We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“******trust me stay away*******”
Review of Deerpark Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Deerpark Lodge
Ranked #129 of 149 Dublin B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 4, 2013

dont get me wrong the scottish woman was lovely.it was one of the worst places we ever stayed.we were arond a lot of places but this one was the worst.first of all the cob-webs were hanging all over the place.the bed was terible they were ready to fall apart.it would of been comforable lying on the floor.the first night we stayed i was for walkin out even we had it payed for. I cannot understand how bord failte allows this... it is just giving a really bad name for every other place..

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jason k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for Deerpark Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 88 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

Great location, right outside phoenix park, right next to bus stop into and out of city. room was small but clean. bathroom was very small and the sink was the tiniest i have ever seen...couldnt fit the hotwater maker in the sink to fill it up. the only thing about this place that was not clean was this hotwater maker...i had to clean it out before i used it...brown specks floating around inside. Inn keeper was very friendly and offered to store my husbands clubs downstairs for him so we didnt have to lug them up and down the stairs. didnt try the breakfast but Inn Keeper unlocked dinning room so we could use microwave :-) as will364 said, if you want 5 star accomadations, go to a 5 star hotel...if you want a convenient, affordable, comfortable enough place to sleep at night, the Deerpark is great!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJ218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We traveled with 6 people for the 'trip of a lifetime'. We booked months in advance for 6 people, 3 rooms, the price was reasonable, location, etc. I got an email the night before our arrival that said....'we do not have the type of room that you reserved available...' we arrived (prior to actually looking at this email) and were asked if we could stay in a 'community room' that shared one bath. Granted, we are six people, my sister in law, 23 year old nephew and my 80 year old father in law.

We were asked to pay up front- 'we didn't have to....' but it was preferred.....what a joke! the person working the desk was inappropriate, had no idea what she was doing, was rude, and basically treated us as if we were some sort of imposters. We paid up front.

By the third night, we had enough. The rooms were cold, the beds were hard, the service was poor, and my buddy father in law wound up sleeping BETWEEN the mattress and boxspring trying to keep warm. I asked for an extra towel the day we checked in and was looked at as if i had grown an extra set of ears. Extremely uncomfortable. I politely asked for a refund for the day we left, and was told that 'i'd speak to the owners' by Louise. Never happened. Enough said. My wife sent an email regarding the conversation, we haven't heard back. Stay as far away as you can from this place, do us all a favor.

Room Tip: Ashling Hotel was gorgeous and very reasonably priced
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scoop69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

How is it possible for Bord Failte to allow this " hole " a licence to operate ? Do not stay here. The rooms are not properly hoovered. And the dust around the skirtings, radiators, press and beds is disgusting. We asked for an additional 2 towels but only received 1. The reason ? the clean towels were not delivered yet, neither were they the next morning. The breakfast was horribly presented and distasteful. When we asked for anything we were made to feel as if we were overstepping our boundaries. The manner of the owner was hurried and not at all welcoming. Not near good enough for a country " of a hundred thousand welcomes "!
This premises is not favourable to be called anything but disgraceful.
N & R

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
3  Thank noel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I scored the Deerpark Lodge 5 because I felt the poor ratings were unfair. It's a 3 at best. If you're looking for 5 star accomadation go to a 5 star hotel!! If you're looking for a bed and a ball washer go to the Deerpark Lodge!!
Yes the furniture and fittings were outdated but it was cheap and clean. The staff were friendly and relaxed. I didn't go to Dublin to sample the wonders of a B&B on the Castleknock Road but it was just the job to throw the head down after a concert and a feed of beer!!!
I really don't understand what people expect for E49 a night!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank will3624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We booked this B & B because it was convenient to where we were attending a family get-together. castleknock Road and all the properties along the way are really smart - when you arrive at Deerpark Lodge you immediately sense this place is among many things neglected. The reception area is dingy and untidy. We booked double room and told we had the last room when we arrived a twin room which would not have been a problem. The room was tiny with very basic furniture - rusted radiator along a single bed - tiny window looking out on a scrap yard - old bathroom with dirty shower - we went to our party and decided to travel home again afterwards - I do not understand how a business such as this can continue - I owned and ran a guesthouse and I would be very embarrassed to present standards such as this.

Room Tip: Be careful booking on-line - go and have a look first.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olivia Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights over the June bank holiday. Our main Reason for picking this b&b was its proximity to phoenix park (bloom garden show was on). Arrived at 10am on check in day and was allowed to leave car in car park and walk into the park for the show. Paid £66 for the 2 nights plus £22 for 2 days breakfasts -which were superb, good quality items and pertly of it. The rooms are a bit tired but were quiet, bed could be more comfortable, but we both slept both nights. Overall would stay again if going to something in the park, otherwise not close enough to Luas or dart to be completely convenient to Dublin city centre.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank sdbsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dublin
Palmerstown Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palmerstown
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Twelfth Lock Hotel
#3 of 3 in Castleknock
175 reviews
Kilmainham
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham
West County Hotel
#84 of 150 in Dublin
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deerpark Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerpark Lodge

Address: Deerpark Lodge 1 Castleknock Road, Dublin Dublin 15, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Hotel Class:3 star — Deerpark Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Deerpark Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing