We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good service, good food, good times!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gibson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Gibson Hotel
Ranked #20 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good service, good food, good times!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

The location of this hotel is a little odd being in behind the O2 and surrounded by seemingly unfinished buildings.

However, what it lacks in location it makes up for in service, quality of food and standard of rooms.

The hotel is very new compared with the competition so I hope they can keep up the standard.

Breakfast was slightly disappointing but otherwise food was excellent for this standard of hotel.

Well worth the extra walk. I will stay again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZCar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear “Zcar”,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the gibson hotel and for taking the time to provide us with your valued feedback. I am happy to see you enjoyed the service and the design of the hotel. I was disappointed to see you were not entirely satisfied with the breakfast as this is an area we regularly receive good compliments. If you have any further feedback on this, or is you require any other assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards,
Gordon Callinan
Hotel Manager on Duty
gcallinan@thegibsonhotel.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,832
    1,163
    270
    87
    49
See reviews for
562
1,978
144
633
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (738)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

I stayed at this hotel a few times for business, it is truly comfortable and the décor modern and stylish. The breakfast is delicious and varied, the rooms spacious, clean and well equipped. I would definitely come back to stay for a leisure trip, too.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuscany82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear “Tuscany82,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the gibson hotel and for taking the time to provide us with your valued feedback. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel and in particular your room and breakfast. I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future and if I can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards,
Gordon Callinan
Hotel Manager on Duty
gcallinan@thegibsonhotel.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laytown Co Meath
Level Contributor
199 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

I have stayed at the Gibson Hotel many times when attending a concert in the O2 it is ideal as it is 30 seconds walk to the venue and the luas is just outside the door of the hotel and will take you to the city centre of Dublin within about 7 mins. The staff are really excellent at this hotel and very helpful. The rooms are clean spacious and modern. The bar in this hotel is modern and has a varied selection of food and drinks.It always lovely to sit out on the balcony of this hotel with a cocktail in hand watching the world go by. A great modern hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catriona_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear “catriona_1980”,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the gibson hotel yet again and for taking the time to provide us with your valued feedback. It is very encouraging to see you continue to enjoy your stays in the hotel and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back on many more occasions. In the meantime, if I can be of any more assistance, please do not ehsitaet to contact me.

Kind Regards,
Gordon Callinan
Hotel Manager on Duty
gcallinan@thegibsonhotel.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

There was nothing on at the O2 so we got a great deal on a double room for this hotel. It is stylish, modern, very clean and well laid out. They have clearly put a great deal of thought in to the decor and furnishings as well as the overall design of the hotel. However, it has a bit of an airport lounge feeling to the space. Staff are efficient and welcoming but not fun and charming.
Connections in to the city centre are brilliant as the tram stop right outside the door.
So, top score on everything. Restaurant is good, food is great, room was large and faultless and the design worked very well. We will certainly stay here again if we can get a similar deal.

Room Tip: If you can get something above the third floor with a balcony that would be nice but all the rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear “Gordon B”,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the gibson hotel and for taking the time to provide us with your valued feedback. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel and that you found the features of the hotel and our location to your satisfaction. I’m delighted that you intend on returning again and if I can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards,
Gordon Callinan
Hotel Manager on Duty
gcallinan@thegibsonhotel.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at the Gibson while attending a concert at the O2 arena. It's a very clean, modern hotel, the staff are all very efficient and friendly and it is so convenient for all the travel connections. Food is good too. Only negative is that it is VERY hot and the air con in the bedroom is quite loud so you have to take your pick with either when tryiing to sleep. Other than that I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank she1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear “she1959”,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the gibson hotel and also for taking the time to provide us with your valued feedback. I’m sorry that you found the air conditioning to be hot in your room. I would be grateful if you would contact me as I would like to discuss this further with you in order to fix any issues that might be there. I’m delighted to see you enjoyed the remainder of your stay and I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Gordon Callinan
Hotel Manager on Duty
gcallinan@thegibsonhotel.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sagres, Portugal
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

This sleek modern hotel provided a nice overnight for my wife and I. The hotel is new, ultra sleek and convenient to the tram into downtown. Would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom1394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear “Tom1934”,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the gibson hotel and also for taking the time to provide us with your valued feedback. I’m delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel and I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future. In the meantime, if I can be of any further convenience, please do note hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards,
Gordon Callinan
Hotel Manager on Duty
gcallinan@thegibsonhotel.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

Superb service from staff , very responsive and helpful .
While not in the centre of town, is easily accessible via public transport .
Highly recommended !

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank superdin0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear “superdin0”,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the gibson hotel and for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay in your hotel and that our team helped to contribute towards this. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future. In the meantime, if I can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards,
Gordon Callinan
Hotel Manager on Duty
gcallinan@thegibsonhotel.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,266 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,176 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
1.4 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,571 reviews
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gibson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gibson Hotel

Property: The Gibson Hotel
Address: The Point Village, Dublin DUBLIN 3, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gibson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and understated with a music pedigree that runs deep, the gibson hotel Dublin is the ultimate urban retreat. Music lovers, art junkies, food fanatics - whatever your passion it's right on our doorstep. We do sleeping, meeting, dining, gigging, touring, wedding and relaxing really really well. We mix all these things with a fresh, energetic, slightly off centre approach and we know it works. Exhibitions, supporting local artists, urban weddings and the odd celebrity are elements of what makes us different to the normal Dublin Hotel. You will find our staff friendly, responsive and happy - there is a secret to this that we can't possibly share. The gibson hotel is the ideal location to explore the city and planning your stay is easy. The M1 and M50 are 8 minutes away via the Port Tunnel and we have ample covered parking for our guests. With the luas stop right outside our front door Connolly train station is only 8 minutes away and Heuston train station is a short 20 minutes from the hotel. The Luas will take you to the City centre in 10 minutes or if you prefer to take in the views of the River Liffey a brisk 15 minute walk along the quays will bring you to O'Connell street, the heart of Dublin city. Great beds, 100MB complimentary WiFi, a gym, relaxation area, restaurant, bar and meeting space are all part of the deal. The gibson hotel is modern yet comfortable, it's different and it's better, it's large, it's friendly and it's a building that is alive with great people from the moment you set foot until the moment you leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Gibson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing