We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of The Merchant House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Merchant House
Ranked #22 of 149 Dublin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 31, 2011

We stayed for one night and wished we stayed longer. The check in was friendly, fast and efficient. The girl checking us in gave a great level of customer service. The accomodation is modern, comfortable and very spacious. There are dvds to watch if you are staying in and refreshments in the mini bar. Breakfast in Stage Door Cafe around the corner was lovely too. We were also able to leave our bags the next day so we could go home later rather than at check out time. All in all a wonderful stay in this great place.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rojo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
There are newer reviews for The Merchant House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 227 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2011

Stayed here on the first leg of a tour around Ireland. The rooms were surprisingly large and nicely appointed. We stayed a few floor above street level facing a popular temple bar street. The location was perfect base to tour around the city. A few notes about our stay:

* There was a surge in noise around 2am due to the bars closing, but the noise died down quickly we were not bothered - the window helped insulate most of the noise
* We were informed that the showers were not pressure showers and found the facilities perfectly adequate
* After a full day of walking it was great to stop back into our room for a rest/break before heading out for the night.

We tried to book again on our last leg and were disappointed to find it full.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AB121212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2011

Booked this through booking.com. Our stay was overall good, and I left what I considered to some constructive feedback.
"The room was very well furnished and the beds remarkably comfortable. Beautifully decorated and good quality fittings. The outside of the building belies what is on the inside. The IPod dock, TV and DVD player provide entertainment if you can't find enough outside your door in Temple Bar!! The woman who welcomed us was very helpful and made us feel very welcome. The double glazing blocks most of the street noise which given this is in the heart of Temple Bar is no mean feat. Breakfast at the Stage Door was fantastic- the service there is second to none, we were made to feel really welcome- I'm only sorry we weren't staying for another night!! - highly recommended
- The shower was a huge disappointment, the owners have clearly spent well on good quality fixtures and fittings. yet the shower was a cheap electric job. In a hotel at 150euro a night I would expect a power shower at the very least. Also a surprise was the cheap powdered coffee left in the room, again I would expect better quality at these prices. Finally the James Joyce room is the first of the rooms and the layout of the building means that all other guests have to pass the room, making for a very noisy early morning. I would recommend not booking this room if you want a lay in."
And for that I received this response!

Dear Ms W,

First of let me thank you personally for staying at The Merchant House on your recent stay in Dublin. I wish to thank you also for the high rating you gave us on the Booking.com web review page, however as you took the time out to write this review, it is my job as Manager to comment on this review.

On any of our profile pages there is no mention of The Merchant House having ‘Power Showers’. During the building renovations we had modern Triton electric showers installed, they are top grade in their area and more than adequate . The Temple bar area has a reduced water pressure most of the time and we were advised not to install power showers for this reason.

The complimentary Tea / Coffee is more than adequate and is Nescafe Gold Blend. I am sorry you were disappointed with its flavour. We feel we offer excellent value in all our Suites. The James Joyce Suite is a triple and superbly good value at €150 for max 3 Guests including full breakfast. I feel your negative comments were slightly petty but again thank you so much for the positive ones. On your next visit you might select a Suite on a higher floor , thus reducing stair noise but we will not be changing our Coffee selection or providing a power shower.

Again, on behalf of our small staff here in Dublin, a big thank you .................

Best regards
Mike Ryan
Manager

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank dawnlana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

My Mum and I spent 2 nights in the James Joyce suite between xmas and New Year and are already looking forward to our return visit in March.

We arrived 4 hours prior to check in but were able to leave our bags whilst we went out for lunch. Upon check in we were guided up to the suite and amazed to see it looked even better than the website picture portrays. Spacious, great attention to detail and lots of nice touches.

The location was ideal for a short stay - just round the corner from Temple Bar and Grafton Street. There was a late night venue across the street and so it could be quite noisy in the early hours but that’s a small price to pay in my opinion.

Breakfast is served at a lovely cosy cafe around the corner. On our first night we went out to look for somewhere to eat at around 7.30pm. It was 9pm before we found somewhere with a free table! The second night we went for the early diners option at FXB which is a 2 minute walk from the Merchant House. This place was definitely the highlight of our short break. Lovely cosy setting, friendly staff and amazing steaks. In fact it was the best meal I have had in a long time. Do not miss it! We also enjoyed food at Salamanca for a reasonable price and drinks at O'Neill's bar.
Dublin is very expensive with a huge mark up on UK prices. Expect to pay around £5 for a glass of wine or pint and around £17 for main course.

I have already recommended the Merchant House to friends and I am taking family back with me in March.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k8mol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Very much enjoyed The Merchant House. Right in the middle of the Temple Bar District - beware the bar just outside of the rooms though as it can be quite noisy for those who are light sleepers (despite the double glazed windows). We had a little trouble with the power/lights inside the room but still, enjoyed this room thoroughly. Lots of room, the bathroom is lovely and thought the semi-glazed doors wonderful (though be sure to keep your curtains closed!). Magda in particular was incredibly helpful and a joy to talk to. The beds were comfortable, it is within easy distance to everything you would need in Dublin and the breakfast down the street is more than ample. The room was also clean, all the fittings fantastic and heating was spot on. Definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zeus08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

I know it is freezing everywhere just now but I found the heating at the Merchant House less than adequate. It is preset on a small radiator,not really large enough to heat a suite of this size. We asked for and were given an additional radiator to heat us up. We booked two suites, James Joyce and WB Yeats. Both are indeed luxurious and impressive. I didn't like the IKEA pillows and duvets, call me fussy but I expected better quality at 150E per night! Towels were thin also. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Despite the double glazing there is some street noise which in Summer I would imagine could be irritating if the windows were open. Not keen on the glass door into the toilet, not much privacy.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2010

I don’t even know where to start. Our suite at the merchant house cost 3 euro more then a tiny little hotel room at the holiday inn, and yet it was without a doubt the most amazing room we had on our 2 week honeymoon through Ireland and Scotland. I almost didn’t want to write a review because I don’t want to let the secrete out, but this place was just too good to hide. The ONLY draw back was that at first glance the alley that it is on seems a little sketchy. After those first few seconds however you realize that the Merchant house is next to the Irish Film Institute, across the street from another quaint little B&B and as perfectly located in the center of town as you could possibly ask for. Also, if/when you do stay here check out the little courtyard down the alley next door. Local vender's sell fresh baked breads and pastries. If you are visiting Dublin just stay here... I don't know how else to say it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Everboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Eliza Lodge
Eliza Lodge
#91 of 150 in Dublin
577 reviews
The Clarence
#41 of 150 in Dublin
1,719 reviews
Dublin Citi Hotel
#74 of 150 in Dublin
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 150 in Dublin
2,353 reviews
South City Centre
Paramount Hotel Temple Bar
The Westin Dublin
#12 of 150 in Dublin
2,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merchant House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merchant House

Address: 8 Eustace Street | Temple Bar, Dublin D02 KX31, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range: $189 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Merchant House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merchant House is a restored award winning early Georgian building situated in Temple Bar, the cultural capital of Dublin City. The building in Eustace Street started out as a Merchant's house in the early Eighteenth Century. After extensive and lengthy refurbishment, luxury Guest Suites were created. It is our intention to offer our Guests spacious luxury Suites with total privacy in the heart of Dublin City. Our sound proof windows, beautiful furnishings, free Wifi and beautiful decor all help to create a relaxing environment for our Guests at a very affordable price. Breakfast is great value at €12 per Guest and served 1 minutes walk from The Merchant House. Some stairs to climb . All our Suites are called after Irish writers. Check In is by appointment with your personal Housekeeper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Merchant House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Merchant House Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing