We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“May be modern, but it is really homely”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Gibson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Gibson Hotel
Ranked #21 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“May be modern, but it is really homely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

I use this hotel if I need to go to Dublin for work or shopping as the Luas is right outside the door and takes you into the heart of Dublin. I can drive and park in the underground car park and then get the lift straight into the hotel. The rooms in the hotel have everything you need and the bed is really comfy. Some rooms have balconies and others you can walk out to a garden terrace.
Breakfast is really good and the bar food is excellent, with all the staff being very friendly and falling over themselves to help you.
Highly recommend this hotel for work or play!

Room Tip: Go up to a higher floor for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Dear “LizM30”,
Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review. I am glad that we are your Hotel of choice when staying in Dublin and thank you also for recommending us for both business and leisure travellers. If there is any future requests I assist you with, such as a city view, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards,

Gordon Callinan
Hotel Manager on Duty

email:gcallinan@thegibsonhotel.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,862
    1,180
    277
    89
    51
See reviews for
572
1,996
145
645
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (748)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kildare
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

We recently stayed here for one night. On checking in we met Sinead. A charming, informative & friendly front of house staff member.
We had a small problem with our room so she upgraded us to a junior suite. We had our 10mth old twins with us so this really was helpful as two cots would have been crowded in the standard room.
The design, furniture, fixings & fittings of this hotel are ultra contempory, modern and sleek.
As its a new hotel, it's also spotlessly clean, not to mention bright,airy & fresh. Every bedroom has a balcony & the suite had a v substantial one.
The bar/restaurants are on the 3rd floor offering lovely high views.
The food ( bar & restaurant) is excellent. And the staff so very helpful.
In all this is a fabulous 4* hotel.
The luas line runs outside the door
& the O2 is next door.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerrygoldKildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Dear “kerrygoldKildare”,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am pleased that we were able to accommodate you for an upgrade to one of our Junior Suites. I am delighted that you enjoyed your dining experience in both our Bar and Restaurant and that you enjoyed the hospitality of our team. I hope that we do get the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future and please feel free to contact me if I can assist with any future bookings or requests.

Kind regards,

Gordon Callinan
Hotel Manager on Duty

email:gcallinan@thegibsonhotel.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Amazing hotel. Rooms very comfortable and hotel very modern and clean. There was a mix up on check-in with payment for my room a lady called Sinead dealt with the situation and was very helpful and pleasant. This hotel is right beside the O2.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Dear “JacGalway”,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We appreciate the effort and time that it takes to do so. I would like to apologise for mix that occurred on check in and I am pleased that my colleague was able to resolve this in a pleasant and helpful way. I do hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future and if there is anything I can do to be of assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards,

Gordon Callinan
Hotel Manager on Duty

email:gcallinan@thegibsonhotel.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOM
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

I stay at this hotel regularly whilst in Dublin on business and it's brilliant. I would recommend that anyone should stay here without hesitation!

Room Tip: The balcony rooms are particularly excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyIom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Dear “KellyIom”,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of you recent stays with us. We greatly appreciate your return custom to us . If I can be of assistance with any requests that you may have for any future bookings , such as a room with a balcony , please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards,

Gordon Callinan
Hotel Manager on Duty

email:gcallinan@thegibsonhotel.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

We only had a chance to stay 1 night at the Gibson, and boy do I wish we could've extended our stay! We arrived late in the evening, front staff were helpful in pointing out that the restaurant closed shortly (should we need to eat).. We ended up ordering room service, which was prompt, tasty and reasonably priced for room service.

The Room - wow I loved the style of this hotel. It's modern - glass, light, gray, wood, pops of color. The attention to detail is amazing, the light under the bed! (whoa! what a great night light; wonderful way to avoid losing things!), lots of sockets (I hate hotels where there are never enough sockets, 2 people in a room, requires a minimum of 4 sockets). yes, there's a panel of clear glass from the bathroom to the main bedroom (it's kind of tough to get a look-ey look), which may not be for everyone, but i appreciated the light that flowed from the large windows, through to the bathroom. It was odd, that the audio from the TV came into the bathroom (we couldn't figure out how to turn it off).
Love that water is complimentary (finally, I hate how hotels tempt you with $6 bottles).

The Staff were amazing. As we were checking out of the hotel, I mentioned that I was interested in the designers for a few items in the room. The hotel manager on duty promptly gave me his card and asked me to follow up via email. He went above and beyond and tried to find the design information, and since it wasn't available, provided me with the information for the developers of the hotel for more information. Very much appreciated.

It's close to the Luas, which was only 10min from the city centre for exploring. Very convenient. If there's a concert at the O2, you can't be any closer! It's also the first stop on the Airport bus (from the airport), so it's a quick 20min ride.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ace_Coco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Dear “Ace_Coco”,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular the design of you room and the location of our Hotel. I am also delighted that we were able to exceed your expectations with our level of customer service. We would be pleased to welcome you back anytime and please feel free to contact me, if I can be of assistance with any future bookings.

Kind regards,

Gordon Callinan
Hotel Manager on Duty

email:gcallinan@thegibsonhotel.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed in the Gibson for two nights for my sisters 50th birthday..its a wonderful hotel modern ,beautiful open spaces /The rooms were great we had one room with a balcony overlooking the o2 the other was discribed as standard ...which it was not ,it was a large room with a very cool bathroom .
the beds are very comfortable and everything was spotless.
the location is perfect the Luas is outside the front door and this made the city very accessable so if you are heading to dublin check this out ....i am fairly fussy and this hotel ticked all the boxes

Room Tip: travel out of hotel for dinner
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fionaturley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Dear “fionaturley”,
I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable two nights stay with us while celebrating your Sister’s special occasion and thank you for taking the time to post you review. It was very pleasing to see that you found our location to be prefect and that you liked your rooms. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and I would be pleased to assist with any future bookings.

Kind regards,

Gordon Callinan
Hotel Manager on Duty

email:gcallinan@thegibsonhotel.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
64 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

The Gibson offers great value for money and excellent service. I stayed only one night but was really impressed by the staff , the rooms , the free internet and the fact that there was a tramline directly in front of the hotel connecting you to the city every 10-15 mins. The rooms are probably 3 times the size of the European average and about 10 times more modern that the European average. I can' t comment on the restaurants because I had to leave at 5h30 am but it was a nice surprise to find a little travel breakfast waiting for me at reception.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Dear “geegas”,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that you rate us so highly. I am pleased that we were able to accommodate you with a travel breakfast and if you were to have any future requests that I can assist you with please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards,

Gordon Callinan
Hotel Manager on Duty

email:gcallinan@thegibsonhotel.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,346 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,849 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
1.4 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,649 reviews
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gibson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gibson Hotel

Property: The Gibson Hotel
Address: The Point Village, Dublin DUBLIN 3, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gibson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and understated with a music pedigree that runs deep, the gibson hotel Dublin is the ultimate urban retreat. Music lovers, art junkies, food fanatics - whatever your passion it's right on our doorstep. We do sleeping, meeting, dining, gigging, touring, wedding and relaxing really really well. We mix all these things with a fresh, energetic, slightly off centre approach and we know it works. Exhibitions, supporting local artists, urban weddings and the odd celebrity are elements of what makes us different to the normal Dublin Hotel. You will find our staff friendly, responsive and happy - there is a secret to this that we can't possibly share. The gibson hotel is the ideal location to explore the city and planning your stay is easy. The M1 and M50 are 8 minutes away via the Port Tunnel and we have ample covered parking for our guests. With the luas stop right outside our front door Connolly train station is only 8 minutes away and Heuston train station is a short 20 minutes from the hotel. The Luas will take you to the City centre in 10 minutes or if you prefer to take in the views of the River Liffey a brisk 15 minute walk along the quays will bring you to O'Connell street, the heart of Dublin city. Great beds, 100MB complimentary WiFi, a gym, relaxation area, restaurant, bar and meeting space are all part of the deal. The gibson hotel is modern yet comfortable, it's different and it's better, it's large, it's friendly and it's a building that is alive with great people from the moment you set foot until the moment you leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gibson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing