We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gibson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Gibson Hotel
Ranked #20 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Great location - love the design, large spacious rooms, clever bathroom, great public spaces, restaurant and bar areas. Enjoyed our brief stay in Dublin, great that they serve breakfast so late on the weekends very civilised!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear JaneL,

I was so glad to read your feedback following your stay at The gibson Hotel. I was delighted that you enjoyed the brilliant service we provide to our guests. I am very proud that the team delivered the best levels of service to you and that we met your expectations. As always I will be passing your kind words on to our great team. I do hope that we get the chance to welcome you back again in the near future.

My kindest regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,832
    1,163
    270
    87
    49
See reviews for
562
1,978
144
633
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (738)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel has got it all! Looks,price,staff and it's conveniant to the city center(as long as you are ok with taking the luas tram) .We were lucky enough to get a harbor view mini suite with a double size balcony(courtesy of the lovely Michelle) and it was very cheap for a deluxe hotel such as the Gibson. As I said before you must be ok with taking the luas wherever you go but the price for a 7 day unlimited stop pass thru all 5 zones is 23 euros per person and for an entire week of travel on that system it's a great bargain. We love to walk so taking the tram was great for us but keep in mind with the luas you really don't have to do a lot of walking to get to the major tourist attractions after you get off. The one downfall is that the last train back to the hotel is approx 12:15-12:30 so keep that in mind if you are going to be stumbling around Temple Bar very late.There are a million taxis anyway but keep it in mind if you book the Gibson. I can't say enough good things about this hotel the well appointed room and the friendly staff ....just book it as soon as you can!!!

Room Tip: We had room 679 and it was a great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daveCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear daveCalifornia,

I was so glad to read your feedback following your stay at The gibson Hotel. I was delighted that you enjoyed the brilliant service we provide to our guests. I am very proud that the team delivered the best levels of service to you and that we met your expectations. As always I will be passing your kind words on to our great team. I do hope that we get the chance to welcome you back again in the near future.

My kindest regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alabama
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

My mom and I had three nights at the Gibson Hotel...our room was always so neat and we really love the tea they left for us to make every day! You can step right out of the front door and catch the luas to anywhere in town...especially to the city center where you can connect to all the tour buses ( hop on hop off). We had arrived a day late, missing one of our 3 nights there however they were so nice to assure us that we could stay another night....great people and loved the full irish breakfast available on the main floor...would def go again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dreamadream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear dreamadream,

I was so glad to read your feedback following your stay at The gibson Hotel. I was delighted that you enjoyed the brilliant service we provide to our guests. I am very proud that the team delivered the best levels of service to you and that we met your expectations. As always I will be passing your kind words on to our great team. I do hope that we get the chance to welcome you back again in the near future.

My kindest regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
88 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

I stayed in the Gibson for two weeks during August. I spent about ten days in one of the regular double rooms followed by four days of luxury in one of their executive pads. The first thing that strikes you about the Gibson as you walk into its airy, light-filled atrium, is a tremendous sense of space. All of the public areas - including the reception, the main bar and the restaurant - are capacious and inviting and located beside an outside balcony area where you can sip a drink (or even eat breakfast) and take in panoramic views of Dublin Bay, Dalkey and the Wicklow Mountains in the far distance. The breakfast buffet (which varies in price between Euro 10 and Euro 15, depending on whether you want continental or the full Irish) is varied in terms of choice and of good quality. My only minor reservation about the breakfasts is that you sometimes have to stand up and look the waiters directly in the eye in order to entice them to bring coffee and wheaten toast to your table.

As regards the rooms, my double room had a balcony overlooking the Dublin Docklands. As a Dubliner who never really checked out the docklands as a tourist destination before, it was intriguing to be able to sip a drink on the balcony and to have a bird's eye view of this hidden part of the capital city. The double room cost me an average of about Euro 100 a night (great value). Towards the end of my stay, I upgraded to an Executive Room (which was about 70% more expensive than a double) and the switch was well worth it. I was located on the top floor of the hotel, with a balcony overlooking both the River Liffey and the ferry terminal where the large ships dock. I had a spectacular view of the maritime activities in Dublin Port as well as a number of scenic sites in the distance. And the room itself was new, bright and sparkling and an absolute pleasure for the four days I stopped there.

As noted by a number of posters, the Gibson is at the end of the Luas Line. So you can travel uptown to Abbey Street within the space of about ten or fifteen minutes. If you like movies, there is a major cinema located in the same building as the Gibson. One of the screens boasts the latest I-screen technology; I watched the latest Bourne film there and can testify to the high calibre of the cinematic experience. As regards food and drink (over and above that provided by the hotel) there is a large Spar store about four minutes walk away from the Gibson (the Gibson itself does not provide mini-bars; but there is a fridge in every room for the storage of food and drink).

I'm currently on sabbatical in the USA. When I return to Dublin, I will need to find myself a new apartment to rent. However, I look forward to spending another couple of weeks in the Gibson Hotel before making my decision about where in Dublin I'm going to live next.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Insightful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Insightful,

I was so glad to read your feedback following your stay at The gibson Hotel. I was delighted that you enjoyed the brilliant service we provide to our guests. I am very proud that the team delivered the best levels of service to you and that we met your expectations. As always I will be passing your kind words on to our great team. I do hope that we get the chance to welcome you back again in the near future.

My kindest regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

The Gibson appears to be a new hotel directly across the street from Dublin's O2 arena.

Dublin was inundated with Notre Dame and Navy fans for the football weekend August 31 through September 2. The Gibson staff was obviously stressed by the sudden crush of people needing dining services and other accommodations.

Despite the intense surge of customers requiring often quick-turnaround meals, the staff maintained a positive attitude and performed well. And the service at the front desk was terrific.

There is a new tram station right in front of the hotel which whisked us into Dublin in about 10 minutes or less for a very reasonable fee. We debarked at a stop near O'Connell Street (a main venue for entertainment and shopping) which is a five minute walk from the Temple Bar district and Trinity College.

We really enjoyed our stay at the Gibson and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear BernardB,

I was so glad to read your feedback following your stay at The gibson Hotel. I was delighted that you enjoyed the brilliant service we provide to our guests. I am very proud that the team delivered the best levels of service to you and that we met your expectations. As always I will be passing your kind words on to our great team. I do hope that we get the chance to welcome you back again in the near future.

My kindest regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel a few times. The rooms are big and very clean and modern looking. The beds are really comfortable. The internet worked fine which is a huge deal for me. The only issue I had with the hotel was the restaurant/bar area. It seemed that they may have been understaffed when it was busy times because they seemed stressed out and not the most friendly. It took some time to get someone to come over and take our order and was told that if we didn't order now, he would not be back to take the order. I found that pretty rude. Other then the restaurant/bar area, the hotel itself is great. You can't walk anywhere as its pretty desolate in that area but he tram is right outside the hotel that can take you right into the city.

Room Tip: as for a room that is not facing the inside of the hotel otherwise you cannot open your curtains to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aloha1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Aloha1977,

I was so glad to read your feedback following your stay at The gibson Hotel. I was delighted that you enjoyed the brilliant service we provide to our guests. I am very proud that the team delivered the best levels of service to you and that we met your expectations. As always I will be passing your kind words on to our great team. I do hope that we get the chance to welcome you back again in the near future.

My kindest regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Lovely hotel, easy access to the city,clean, everything perfect, very ggod value for money. great buffet breakfast, staff brilliant. if you are visiting for events at o2 it is on your doorstep. parking £23 for 2 nights, easy access to the ferry

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear AlisonCheshire_8,

I was so glad to read your feedback following your stay at The gibson Hotel. I was delighted that you enjoyed the brilliant service we provide to our guests. I am very proud that the team delivered the best levels of service to you and that we met your expectations. As always I will be passing your kind words on to our great team. I do hope that we get the chance to welcome you back again in the near future.

My kindest regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,266 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,176 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
1.4 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,571 reviews
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gibson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gibson Hotel

Property: The Gibson Hotel
Address: The Point Village, Dublin DUBLIN 3, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gibson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and understated with a music pedigree that runs deep, the gibson hotel Dublin is the ultimate urban retreat. Music lovers, art junkies, food fanatics - whatever your passion it's right on our doorstep. We do sleeping, meeting, dining, gigging, touring, wedding and relaxing really really well. We mix all these things with a fresh, energetic, slightly off centre approach and we know it works. Exhibitions, supporting local artists, urban weddings and the odd celebrity are elements of what makes us different to the normal Dublin Hotel. You will find our staff friendly, responsive and happy - there is a secret to this that we can't possibly share. The gibson hotel is the ideal location to explore the city and planning your stay is easy. The M1 and M50 are 8 minutes away via the Port Tunnel and we have ample covered parking for our guests. With the luas stop right outside our front door Connolly train station is only 8 minutes away and Heuston train station is a short 20 minutes from the hotel. The Luas will take you to the City centre in 10 minutes or if you prefer to take in the views of the River Liffey a brisk 15 minute walk along the quays will bring you to O'Connell street, the heart of Dublin city. Great beds, 100MB complimentary WiFi, a gym, relaxation area, restaurant, bar and meeting space are all part of the deal. The gibson hotel is modern yet comfortable, it's different and it's better, it's large, it's friendly and it's a building that is alive with great people from the moment you set foot until the moment you leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Gibson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing