We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Waste of money”

National Leprechaun Museum
Ranked #55 of 506 things to do in Dublin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Step into another world where nothing is quite what it seems. Discover the sounds, sights, stories,and magic of mythical Ireland,land of the leprechaun!Your journey begins with a look at representations of the leprechaun through the ages. On your journey you will explore the relationship between landscape, folklore, story-telling and magic. Expect the unexpected as you move through the playful and fascinating world of the leprechaun.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Waste of money”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Not enjoyable at all waste of time and money only good thing was the first room. you pay for a story in each room but it takes like 20 mins but there jus stories. The place could be more fun if u could get more involved!!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Southceh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    980
    627
    342
    198
    265
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Total cheese”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

If you're looking for anything educational, this isn't the place to find it. Sure, they'll throw in some tidbits here and there, but that's it. If you're looking for some cheesy fun, you may find it here (though it's a little pricey for what you actually get to see). The group that went through the tour with us was far too large, and they didn't have enough seating for everyone, which made for some sore feet!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“This place is a joke....”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I visited the National Leprechaun Museum looking for a laugh and some info about Leprechauns. While the Museum has a lot of potential to provide both, they do not live up to it. The only info about Leprechauns was in the lobby where they had some Darby O'Gill posters and other leprechaun stuff.
The storytellers are the highlight of the Museum, although their stories are not about leprechauns... they are about fairies and salmon and I'm not sure if they are even true Irish stories, or if they make them up as they go along. There is a room with large furniture which you are allowed to climb on, provided the furniture is not easy to scale and the room is very dark, it seems like a disaster waiting to happy, if it hasn't already... but the kids seem to love it.
If you have kids, they might enjoy this place.... If you are looking for info on leprechauns, I would say skip it. It's pretty expensive for what you get, a 45 minute tour that's pretty unmemorable.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Super Hokey, But I Loved It!”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We decided to go to the Leprechaun Museum on a whim, since it was close to our hotel, thinking it would be ridiculous, but WTH, right? It was ridiculous, but I had so much fun with it! I would definitely recommend visiting this place, you will actually learn about some old Irish stories and get to run around like kids (and likely with some kids) through this "museum". I loved our tour guide as well, I swear if Leprechauns really do exist, I'm pretty sure this guy is one. He was a great storyteller and very engaging. You can't go to this place and be serious though, you'll need to lighten up a bit and be prepared to be silly.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank FeetDontFailMeNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Fun”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We read some bad reviews but decided to go anyway and were pleasantly suprised. It is a light hearted experience which was interesting and we enjoyed the storytelling and giant furniture. Would recommend this!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank R Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Leprechaun Museum also viewed

 

Been to National Leprechaun Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing