We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for a show at the O2 and easy access to the City.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gibson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Gibson Hotel
Ranked #20 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Alameda, CA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Perfect for a show at the O2 and easy access to the City.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed four nights during half term, chose the Gibson primarily because it's next to the O2, but also due to Trip Advisor reviews. We were not disappointed. Access to the O2 could not be easier. Access to the City Center just as easy with the Luas (Abbey Station was our destination of choice). Room was clean, beds and pillows comf. Shower fab. First dinner in the restaurant was painfully slow, but the breakfasts and subsequent dinners in the Bar were excellent. Bar staff seemed more attentive and had a bit more 'hustle' than observed in the restaurant and the food served by the bar staff was excellent. Would prefer a location closer to the City if our main objective was to experience Dublin but we were really here to see Jack White, and the Gibson was perfect for this visit. We even mingled with the band in the lobby before the show.... ;-}

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mauka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,832
    1,163
    270
    87
    49
See reviews for
562
1,978
144
633
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (738)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
leicester
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

ok...booked hotel as looked fantastic..and site we booked from stated all ameneties inc sauna steam room jacuzzi gym etc..perfect for relaxin weekend we needed...on arrival.. check in we was.told there is just a gym and other facilities are not yet finished...i was annoyed to say the least...however.
.the staff were great..and understanding after my husband shown them the details of what we booked..
they gave us free dinner ... 4 courses..which saved us alot of money..dublin isnt the cheapest place for food and their restaurant is really nice good quality food and service..
they also upgraded us from a standard double to a junior suite free of charge.
overall the hotel is fantastic location the luas tram stops right outside the hotel.yet isnt noisy..that takes you anywhere you want to go for just a few euros and is like a straight line.and very easy to use. no underground tunnels tubes jus on the road tram system. just a couple to a few minutes to anywhere on that..

from the airport u can catch the aircoach which is right.there as.soon as you land and.exit...this takes you.directly.to the hotel for 10 euros return and about 15 20 mins max.. taxi.isnt even that expensive but coach cheaper and.no hassle.

modern clean contempory.new hotel
cant fault it
even with my annoyance.of what haooened about facilities..that wasnt directly their fault..the way they handled it was great.
defo will return and recommend
GO!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carlysingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night at the weekend. Beautiful hotel, modern decor throughout. Very spacious rooms, with everything you need. Our room was spotless. Fantastic shower as well. The modern and sleek interior styling continues throughout the bar and restaurant areas. Staff were all very helpful and friendly. Having the Luas tram stop right outside the hotel was very convenient. Breakfast was good, and parking is directly under the the hotel (although charged at €14 for 24hrs). Will definitely stay again, and recommend to others.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank KeldaWelda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Great location, Great staff, Food is very tasty. Love coming here. We were celebrating an anniversary and The Gibson staff accommodated my requests. They even had cupcakes in the room on a plate with Happy Anniversary spelled out. It is the simple things that count and The Gibson do it very well, while also adding a great deal of luxury. Always recommend The Gibson to friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steveheno24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

I've stayed at The Gibson on a few occasions and the hotel never fails to exceed expectations. The rooms are spacious and well appointed - but a little too warm even with the air con on minimum. The facilities i.e gym, bar and restaurant are all really good.

The Gibson is well worth a visit even though its somewhat off the centre of the City - although the Lewis tram system does help with the commute. The hotel is right opposite the O2 and conveniently located next to the brand new ODEON cinema.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Went to Gibson Hotel for weekend to visit family. We were given the wrong room but were changed very quickly. The most comfortable bed we ever slept in. Very quiet never had such a good night's sleep.And the cupcakes a lovely touch!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wilsojen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We regularly go for cocktails in the bar here when we go to gigs at the O2. Last night we decided to stay the night. Dinner in the restuarant was very good. The room is spacious and cleam and well equipped. However the room was unbearably hot. I was awake most of the night. I tried the air con on various settings and off, but nothing helped. You cant open the windows at all which is a big no no for me. Fresh air would have really helped.
Also a little annoying, we finished our drinks in the bar after the gig, saw people with bowls of fries and though we would get some for the room, but apparently you cant get fries from room service, just sandwiches or casserole. Even though they were serving them downstairs, they couldnt bring them to the room. Bit odd really. I wouldnt rush to stay again. The hotel is very aesthetically pleasing and if you're the kind of person thats always cold then you would love it!

Room Tip: Go for a suite, they have a balcony so you can leave the door open if its warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loveisdivine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,266 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,176 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
1.4 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,571 reviews
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gibson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gibson Hotel

Property: The Gibson Hotel
Address: The Point Village, Dublin DUBLIN 3, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gibson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and understated with a music pedigree that runs deep, the gibson hotel Dublin is the ultimate urban retreat. Music lovers, art junkies, food fanatics - whatever your passion it's right on our doorstep. We do sleeping, meeting, dining, gigging, touring, wedding and relaxing really really well. We mix all these things with a fresh, energetic, slightly off centre approach and we know it works. Exhibitions, supporting local artists, urban weddings and the odd celebrity are elements of what makes us different to the normal Dublin Hotel. You will find our staff friendly, responsive and happy - there is a secret to this that we can't possibly share. The gibson hotel is the ideal location to explore the city and planning your stay is easy. The M1 and M50 are 8 minutes away via the Port Tunnel and we have ample covered parking for our guests. With the luas stop right outside our front door Connolly train station is only 8 minutes away and Heuston train station is a short 20 minutes from the hotel. The Luas will take you to the City centre in 10 minutes or if you prefer to take in the views of the River Liffey a brisk 15 minute walk along the quays will bring you to O'Connell street, the heart of Dublin city. Great beds, 100MB complimentary WiFi, a gym, relaxation area, restaurant, bar and meeting space are all part of the deal. The gibson hotel is modern yet comfortable, it's different and it's better, it's large, it's friendly and it's a building that is alive with great people from the moment you set foot until the moment you leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Gibson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing