We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice food and reasonable prices.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chilli Banana

Chilli Banana
Ranked #432 of 2,543 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice food and reasonable prices.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Went here with work colleagues as across the road from the Dublin Skylon Hotel. They served a very nice 2 course meal for €20, which we all thought was pretty reasonable. Go before 8pm (perhaps only on weekdays, not sure) to get the deal.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ewan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    73
    15
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glenties, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Poor quality rubber meat”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Thought I'd try out this restaurant, after moving to Dublin recently. I may have just hit a bad batch of meat... but this is a trait in many places (in Ireland) in the last few years where they reduce the quality of their meat suppliers to help keep costs down. Unfortunately I won't be going back neither could I recommend it to a friend.

Positives:
- very friendly staff
- tasty food
- convenient location

Negatives:
- the meat quality was exceptionally poor - beyond an acceptable level.
I ordered chicken satay for starter and a cod dish for main course. Both meats (I'm including fish as a meat here) were so rubbery that I actually couldn't eat the main course. Both dishes had really tasty sauces but I couldn't eat the rubber meat. The meat was of similar quality to that of a cheap fast food take away.
I let the staff know of my concerns. They were very nice and offered me a free tea / coffee / desert but I don't think they understood my constructive criticism.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tcdonegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“really tasty food in a relaxed atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

the food here is really good, packed with flavor and colour. this is a regular spot for family events as the variety on the menu ensures something for everyone. the prices are reasonable and the portions are generous, a great spot for some good food and good company.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alice w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good restaurant in Upper Druncondra Road, Dublin 9”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Good food, good service, reasonable prices. Bottle of water and crackers free of charge. Small and well placed. Would recommend.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank kenmavor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful Thai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Tasty Thai food is a relaxed surrounding.Lovely wine & very reasonable.Friendly pleasant staff. Great location on a lovely strip of Drumcondra Road which obviously can make parking a little difficult too.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carey37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chilli Banana also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Chilli Banana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing