We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great modern hotel”
Review of The Gibson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Gibson Hotel
Ranked #22 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great modern hotel”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

This is a very nice modern hotel with many great features. The main restaurants/bar is beautifully decorated with lots of space, a lovely atrium, and nice views of the city. The staff was very courteous, and helpful at all hours. Our room was well decorated and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was just ok. The standard full irish breakfast and continental breakfast spreads were generous. Both the scrambled and poached eggs were a bit off the day we tried them. If you get a special and have the breakfast included in your room rate it is not too bad. For the €15 that they charge non-residents I would go somewhere else in the city.

The Gibson is just steps from the Luas (local tram service), and a stones throw from the O2 venue. The Airlink bus, and local bus service stops right out front so transfers from the airport are very easy, even with a bunch of luggage. The downside about the location is that it is a little ways out from the city centre/Temple Bar area. The Luas only runs until about midnight. So if you are out and about for a late night you will probably end up taking a taxi for €10-12 from the city centre. All in all this is a great hotel for the price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear “Tom D”,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the gibson hotel and for taking the time to provide us with your valued feedback. I’m delighted to see you enjoyed your stay in the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back again. If I can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards,
Gordon Callinan
Hotel Manager on Duty
gcallinan@thegibsonhotel.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,900
    1,227
    291
    92
    56
See reviews for
591
2,039
148
664
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (758)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Really enjoyed staying here very modern, light and airy, very spacious rooms, car park underneath, great food and bar area. The only negative would be it is slightly out of the way
but a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liznotrump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear “liznotrump”,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the gibson hotel and for taking the time to provide us with your valued feedback. I’m delighted to see you enjoyed your stay in the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back again. If I can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards,
Gordon Callinan
Hotel Manager on Duty
gcallinan@thegibsonhotel.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Stayed at the GIbson hotel with my wife and 11 year old son and had a wonderful weekend. The weather was glorious which helped , of course, but the location (7 mins on the Luas to city centre), efficiency of staff, spotless rooms and chic design of hotel were a joy.
Breakfast was plentiful and tasty as was evening meal, although limited on choice.
For the gym buffs among us there are a vast array of cardiovascular machines available as well as a fridge for fresh towels !!!.
To top it off we were over to see the Irish soccer team defeat Bosnia at the Aviva stadium
( 20 min walk)... which rounded the weekend of nicely.
Must give a mention to Kevin in the bar / restaurant who couldn't do any more for us and was a nice guy into the bargain........ A great weekend

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear “Martin G”,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the gibson hotel and for taking the time to provide us with your valued feedback. I’m delighted to see you enjoyed your stay in the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back again. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to Kevin as well who is very popular with our guests. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future. If I can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards,
Gordon Callinan
Hotel Manager on Duty
gcallinan@thegibsonhotel.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

I could't possibly do justice to the experience I had in the Gibson Hotel but I will try my best.
We had my wedding reception of about 150 people there yesterday and it was a monumentally epic occasion! The Gibson oozes coolness.

The Building: Beautifully designed modern, open plan, bright slick looking place. Find out more about this and see pictures on their website.

The Food: We didn't have a lot of money to play with so we wanted to make it cheaper as we were feeding a lot of guests. The events management offered us a menu which looked lovely and was reasonable but we needed to go cheaper. They then offered another one for much less in price but no less in quality. The food was gorgeous. No complaints at all.

The Staff: I don' know what the wages are like but I can only imagine that they are well paid. They are brilliant. Its the kind of place that sets the bar for hotel staff and are really friendly, professional and attentive. They believe in the hotel policy and I believe this comes from the top but regardless of that they are very good at what they do.

The rooms: Perfect. We were thankfully upgraded to the Penthouse suit which we thoroughly enjoyed for the few hours we got so spend in it but it was gorgeous.

Great service - great value - spotless - perfect!
This is the future of hotels...this is the way they should be.
If you have any opportunity to stay in the Gibson...take it. If you don't...find one!

Thank you everyone at the Gibson Hotel...you made the best day of our lives, the best day of our lives. Justin & Katie

Room Tip: Any room...all are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear Justin & Kate,

Thank you for choosing to have your wedding with us and also for taking the time to post your review. It is extremely pleasing to know that your special occasion was so much to your satisfaction. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. In the meantime, if I can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards,
Gordon Callinan
Hotel Manager on Duty
gcallinan@thegibsonhotel.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

I stayed at this hotel whilst visiting friends in Dublin. The hotel itself is bright and modern, the rooms nice except for the window in the bathroom which looks into the bedroom! Not the most plesant thing if staying with a family member or friend as you can be seen attending to your business.

We had drinks and food in the bar. The drinks where lovely however the food was only ok.

My big issue with the hotel comes at the early hours of the morning. After being out with friends in Dublin town I returned to the hotel at about 3am finding U had left my key card in my room. As the hotels front desk is on the second floor you have to use a buzzer to contact reception. The night porters are USELESS!!!! I was left outside pressing the buzzer for 40 minutes while being harassed by 2 youths!! Only by chance that someone was leaving the hotel could I gain entry!! I stormed up to the front desk to express my unhappiness at being ignored in the cold to be met with blank looks and responses of ''we didnt hear anyone buzzing". Least to say I was NOT impressed! Its unacceptable for a guest to be left locked out and ignored in the October cold! Due to this I would be hard pushed to return!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eoin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear “Eoin C”,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the gibson hotel and for taking the time to provide us with your valued feedback. I am very disappointed to read your review as I was not aware of this incident before now. I would be grateful if you would contact me directly and I would be delighted to discuss this further with you.

Kind Regards,
Gordon Callinan
Hotel Manager on Duty
gcallinan@thegibsonhotel.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

A modern style without compromise or apology. Clean lines, no clutter, large rooms with high
ceilings and plenty of light.
Quiet location well situated for O2 and a quick journey to/from Airport. Headstop for Luas nearby.
Stayed there for 4 days from 13th May. Have stayed at 27 hotels throughout Ireland and I found
this one the most interesting.
Staff were friendly and effecient, cocktails were well presented, restaurant menu and wines were
very well balanced.
Will return again.
Can be enjoyed by all ages.

Room Tip: Seems a quite area, my room which overlooked the quad was excellent but i would guess that all are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear “John M”,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the gibson hotel and for taking the time to provide us with your valued feedback. I’m delighted to see you enjoyed your stay in the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back again. If I can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards,
Gordon Callinan
Hotel Manager on Duty
gcallinan@thegibsonhotel.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

The hotel is very modern and chic. We have stayed in a balcony room and a courtyard room, each room had free wifi, bottle water, a fridge, lovely high end toiletries, and a safe, the shower in the bathroom is amazing. The beds are super comfy. With regard to the window in the bathroom it really is not an issue, its positioned in a way that you cannot see in unless you actually make a point of going over and leaning in to have a look, I was apprehensive before my first stay after reading some reviews, but it’s no problem whatsoever.

All the staff we dealt with were very pleasant and helpful. The room rates are very reasonable and hopefully will continue to be so

An issue I have with the hotel is the car parking charges, they are very expensive at €14 per night, it really needs to be taken into account when booking a room here. There have been times where we wanted to book The Gibson for a weekend break but when the parking charges were added on we chose different hotels around Dublin. I would not mind paying €7 per night but €14 is a bit ridiculous.

I believe a cinema has recently opened close to the hotel. And there is a small shop to the rear of the hotel but apart from this the area is not very developed and in a way it does let the hotel down, but saying that the rooms and hotel interior make up for what the general area is lacking in and I would not let it put me off staying here.

A fabulous hotel and a must to stay in, already looking forward to returning in July!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppy0013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear “poppy0013”,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the gibson hotel yet again and for taking the time to provide us with your valued feedback. It is extremely pleasing that you continue to have memorable experiences whilst staying with us. Unfortunately we do not own the car park so the charges are out of our control. We have negotiated a 50% discount on an overnight rate for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back again in July.


Kind Regards,
Gordon Callinan
Hotel Manager on Duty
gcallinan@thegibsonhotel.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,448 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
0.5 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 151 in Dublin
4,369 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
1.4 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gibson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gibson Hotel

Property: The Gibson Hotel
Address: The Point Village, Dublin DUBLIN 3, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gibson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and understated with a music pedigree that runs deep, the gibson hotel Dublin is the ultimate urban retreat. Music lovers, art junkies, food fanatics - whatever your passion it's right on our doorstep. We do sleeping, meeting, dining, gigging, touring, wedding and relaxing really really well. We mix all these things with a fresh, energetic, slightly off centre approach and we know it works. Exhibitions, supporting local artists, urban weddings and the odd celebrity are elements of what makes us different to the normal Dublin Hotel. You will find our staff friendly, responsive and happy - there is a secret to this that we can't possibly share. The gibson hotel is the ideal location to explore the city and planning your stay is easy. The M1 and M50 are 8 minutes away via the Port Tunnel and we have ample covered parking for our guests. With the luas stop right outside our front door Connolly train station is only 8 minutes away and Heuston train station is a short 20 minutes from the hotel. The Luas will take you to the City centre in 10 minutes or if you prefer to take in the views of the River Liffey a brisk 15 minute walk along the quays will bring you to O'Connell street, the heart of Dublin city. Great beds, 100MB complimentary WiFi, a gym, relaxation area, restaurant, bar and meeting space are all part of the deal. The gibson hotel is modern yet comfortable, it's different and it's better, it's large, it's friendly and it's a building that is alive with great people from the moment you set foot until the moment you leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your The Gibson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing