We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing”

National Leprechaun Museum
Ranked #95 of 513 things to do in Dublin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Step into another world where nothing is quite what it seems. Discover the sounds, sights, stories,and magic of mythical Ireland,land of the leprechaun!Your journey begins with a look at representations of the leprechaun through the ages. On your journey you will explore the relationship between landscape, folklore, story-telling and magic. Expect the unexpected as you move through the playful and fascinating world of the leprechaun.
Reviewed January 17, 2016

We were very excited about visiting this place, as the idea of a leprechaun museum sounded like fun. However, the only fun part was the 5 minutes we got to spend in room with the giant furniture. After that, we were taken on a 40 minute tour of simple rooms (made to look fantasy like, but no leprechauns whatsoever) while our guide told us folklore stories of Ireland. If the stories and storyteller would have been good, this could have slightly redeemed the museum, but our guide was incredibly nervous and kept second guessing himself. I have never actually considered walking out in the middle of a tour before, but as we were on a tight time schedule, this museum really was a waste of time. Basically we paid 28 euros to take pictures with the furniture.

1  Thank KatieP912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australiannanas, Public Relations Manager at National Leprechaun Museum, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2016

Hi Katie,
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a valuable experience. Each tour is different, as our storytellers all play different characters. You might have had a more engaging experience with a different storyteller. Thanks for taking the time and sharing your experience though.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,942)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"irish folklore"
in 233 reviews
"giant furniture"
in 169 reviews
"story telling"
in 222 reviews
"giants room"
in 76 reviews
"tour guide"
in 233 reviews
"great fun"
in 132 reviews
"from room to room"
in 26 reviews
"night tour"
in 33 reviews
"all ages"
in 84 reviews
"photo opportunities"
in 31 reviews
"fun experience"
in 29 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 47 reviews
"rainbow"
in 134 reviews
"storytelling"
in 214 reviews
"stories"
in 671 reviews
"fairies"
in 177 reviews
"paudie"
in 35 reviews
Filter

1,295 - 1,299 of 2,942 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2016 via mobile

Despite my partner and I coming here for a little comic relief we realised the tone of the tour was more around historical story telling. We both enjoyed ourselves and would recommend. I think children would really enjoy this.

Thank Lilly87UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australiannanas, Public Relations Manager at National Leprechaun Museum, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2016

Hi Lily,
We are happy to see that you had a good time. Thanks for taking the time to write a review and recommending us :)
Cheers,
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2016 via mobile

Absolutely madness. It made no sense at all and was completely crazy.. However, I laughed a lot and it was interesting. Not sure if I would do it again myself but it's worth a visit on a rainy day.

Thank Yorkshirewanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australiannanas, Front Office Manager at National Leprechaun Museum, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2016

Hi,
It looks like you enjoyed the 'madness' and we are delighted about that. Thanks for writing a review and recommending us.
Cheers,
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2016

Was just a nice little something to do, tour guide was enthusiastic and had quite a few stories to tell. Nice quirky museum, inexpensive too.

Thank Natalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australiannanas, Public Relations Manager at National Leprechaun Museum, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2016

Hi Natalie,
Thank you for sharing your experience and good to hear that you enjoyed it.
Cheers,
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2016 via mobile

I visited this museum with my friend while on vacation - our guide Sinead was great and the staff was very friendly. I enjoyed the tour a lot - there were interactive parts and engaging stories. I would advise if you are a serious museum-goer or need Hollywood style entertainment,maybe to skip this one. But if you want a highlighted history of Ireland's mythologies and real-life influence, or just appreciate great selfie opportunities, definitely pop-in!

Thank Christina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australiannanas, Public Relations Manager at National Leprechaun Museum, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2016

Hi Christina,
Thanks for your review. We reckon it is very valuable for people that have not been to the museum yet. We are happy that you liked it and we will also pass it on to Sinead.
Cheers,
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Leprechaun Museum also viewed

 

Been to National Leprechaun Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing