We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”
Review of The Merchant House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Merchant House
Ranked #21 of 150 Dublin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 5, 2014

A group of six of us have just returned having had 3 nights at the merchant house. This really is superb accomodation, great big comfy beds and immaculately clean. Please ignore the bad review on this website as the owners and staff really don't deserve it.

Yes, it is noisy outside and no there is no 24 hour reception but why would you expect anything different when staying in a boutique guest house in the heart of Temple Bar?

The staff couldn't do enough for us and breakfast down the road at the stage door cafe was simply superb. We had a great weekend and thoroughly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Top floor suite is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenkins137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eustacestreet, Manager at The Merchant House, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

On behalf of my small team hear at The Merchant House. We wish to sincerely thank you all for this fantastic review here on Trip Advisor.
It was a pleasure to look after your party . We hope you all returned home safe after a lovely break in Dublin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 231 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2014

Fabulous accommodation right in the heart off the city. v generous sized rooms. Nice touches include spare fridge for your purchases, earplugs, and DVD loan. The nearby provided breakfast was from a great little cafe overlooking the Liffey and was very good.
Just one irksome thing to watch out for is the La Caverna offer of a discount when booked and the hotel is mentioned. I notice that they have changed the offer now (probably as a result of our complaint), but we did this and opted for the Early Bird to be given 10% instead of 20% as promised at the time. What irritated us was that the manager knew full well of the premise we had booked the table, and didn't say anything until the end; it wasn't like we were scrimping either as well over half the bill was overpriced wine (the food was also mediocre).

Room Tip: My tip, stay at the hotel, forget La Caverna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MARTINSOWTER S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We were staying for 6 nights and we paid for them many months in advanced.There is no staff in the building after 4pm. On the first night a couple had a terrible argument in and outside their room. We could not sleep afterwards. It was scary. On the fourth night another couple absolutely drunk not only had a terrible quarrell in their room (we could hear to all their shouting) but also the man came to our room and tried to enter and fight with us. There is no telephone machine in the rooms. We dial 911 from our mobile phone. The police arrived quickly, talked to the drunk couple and accompanied us to leave the hotel and looked for another one at 2 am.(We have the police report) It was not secure to stay in the building with these violent guests and nobody to defend us from them.
We had our complete stay already paid. The owner did not return any of the money for the three nights we did not stay (not even the one night he said he would return). Due to our comments in Trip Advisor they are not giving any of our money back. In Tourist Information Center in Dublin they told us this Guest House is not registered. They did not know about it. Although we booked it through Booking.com they were of no help to solve this.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank roxana g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eustacestreet, Manager at The Merchant House, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

As Manager it is my job to address some issues in the above review. It was totally regrettable that this Guest had a bad experience during their recent stay in Dublin. Another Guest (1) had a domestic issue with his Wife and too much alcohol was taken. That Guest was removed the very next day at 11am by the Police. The Merchant House was totally sympathetic to our Guest & their family and fully understood that they were most upset. Despite huge apologies and a offer of a substantial repayment , they still declined and left early. There was nothing The Merchant House could do about what had happened. This incident could have happened in any City of the World. It clearly states that we do not have a night Porter and staff are on hand till 22.00 and we do have emergency telephone numbers but the Guest did not use them. There is some exaggeration in what this guest says in the above review. The Merchant House did everything we could to remedy this situation but the Guest was not being realistic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Just got back from staying at the merchant house, me and my boyfriend both in our early 30's stayed in the W.B Yeates suit
The room was exactly like you see in the photos, lovely and spacious, bang in the middle of temple bar, the bed was really comfortable, the shower room was great and spacious, sound proof windows so u hardly hear any noise, in some reviews it's says about the sex shop and massage shop either side of the guest house, you don't even know their there, julieana our house keeper was absolutely amazing and so helpful, would deffo stay here again

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Loukaye83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We had to travel to Dublin last minute to get a travel Visa, we saw this place and liked the look of it, it was last minute and out of season so we got a seemingly good rate. Guests get a discounted parking rate at the nearby car park at €20 which is not too bad given the location. It is right in the middle of Temple Bar so if your looking for a quite haven this may not be quite right, but the windows doubled and we noticed little noise. Their was no bath and a glass door on the bathroom. Lots of mini bar types stuff for sale in the room. Overall it was good with great finish to the room, with some random ornaments but it seems to work, We did ask for a late check our be that was not an option, guess they were fully booked.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank scottalfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We visited Dublin and the Theatre recently and eventually booked The Merchant House in Temple Bar. Tried booking it on three other occasions and they were always full. We were not disappointed at all. Luxurious & comfortable , lovely decor and very polite / friendly staff. The Suite was spacious and the bed king size was so comfortable. No noise from the busy Temple Bar outside. Our breakfast was served until noon and was very pleasant. It is not served on the premises but literally one minutes walk away. We had some stairs to climb but that was expected as the building is a Georgian townhouse. Overall a lovely experience and we would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dromod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in May. The room was very beautiful. Lovely bathroom with nice shower.
Good service. We had some problem with our flight and had to cancel for one night just few days before. The hotel manager took care of the rearrangement for us. Also they answered emails quickly.
Excellent location in the middle of Temple Bar. There was little noise coming from the street, but not too bad. If you are very light sleeper, find hotel outside Temple Bar.
Bit pricey, but overall worth it.

Room Tip: Top floor room is the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#45 of 150 in Dublin
969 reviews
Temple Bar
The Norseman
The Norseman
#12 of 150 in Dublin
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North City Centre
Anchor House Dublin
Anchor House Dublin
#22 of 150 in Dublin
675 reviews
Donnybrook Hall Hotel
#4 of 150 in Dublin
465 reviews
The Lombard Townhouse
#77 of 150 in Dublin
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merchant House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merchant House

Address: 8 Eustace Street | Temple Bar, Dublin D02 KX31, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range: $163 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Merchant House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merchant House is a restored award winning early Georgian building situated in Temple Bar, the cultural capital of Dublin City. The building in Eustace Street started out as a Merchant's house in the early Eighteenth Century. After extensive and lengthy refurbishment, luxury Guest Suites were created. It is our intention to offer our Guests spacious luxury Suites with total privacy in the heart of Dublin City. Our sound proof windows, beautiful furnishings, free Wifi and beautiful decor all help to create a relaxing environment for our Guests at a very affordable price. Breakfast is great value at €12 per Guest and served 1 minutes walk from The Merchant House. Some stairs to climb . All our Suites are called after Irish writers. Check In is by appointment with your personal Housekeeper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Merchant House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Merchant House Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing