We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but cold!”
Review of The Merchant House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Merchant House
Ranked #22 of 151 Dublin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 6, 2010

I know it is freezing everywhere just now but I found the heating at the Merchant House less than adequate. It is preset on a small radiator,not really large enough to heat a suite of this size. We asked for and were given an additional radiator to heat us up. We booked two suites, James Joyce and WB Yeats. Both are indeed luxurious and impressive. I didn't like the IKEA pillows and duvets, call me fussy but I expected better quality at 150E per night! Towels were thin also. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Despite the double glazing there is some street noise which in Summer I would imagine could be irritating if the windows were open. Not keen on the glass door into the toilet, not much privacy.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 232 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2010

I don’t even know where to start. Our suite at the merchant house cost 3 euro more then a tiny little hotel room at the holiday inn, and yet it was without a doubt the most amazing room we had on our 2 week honeymoon through Ireland and Scotland. I almost didn’t want to write a review because I don’t want to let the secrete out, but this place was just too good to hide. The ONLY draw back was that at first glance the alley that it is on seems a little sketchy. After those first few seconds however you realize that the Merchant house is next to the Irish Film Institute, across the street from another quaint little B&B and as perfectly located in the center of town as you could possibly ask for. Also, if/when you do stay here check out the little courtyard down the alley next door. Local vender's sell fresh baked breads and pastries. If you are visiting Dublin just stay here... I don't know how else to say it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Everboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2010

I've been looking forward to my trip to Dublin for quiet some time.
As i travel to Dublin several times a year i stayed in many hotels over the years but nothing prepared me for this place. The Merchant house situated perfectly in Temple Bar.
I was welcomed by Magda - the Lady of the House - and i felt like somebody very important. The room she showed me was stunning - it took my breath away.
As you enter there is two fireplaces and a huge room very well appointed
flat-screen TV and DVD player with a selection of movies to choose from.
Magda explained everything to me and had even the time to have a small chat -
very rare in the busy days - but it made me feel so comfortable.
The beds are amazing soft cushions and very relaxing mattresses very rarely to be found those days.
There is so much attention to details i hardly know where to start.
There is a fridge with some juice in it complimentary and tea and coffee facilities.
Magda as well handed me a voucher for a coffee shop where i could have my breakfast from 8 o clock in the morning till 8 o clock in the evening and if you do not fancy a fry you have the choice of a wrap or other items.

I stayed 2 nights in the merchant House unfortunately it was fully booked for the 3. night i would have canceled my other place if there would have been space.

As from now on the merchant House is my number one place to stay in Dublin.

If there is something to improve it would be the shower as it is the only thing not up to the high standard of the room.

I have seen the other 3 rooms in the Merchant House and they are all top notch fantastic place and i can't praise it high enough.

Last my thanks are going to the whole staff so friendly and welcoming specially Magda, Sheeshan and Renier.
My apologies if i wrote there names wrong.

The Merchant House worth a visit and well worth the price.

thank you so much

Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
Thank JonFr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2010

Loved it. We had the Oscar Wilde Suite - it was beautiful. Breakfast in the Stage Door Cafe was brilliant and nice friendly atmosphere! Very central to everything. All in all a brilliant weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa209947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

Really enjoyed our stay at the Merchant House, rooms were great and everything was catered for. Each room had a mini fridge, hairdryer, flat screen tv, dvd player as well as shampoo and shower gel - everything thought of. The staff are very helpful and breakfast was in a little cafe just around the corner - which again was great. The location was brilliant, only a 2 minute walk from the temple bar pubs etc We all had an excellent time :-)

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenclaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2010

This place is amazing! My friends booked this as a present for my 30th. 4 of us went & they booked 2 suites. I was staying in the Oscar Wilde Suite on the top floor, OMG it was amazing. The owner shows you around then you are left to yourselves. You are right in the heart of Temple Bar so it's not the quitest place for sleeping but the luxury of the room makes up for it. I couldn't recommed it highly enough & cannot wait to stay there again with my BF. You are given a voucher for your breakfast for an amazing cafe around the corner, it was fab.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loughy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Saskia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike R, Manager at The Merchant House, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
The Norseman
The Norseman
#13 of 151 in Dublin
323 reviews
Donnybrook Hall Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Annandale Bed & Breakfast
#10 of 151 in Dublin
274 reviews
North City Centre
Anchor House Dublin
Anchor House Dublin
#21 of 151 in Dublin
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merchant House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merchant House

Address: 8 Eustace Street | Temple Bar, Dublin D02 KX31, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range: $181 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Merchant House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merchant House is a restored award winning early Georgian building situated in Temple Bar, the cultural capital of Dublin City. The building in Eustace Street started out as a Merchant's house in the early Eighteenth Century. After extensive and lengthy refurbishment, luxury Guest Suites were created. It is our intention to offer our Guests spacious luxury Suites with total privacy in the heart of Dublin City. Our sound proof windows, beautiful furnishings, free Wifi and beautiful decor all help to create a relaxing environment for our Guests at a very affordable price. Breakfast is great value at €12 per Guest and served 1 minutes walk from The Merchant House. Some stairs to climb . All our Suites are called after Irish writers. Check In is by appointment with your personal Housekeeper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Merchant House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Merchant House Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing