe did not work and even after reporting it to reception is was not fixed. Didn't receive any additional information about it but I did find it annoying.
- The room thermostat does not work. No matter what setting you put it on it stays the same. I thought if might just be my room but in speaking with others at the conference they experienced the same issue. My room was cold most of the time.

The hotel has real potential but it makes me wonder if they aren't resting on their laurels a bit in that it is directly across from the O2 and they know people will stay there, if for nothing else, the convenience of access to the events. With just a few adjustments it could be great.

I'm not sure i would stay here again unless I was at a conference or in town specifically for an event at the O2.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasmanBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,951
    1,254
    297
    90
    56
See reviews for
599
2,077
151
682
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (771)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
carrickmacross
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

stayed here for a John Bishop show which was on at the 02, traveled from county Monaghan any body traveling to Dublin from, the north should head for Dublin Airport on the M1, follow signs for the port tunnel and go through it (its 3 euro at the weekends and Bank Holidays) when you come out of the tunnel and paid the Toll take the second road to the right and about fifty yards along on the left you will find the entrance to the hotel car park underneath the hotel(14 euro for 24 hours), now to the hotel, it is very spacious,and has at least two bars inside, the rooms are well appointed with multi channel tv, free internet, coffee making, ironing board, hair drier etc. spotlessly clean, we got the munchies after the show and reception gave us take away menus, they even gave us plates and cutlery for the room to eat our chinese with once the take away delivered it. beds were very comfy, breakfast in the morning was excellent, nothing was any bother to the friendly staff, p.s the freshly brewed coffee was great, breakfast is served until 11am, so to summerise would I stay here again, YES YES YES, a little pricier than some hotels but if you are off to the 02, you would end up paying the difference in taxi fares anyway. treat yourself !

Room Tip: you can ask for a smoking or non smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patchclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This hotel rates as top class in my opinion.Firstly it's perfect for the o2 - right across the road. On the 3 occasions I've stayed there (most recent last week for a John Bishop gig) I've always been able to check in early. The rooms are absolutely fab! Very modern,super clean and extremely comfortable. Best beds / bed linen I've ever slept in at a hotel. Staff are extremely helpful, polite and friendly no matter what area of the hotel you meet them in. Luas is right out side the hotel. Full size ironing board and iron as well as a proper salon style hairdryer in the room along with tea/coffee facilities. Love the hotel and cannot recommend highly enough.

Room Tip: The rooms with the balcony on the fifth floor are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ger1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Not a lot of atmosphere, and barren neighborhood, but very conveniently located right at the end of the North light rail line. Three and a half Euro gets you to the Temple Bar action in ~10 minutes.

Clean, modern, quiet. Big rooms and nice beds. Free internet, and two computers near lobby desk to use. Good base to return to at night after exploring Dublin in the day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DadB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here the night of attending a John Bishop comedy gig in the O2.. We checked in early and found the rooms to be fabulous! Rooms and bathrooms were so clean and tidy, there was good standard of tea making facilities and ironing facilities compared to the usual crap in other hotels! The luas was right outside the hotel so you could get anywhere in minutes for a small price! We came back to the hotel for food, to find the bar food only served Asian.. Which obviously isn't every bodies cup of tea! :( so we had to go to the restaurant.. The food selection was very small and limited although the food was nice and good standard, but small portions. Beds in the room were very comfortable and got a great nights sleep. As 2 couples went on this weekend away, we asked for rooms beside each other that you could enter via courtyard area outside. This was nice as the outside doors led to a courtyard so we could all sit out and still be near our rooms.
Will definitely be returning to this hotel :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joannamaypink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Have stayed here twice now, and each time have been completely blown away by how fantastic this hotel is. Handy to the Luas and to the O2, it's a perfect spot for a bit of shopping or for a concert.

Everything about the hotel is classy and luxurious, have stayed in both a twin room and a double and found each to be fantastic. The twin room went out into a little roof garden with a water feature and was very relaxing. The double looked out over another garden and gave a great view of the bar with none of the noise. The rooms are finished to an extremely high standard, and offers the kind of comfort and style you would expect from a more expensive hotel.

We ate in both the restaurant and the Hemidemisemiquaver bar, and couldn't fault wither on service, presentation or quality. Fantastic food, and very reasonable.

Got great deals though Trivago so have no complaint on the price, can't wait for another opportunity to stay at the Gibson!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss_WooDerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dingle, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here on Friday 9th November and our party included 4 couples going to see John Bishop in the O2. Firstly the location is excellent and is right next door to the O2 with a Luas stop outside the front door to take you to the city centre.
Our welcome was first class with the aditional bonus that they serve breakfast until 11am - perfect after a night out in Dublin. The room itself was clean and modern with lots of space.
We had ordered room service and although the hotel itself was very busy our food was delivered within 15 minutes by a lovely friendly waiter.
After the concert we returned to the hotel as the Luas queue was very busy. The bar area was packed but in spite of this a waiter took it upon himself to go to a back room and proceeded to bring out a table and 8 chairs for our party.
The Gibson are very lucky to have such excellent staff who would go out of their way to ensure the comfort of their customers. I would highly recommend this hotel and commend them on their excellent recruitment and staff training. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Val H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.5 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,216 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
1.3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 151 in Dublin
4,491 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
1.4 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gibson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gibson Hotel

Property: The Gibson Hotel
Address: The Point Village, Dublin DUBLIN 3, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gibson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and understated with a music pedigree that runs deep, the gibson hotel Dublin is the ultimate urban retreat. Music lovers, art junkies, food fanatics - whatever your passion it's right on our doorstep. We do sleeping, meeting, dining, gigging, touring, wedding and relaxing really really well. We mix all these things with a fresh, energetic, slightly off centre approach and we know it works. Exhibitions, supporting local artists, urban weddings and the odd celebrity are elements of what makes us different to the normal Dublin Hotel. You will find our staff friendly, responsive and happy - there is a secret to this that we can't possibly share. The gibson hotel is the ideal location to explore the city and planning your stay is easy. The M1 and M50 are 8 minutes away via the Port Tunnel and we have ample covered parking for our guests. With the luas stop right outside our front door Connolly train station is only 8 minutes away and Heuston train station is a short 20 minutes from the hotel. The Luas will take you to the City centre in 10 minutes or if you prefer to take in the views of the River Liffey a brisk 15 minute walk along the quays will bring you to O'Connell street, the heart of Dublin city. Great beds, 100MB complimentary WiFi, a gym, relaxation area, restaurant, bar and meeting space are all part of the deal. The gibson hotel is modern yet comfortable, it's different and it's better, it's large, it's friendly and it's a building that is alive with great people from the moment you set foot until the moment you leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Gibson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing