We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely restaurant”
Review of Le Bon Crubeen

Le Bon Crubeen
Ranked #192 of 2,600 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: French, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: North City Centre
Description: Le Bon Crubeen's brasserie menu delivers a realistic, consistent, grass-roots experience sourcing ingredients from the very finest Irish producers delivering quality and value for money. Our menus include vegetarian and Coeliac/Gluten free dishes.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Four of us had a really lovely meal on Saturday, food was excellent especially the lamb which three of us enjoyed. Staff very friendly and pleasant and a great jazz group played in the background. Have been here plenty of times and have never disappointed yet.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 33Maureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    548
    365
    121
    75
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

I visited Le Bon Crubeen for the early bird on a Tuesday evening (before 7:30) which was not bad value at just under €20 for a starter and main course. The atmosphere was nothing special - like any other restaurant in Dublin really.
I had a starter of Chicken Liver Parfait which was served with chutney and toasted brioche - which was delicious I must admit (although didn't take much imagination...). For main course I had a Pan Roasted Supreme of Chicke, Fava Bean, Tomato, Pancetta, Baby Potato Cassoulet. While this sounded to-die-for, what I received was a rather pedestrian breast of chicken with (what resembled) tinned chopped tomatos and a few baby potatoes in a bowl. Very disappointing.
I'm sure other items on the menu would have lived up to Le Bon Crubeen's reputation, however on this occasion I wouldn't be in any rush back for seconds...

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Nice for business lunch in central Dublin”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Had lunch here with a business colleague recently - we both had chicken followed up with coffee. It wasn’t too busy so we were able to discuss business issues comfortably. The service and surroundings were good too.

Would definitely come again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suburban_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great (first) experience at Le Bon Crubeen & The Celt Pub”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Wife and I ate there last night using a Living Social voucher. Our first visit, definitely not our last. Thoroughly enjoyed restaurant and pub. Really friendly, helpful staff in both, great interaction with customers. Loved the food, decor, ambience.............

Quality of food was outstanding - we are both definitely recommending to some very demanding family members (something we rarely do). We were booked for 7.30 and place was flying, we saw people turned away.

Still can't believe the value on the voucher but they also do a €25 menu which, given the quality of the food, seems like serious value to me.

Had a drink in the Celt pub adjoining the restaurant beforehand, being honest not somewhere I would normally think of frequenting. Hadn't realised it was part of the restaurant, so presumably quality of bar food must be pretty good.

We don't eat out much but we both said this is somewhere we will definitely revisit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Le Bon”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Disappointed with Le Bon Crubeen, could have been good because staff look after you well. Unfortunately the food on the night was not great. A starter of potted duck with plum sauce wasn't the best with the duck tasteless and the plum very tarty. Main course was Ribeye 2 people and the Duck 1 person. All three meals were cold. Plates and meat. No problem with taking them back but 10 mins later they were served back up to us.. the same meat.. needless to say they were not accepted and a new round was ordered. The steaks were tasty but not hot, duck was as it should be. Plates were still cold. The staff were apologetic and attentive and compensation was made on the bill but not sure if I will be going back to the Le Bon Crubeen.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank foodlover999dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bon Crubeen also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Le Bon Crubeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing