We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Great Escape”
Review of Le Bon Crubeen

Le Bon Crubeen
Ranked #188 of 2,596 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: French, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: North City Centre
Description: Le Bon Crubeen's brasserie menu delivers a realistic, consistent, grass-roots experience sourcing ingredients from the very finest Irish producers delivering quality and value for money. Our menus include vegetarian and Coeliac/Gluten free dishes.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“The Great Escape”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

This was our first night out in some time due to a very young family. I had been here before but it was the first time for my partner. The food has always been top quality and we were not let down on this occasion. Upstairs was very busy and loud but good atmosphere. As we were escaping the home from a 20mth & 2mth old boys, a quiet atmosphere was our preference and the staff were very accomodationg and found us a table downstairs. The service overall was excellent and very attentive to our needs and the food was delicious!! I would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    548
    363
    121
    74
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The place to eat in Dublin centre!”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

A very enjoyable dining experience! The decor and layout provides an informal, exciting but personal atmosphere. Staff was friendly, courteous and helpful, all smartly/ casually dressed. The wide choices on the menu was excellent - original, classy and not needlessly over-extensive. We went in for an early evening meal which meant that we enjoyed reduced prices but certainly not reduced quality food! The restaurant was busy which added to the overall experience. Service was highly efficient but not overly fast. We will certainly return over the next couple of days so that we can get more of this!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Incredible value, suberb food, and lovely staff”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

It is always a pleasure to give a good review to a top-notch restaurant, in which you all have had a fantastic time. We were six people, Three epicureans from France, Cyprus & Greece, and three Finns! Steaks were exquisite, the lamb rump had that sweet blushing tenderness, which only lamb killed off fresh grass can attain. Portions were large and generous, staff had that professional yet friendly skill of being present when needed. A couple of bottles of excellent super Tuscan were great value. This place is deservedly popular, so booking is needed. A few hundred yards north of the spire, by the GPO.
Wonderful place; a really good find. Our waitress was the fair Karen, who is not only only superb at her job, but beautiful as well! Front of house was Mark, who likewise had an enormous sense of fun!
A memorable exquisite evening. WE WILL BE BACK!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Wonderful meal and wonderful service. Stopped in for an early dinner, was warmly greeted and received excellent service. 8 oz rib eye steak, medium rare, was superb as well as the pear salad and chocolate dessert. Thoroughly enjoyed our meal. Thank you!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyprus
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A real find!”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We had a 'voucher' for a meal for two. Quite often you are treated as a second class citizen when you have these vouchers. Not in Le Bon Crubeen. From the moment we walked in we were impressed, there is a lovely ambiance about the place, the staff were very welcoming and friendly and they were helpful throughout. We were offered the A La Carte menu (although we only had a voucher for the set menu). The food was just delicious. I had a grilled peach and feta salad - yummy! My partner had tiger prawns - which were served cold, which he said was unusual - but also very tasty. I had the lamb rump and he had the pork cheeks - we argued over which was the nicest as we both felt our own dishes were the best!! No need for sides, plenty of food in the mains. Finished up with 'Roquefort, Gorgonzola and Celery Terrine' - if you like blue cheese then you simply must have this!! Other half had the chocolate mousse.

The manager/owner, Mark, was lovely - he went out of his way to apologise as there was a delay in serving the starters due to a large group upstairs - the delay wasn't bad and we were quite happy to sit, chat, soak up the atmosphere and sip on a craft beer :) After the meal he sat with us for a lovely chat.

We will be back. We will bring friends. I highly recommend this restaurant as a little star in north Dublin city centre!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RachWatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bon Crubeen also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Le Bon Crubeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing