We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A stellar suite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Merchant House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Merchant House
Ranked #19 of 160 Dublin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A stellar suite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

This is truly the best guest house we have ever stayed in. Located within Temple Bar, the Merchant House is perfectly located if you want to explore Dublin.

We stayed in the W B Yeats suite. Beautifully appointed with one double bed and a single bed. TV and DVD player, clock radio with iPod functionality, plenty of lights, a fridge, a bathroom with a heated floor. The service is impeccable and upon arrival, we were greeted and taken to our suite.

The one thing that did surprise us was the inclusion of ear plugs. The Merchant House is opposite a night club so please bear this in mind.

All in all, the Merchant House is the best guest house we've ever been in. Thoroughly and highly recommended. We are definitely booking again.

Room Tip: There are quite a few flights of stairs. The W B Yeats Suite is on the second floor but well worth i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BobsBobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    47
    13
    2
    7
See reviews for
16
123
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Superb little guesthouse delighted we chose it. Very clean, modern comfortable and we really enjoyed our stay. The location is perfect, right in the heart of temple bar. We found the parking in fleet street quite expensive, even tho u get a discount if ur staying in the merchant house. We were parked from 5pm until 4pm the following day and were charged 24euro. The breakfast in the little cafe around the corner was excellant and included in the price..

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PogWicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We spent 3 nights at Merchant House, Temple Bar, Dublin. Excellent location and superb cozy suite. Host and staff were very kind and welcoming. It was a pleasure to go for breakfast at the cafe around the corner. Food was excellent. Almost all the sights are within walking distance or a short bus ride. We really enjoyed our visit to Dublin and our stay at Merchant House. We highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Stayed 2 nights in July over a weekend. Great location where we could easily walk to many sites, and our suite was very comfortable and nicely appointed. While the Temple Bar area did tend to get noisy at night, we still enjoyed our spacious suite and would definitely stay at the Merchant House again. As a side note, others have remarked that the bathroom glass door did not offer full privacy. In our suite the bedroom was on one side of the entrance hall and the bathroom on the other. We were traveling with our kids and just closed the bedroom door to provide more privacy.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boomerang09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Just came back from 2 nights staying at the merchant house. We were in the Bram Stoker room and couldn't hear any of the noise that previous reviewers have mentioned. Great welcome by the manager. Food was fine at the cafe and the bed was really comfy. Brilliant location for all the sites. Would def recommend The Merchant House to anyone. Free, fast Internet is also a plus!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MandyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We spent two night in the Merchant House. It is located in the Temple bar District .. ..perfect for everything in Dublin. Breakfast has been in a Coffee shop over the corner ... was ok.. but this appartments do have one big problem ..... You can´t sleep, because of the noise coming from the street and the visitors of the Temple Bar district are very loud, too..... Come with ear protection, then it is very nice there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank euronautix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VT
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

The title says it all. Check in service was good, although a couple ahead of us had been waiting for an unknown length of time. The location is in the heart of the Temple Bar area and is convenient for walking. This is both a pro and a con. The room itself is great. Stylish, modern and well maintained. We loved the room and location; but we also hated the location: directly across the street from the Mezz Club.

Until 2:30 or 3:00 AM all we heard or felt was the thumping/pounding bass. I expressed to my mife that I felt as though I was in an Essurance commercial (the commercial where they mention one person is a DJ).

If you are the type who loves nightlife and bar hopping - the so-called, Pub Crawl - stay here. You wil love the location.

If we go back, we will choose another location a bit outside the Temple Bar area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dunkledore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,319 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.3 mi away
Westin Dublin
Westin Dublin
#11 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 2,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Morgan
The Morgan
#25 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 2,336 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 2,048 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 stars 2,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merchant House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merchant House

Property: The Merchant House
Address: 8 Eustace Street | Temple Bar, Dublin D0 KX31, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Merchant House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merchant House is a restored award winning early Georgian building situated in Temple Bar, the cultural capital of Dublin City. The building in Eustace Street started out as a Merchant's house in the early Eighteenth Century. After extensive and lengthy refurbishment, luxury Guest Suites were created. It is our intention to offer our Guests spacious luxury Suites with total privacy in the heart of Dublin City. Our sound proof windows, beautiful furnishings, free Wifi and beautiful decor all help to create a relaxing environment for our Guests at a very affordable price. Breakfast is great value at €12 per Guest and served 1 minutes walk from The Merchant House. Some stairs to climb . All our Suites are called after Irish writers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Merchant House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Merchant House Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing