We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern Irish food, great atmosphere!”
Review of The Exchequer

The Exchequer
Ranked #464 of 2,558 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $6 - $31
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, European, Pub, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Dublin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Modern Irish food, great atmosphere!”
Reviewed September 22, 2011

These guys really care about food and it shows. The menu offers a modern take on some Irish classics, using the very best ingredients. Recently in there I had a potted rabbit starter, followed by a pork chop main course. Utterly delicious. The atmosphere is great - there's a real buzz in the place as thanks to its Gastropub reputation they place an equal emphasis on their bar offering. Great wines, all available by the glass, unbelievably inventive cocktails and a huge huge range of craft beers. This is the best of what Irish pubs and restaurants do well.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SineadRyanDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    146
    38
    22
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“a great find!”
Reviewed September 17, 2011

It was our first night in Dublin and we had walked all over and were looking for a place to eat. We happened to find this gastropub and what a gem it was. The service was very friendly and the food was fabulous. We both had salmon and were not disappointed... with anything. The wine was reasonably priced too. I'd go back there in a minute.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marytspecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
293 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere, great wine list, great service...”
Reviewed September 16, 2011

I keep going back to this place even though I am normally more into restaurants than bars with food BUT the great food, the great service and malbec by the glass keeps bringing me back, I can't get enough of the place! I highy recommend it. Enjoy!

Oooh and they do a great winter deal for Sunday roast for multiples of 4 diners - look it up on their website...

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CaitDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Craic!”
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Fantastic food, great staff and sooooo much fun. Highly recommend you give this place a visit. We were in Dublin visiting from Australia and popped into this place for 'a pint' which inevitably turned into 5 or 6 pints. Great atmosphere, great 'craic' and the staff were sensational. Ill be back!!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsty O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
196 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“The Perfect Roast Chicken!”
Reviewed September 2, 2011

if you are in Dublin...a bit hungover after too many pints of the black stuff from the night before head for The Exchequer on Exchequer St just off Wicklow St in Dublin. and if you had the foresight to book - there is nothing better in Dublin on a Sunday than its Exchequer Roast. 40 euros for 4 people - roast chicken and all the trimmings (incl a bottle of house wine). For us - the gravy and apricot stuffing were the winners. As a group of 4 girls it also helped the eating experience that sitting at a nearby table were 3 members of the Irish rugby squad (the place seemingly is part owned by a rugby player).

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kingdomDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Exchequer also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Exchequer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing