We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exellent for the O2”
Review of The Gibson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Gibson Hotel
Ranked #23 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Stayed here for one night last week while going to James Taylor at the O2. It was excellent and the staff could not have been nicer even though the Hotel was fully booked. We got a balcony room which was a nice bonus. Check-in and out was very smooth and staff asked if we had enjoyed the concert which was a nice touch. Would definitely recommend staying here if going to the O2.
Tip 1 - the special hotel overnight parking rate (€14 for 24 hours) is only €4 more than the ticketmaster "special" sold with O2 concert tickets but you have to be out before midnight with the ticketmaster ones.
Tip 2 - booked directly on the hotel website and breakfast was cheaper than on any of the "independent" sites.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Herondancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2011

Dear Herondancer,

Thank you for taking time to post this review. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed the hospitality of our team and that you enjoyed having one of our balcony rooms. We hope to welcome you back to the gibson hotel again in the near future. In the meantime if there is anything I can assist you with please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Best Regards,
Gordon Callinan
Hotel Manager on Duty

email:gcallinan@thegibsonhotel.ie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,795)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,181 - 4,187 of 4,795 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2011

This hotel exceeds expectations. Recently spent 5 days there with teenage son and elderly parents and we were all extremely satisfied. Have travelled on from Dublin and have yet to find a hotel that is anywhere in the same league as The Gibson. Luxurious rooms, excellent service, amazing food both for breakfast and in restaurant, fantastic gym facilities and customer service. Will definitely recommend to everyone I know who is traveling to Dublin.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dminihane, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2011

Dear 255100Anne,

We were delighted to see your review and are glad that you and your party thouroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holidays. Perhaps we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Gibson in the future, if so, do not hesitate to contact me and I would be delighted to assist in any way.

Best Regards

Donal Minihane
Deputy General Manager
dminihane@thegibsonhotel.ie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

I could not find fault in this hotel which is unsual for me. Check-in was friendly fast and easy, our room was lovely everything we needed very clean, modren and comfortable beds. Staff at breakfast were very good and even special orders for food were not a problem for them. Hotel right beside the O2 so great for concerts, transport to the city centre right outside the door, we had our car which was easy parked and safe. Next time in dublin this will be the first hotel we will try to stay in.

Room Tip: We telephoned the hotel and got a better rate than on the internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JayN_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dminihane, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2011

Dear JayN_IReland,

Thank you for your valued feedback. We were delighted to see such positive comments about your experience. Please feel free to contact me in the event of a return visit if I can be of any assistance. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Gibson.

Best Regards

Donal Minihane
Deputy General Manager
dminihane@thegibsonhotel.ie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

- Very modern and beautifully designed (cool art everywhere)
- Very reasonable rate (may have been lucky, but only paid about 95 euro)
- Would definitely stay here again if I was back in Dublin
- Nice service at the front desk (helped with directions, things to do, etc.)
- Free wifi
- 10 minute tram to the center of town (tram is literally right outside the building)

Room Tip: I booked this on kayak.com and got a great rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank endlesssummerjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dminihane, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2011

Dear Endlesssummerjoe,

Thanks for taking the time to leave your review. We get enormous satisfaction from reading such reviews and I have passed your feedback on to the team. If you are returning to Dublin in the future please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any assistance. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Gibson in the future.

Best Regards

Donal Minihane
Deputy General Manager
dminihane@thegibsonhotel.ie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

The hotel itself was lovely as were the staff who quickly changed our room when we requested a bath but every window we looked out brought the cold reality of the recession back to us, grey empty lots everywhere. Very useful as we had an early ferry to catch but really wonder if the only thing keeping them open is the O2 arena as there is nothing else there.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dminihane, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2011

Dear Clancy_Daly,

We are delighted you found the hotel facilities to your satisfaction. It is unfortunate that you found the views from every window in the hotel to be depressing, although there is an empty lot to one side of the hotel you don't have to look down at it, you can choose instead to look down the river liffery and at the skyline of Dublin silhouetted against the night sky, you could look out into Dublin Bay and lose yourself in the hustle and bustle of the port watching the big ships come and go, you could rest your eyes on the soft outline of the Wicklow Mountains or simply sit in your room or in the bar and enjoy the peace of our interior courtyards. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. If I can be of any assistance during your next stay please do not hesitate to contact me.

Best Regards

Donal Minihane
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We recently stayed at the Gibson for three nights. We had been in Ireland for just over a month, and it was the perfect end to a wonderful trip. The hotel was modern, clean and comfortable, and the staff was friendly and helpful. It is a bit out of the way, but that just makes it quieter and because the Luas stop is right outside the hotel, you can get anywhere quick. The only trouble is that the last train seems to run too close to last call, but worse case scenario is a cheapish cab ride. The hotel bar wasn't to my taste, but the people were friendly and there is a nice balcony area. The area could use a good pub or two, as well as some food choices nearby, but the area is still improving and those things will come eventually.

My only complaint is that we were told we would have a balcony room, even though they don't offer a twin room with a balcony. It was a misunderstanding, and a minor one, considering that our room was nice, but it was a bit of a let down.

Thank you again to all of the staff.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matty373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dminihane, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2011

Dear Matty373,

Thank you for your review. We apologise for the oversight on our behalf with regards to the twin room- as you say unfortunately our twin rooms are all courtyard rooms. However, we were glad to note you enjoyed your stay regardless. Please let us know if you are returning to Dublin in the future and I would be delighted to assist you with any requests you may have. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Dublin and The Gibson in the future.

Best Regards
Donal Minihane
Deputy General Manager
dminihane@thegibsonhotel.ie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Just returned from my second stay at The Gibson Hotel.

This hotel provides great service and quality at a reasonable price. I've stayed in other chains in Dublin and never felt so welcomed like in the Gibson.

The room are spacious and well decorated with big bathrooms, king size bed and free fast wireless internet. I had a nice balcony facing the O2 and docks, really nice. Also I had a welcome note in the room with some nice sweets. They've also a nice fitness center in the top floor.

The breakfast is good, the food at the bar is not bad. Unfortunately there was a convention in the hotel and the restaurant was closed for dinner...

This is the best quality/price relation in Dublin. The only draw back is that is a 25m walk from Temple bar and there's not much around it.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joao_Amorim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dminihane, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2011

Dear Jaoa Amoram,

It's great to see such positive feedback which I will be sure to share with the rest of the team. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We hope to welcome you back in the future, please get in touch if I can be of any help on your next visit to Dublin.

Best Regards

Donal Minihane
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.6 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
0.5 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,560 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
2.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#12 of 150 in Dublin
4,693 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 150 in Dublin
2,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gibson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gibson Hotel

Address: The Point Village, Dublin DUBLIN 3, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $122 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gibson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and understated with a music pedigree that runs deep, the gibson hotel Dublin is the ultimate urban retreat. Music lovers, art junkies, food fanatics - whatever your passion it's right on our doorstep. We do sleeping, meeting, dining, gigging, touring, wedding and relaxing really really well. We mix all these things with a fresh, energetic, slightly off centre approach and we know it works. Exhibitions, supporting local artists, urban weddings and the odd celebrity are elements of what makes us different to the normal Dublin Hotel. You will find our staff friendly, responsive and happy - there is a secret to this that we can't possibly share. The gibson hotel is the ideal location to explore the city and planning your stay is easy. The M1 and M50 are 8 minutes away via the Port Tunnel and we have ample covered parking for our guests. With the luas stop right outside our front door Connolly train station is only 8 minutes away and Heuston train station is a short 20 minutes from the hotel. The Luas will take you to the City centre in 10 minutes or if you prefer to take in the views of the River Liffey a brisk 15 minute walk along the quays will bring you to O'Connell street, the heart of Dublin city. Great beds, 100MB complimentary WiFi, a gym, relaxation area, restaurant, bar and meeting space are all part of the deal. The gibson hotel is modern yet comfortable, it's different and it's better, it's large, it's friendly and it's a building that is alive with great people from the moment you set foot until the moment you leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Gibson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing