We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel experience - pity about the restaurant”
Review of The Gibson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Gibson Hotel
Ranked #23 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We were going to see George Michael at The O2 and thought lets make it hassle free.

I'll divide this review into HOTEL and RESTAURANT

HOTEL:
Booking into The Gibson is a must. It's about 20 steps away from The O2. Checking in was a very pleasant experience - the staff were very helpful and friendly. The rooms were amazing - modern and comfortable and I had the best night sleep ever!!! I really mean that.
Checking out was also very pleasant.
2 tiny things though: on checking in we were asked on the form if we wanted a 'wake up call' or a paper. I asked for a 7am wake-up call and The Guardian newspaper; I got neither. Again these are small things and overall - this wouldn't stop me staying here again.

RESTAURANT:
As we were going to see a concert we booked a table for 6. On a concert night you cannot book a table at the bar for bar food [there was a big queue] so thats why we booked a table at the Coda Eatery - the hotel's restaurant.
Again on concert nights, there is a set menu. Limited choice.
We were waiting for nearly an hour for our main courses to be delivered. We asked staff, twice were our food was and that we had a show to go to.
When our mains arrived I asked for the bill [to speed things up]. Most of us were finished our mains but my sister was still eating. They started clearing our plates. My sister who was still eating literally had her hand on her burger when the supervisor whipped her meal away - we were all taken aback and in a rush and didn't complain.
It spoiled our evening.

Overall - I would stay in the hotel again, but I'd never dine at the restaurant. There is a boat 10 minute walk from the hotel where we had lunch and I'd recommend booking there: http://www.mvcillairne.com/index.html

The overall rating is for the hotel and NOT the restaurant.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onemanguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2011

Dear “onemanguy”,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I appreciate the effort and time that it takes to do so. I would like to offer you our sincere apologies for the poor dining experience that you had prior to the concert and for the negative impact that it had on your night. I am confident that although this is very regrettable, it is avoidable and we will take measures to ensure that this is not repeated. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. If you would wish to discuss your stay in more detail or if there is anything I can do to assist you in planning your next visit, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Hotel Manager on Duty

email:gcallinan@thegibsonhotel.ie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,823)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,084 - 4,090 of 4,823 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2011

We went to Dublin to see George Michael at the O2. Couldn't get tickets for London. We spent two nights at the Gibson, which is right next door to the O2. Lovely hotel and our room was so comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful as well. It was very easy to get into the city centre as the Red Line Trams run from right outside and goes to O'Connell Street in about 10 minutes. There was also a bus stop 50 yards away where the bus goes to and from Dublin Airport. Definitely a hotel to go back to.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and were very happy with it. From what we saw th rooms overlooking the inn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2011

Dear “LynandPeter
Thank you for taking time to post this review. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed staying with us on your recent two night trip to Dublin. It is great to see that you liked the design of the hotel and that you enjoyed the convenience of our location. I hope that we get to welcome you back soon and if I can be of any assistance to you in planning your next stay, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Hotel Manager on Duty

email:gcallinan@thegibsonhotel.ie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We stayed at the Gibson hotel as we wanted to be close to the O2 for a concert. We could not have been closer, just a few steps away from the venue. We ate in the Thai restaurant on the 3rd floor and thought the food was very good, as well as the cocktails! Service very good throughout the hotel. Bedroom was large and very clean with massive shower. Only negative was hard bed which was a bit uncomfortable. Everything else great and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank em2ray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2011

Dear “bobblehead21",
Thank you for taking the time to post you review and thank you for choosing to stay with us while on you recent trip to Dublin. I am pleased that you found our hotel to be beautiful and we are glad that you plan on staying with us again in the future. If I can assist with any future bookings please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards,

Gordon Callinan
Hotel Manager on Duty

email:gcallinan@thegibsonhotel.ie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

This hotel was just beautiful, pity we could only stayed for one night. Will definately make a return visit.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobblehead21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Dear "Bobblehead21",

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the gibson hotel and for taking the time to provide us with your valued feedback. It is imperative that we receive as much feedback as possible in order to continually improve our service offering. If there is any other aspect of your that you would like to discuss in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards.
Gordon Callinan
Hotel Manager on Duty
gcallinan@thegibsonhotel.ie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Hotel had problems with room charging and it did create a few hiccups with staff wanting cash and us convincing them we wold pay and had sorted it out with reception. Some food inconsistencies this time too, but the staff here are amazing! cannot do enough for you. Offered free drinks, free meal to compensate- are you listening Hilton!!! Used the gym this time, really nice with very modern equipment. Room superb, wifi great. Breakfast really good- ask for scrambled eggs cooked to order- yum! Great place to work from. Luas outside takes you into the city in minutes. Taxi from airport more expensive this time, but there is the air coach and last time we managed to get the service bus to stop for us. The area is a bit run down as the Celtic Tiger crashed most of the development in this area has too. But short walk to the river and the city about a 40 min walk,worth it on a nice day. About a 20 min walk to M&S food/ bars/ pizza place etc. Useful for lunch. Will be back in Dublin next March and no suprise if we stay here again as becoming a favourite haunt.

Room Tip: Fifth floor nice with outside deck space and views overlooking city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2011

Dear “AliSparkes”,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us again on your recent business trip to Dublin. It is vey pleasing to see that you enjoy our rooms, breakfast and the hospitality of our team. I must apologise again for the inconsistencies in dining that you experienced but I am glad that we were able to resolve them to a satisfactory level. We do hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back again in March and thank you for providing us with the feedback of your stay.

Kind regards,

Gordon Callinan
Hotel Manager on Duty

email:gcallinan@thegibsonhotel.ie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

I recently stayed at The Gibson Hotel for three nights as I was in Dublin for my birthday with a group of family and friends. The hotel was fantastic, I cannot fault one part of it. The Staff were extremely pleasant and helpful and the bar staff made our pre dinner drinks a pleasure, from the superb cocktails they make to the general conversation. The food at the hotel’s restaurant was also delicious.
The hotel is very spacious, modern, sleek and clean. The rooms are so comfortable I could have stayed there another week. The breakfast was the best I have ever had at a hotel, no under cooked sausages or bacon! There was also a wide range of vegetarian options.
When I visit Dublin again I will definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone, nothing was too much trouble for them.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hen007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2011

Dear “Hen007”,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It was great to see that you enjoyed celebrating your Birthday here with us so much and that you found the hotel to be fantastic. Thank you also for recommending us highly and we look forward to welcoming you back. If I can be of any assist with any future booking, please feel free to contact me.

Kind regards,

Gordon Callinan
Hotel Manager on Duty

email:gcallinan@thegibsonhotel.ie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Great Location for a few days in Dublin, stayed there for 2 nights 21st Oct to the 23rd Oct, hotel is very very modern with a huge airy bar location & a classy balcony overlooking the O2 arena & docklands area. Staff are very friendly and nothing was too much trouble, especially when I went to hotel gym (very well equipped by the way) & locked myself out of room! Parking is reasonable rate for Dublin & Luas tram is just outside the door.....very handy to get you around the city in no time!
Highly recommended, can't wait to get back.
Used the room phone to make 3 calls during stay, 2 of which were quite long & no charge was applied, the little things that make a big difference.

Room Tip: Ask for a 6th floor room with a view of O2 or docklands to really appreciate the location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dfmips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2011

Dear “dfmips”
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your two nights stay with us and that everything was to your satisfaction. We do hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future and if there is anything that I can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards,

Gordon Callinan
Hotel Manager on Duty

email:gcallinan@thegibsonhotel.ie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.6 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
0.5 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,646 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
1.1 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 150 in Dublin
2,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gibson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gibson Hotel

Address: The Point Village, Dublin DUBLIN 3, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $119 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gibson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and understated with a music pedigree that runs deep, the gibson hotel Dublin is the ultimate urban retreat. Music lovers, art junkies, food fanatics - whatever your passion it's right on our doorstep. We do sleeping, meeting, dining, gigging, touring, wedding and relaxing really really well. We mix all these things with a fresh, energetic, slightly off centre approach and we know it works. Exhibitions, supporting local artists, urban weddings and the odd celebrity are elements of what makes us different to the normal Dublin Hotel. You will find our staff friendly, responsive and happy - there is a secret to this that we can't possibly share. The gibson hotel is the ideal location to explore the city and planning your stay is easy. The M1 and M50 are 8 minutes away via the Port Tunnel and we have ample covered parking for our guests. With the luas stop right outside our front door Connolly train station is only 8 minutes away and Heuston train station is a short 20 minutes from the hotel. The Luas will take you to the City centre in 10 minutes or if you prefer to take in the views of the River Liffey a brisk 15 minute walk along the quays will bring you to O'Connell street, the heart of Dublin city. Great beds, 100MB complimentary WiFi, a gym, relaxation area, restaurant, bar and meeting space are all part of the deal. The gibson hotel is modern yet comfortable, it's different and it's better, it's large, it's friendly and it's a building that is alive with great people from the moment you set foot until the moment you leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Gibson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing