We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kelly's Hotel Dublin
Ranked #93 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice staff”
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at this hotel lately. But He was do helpful for us and we departured early in the mornig..,He prepared sandwich for us. The room tidy and small and we have to go out fot breakfast which was not so good. But I feel comfortable because of him.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 정민 이
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin P, Manager at Kelly's Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Hi Doldorilla ,John looked after you. we all want you to enjoy staying with us. Karin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    122
    51
    31
    16
See reviews for
16
172
25
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We recently stayed here for about a week during our first trip to Dublin. I'd say the reviews are pretty accurate. Pluses: terrific location; clean rooms; bathroom new and shiny; very comfortable beds; great friendly and helpful staff. Minuses: noisy; lots of stairs. We stayed in an executive room which I highly recommend; even then the room was smallish and we had to find a way to shove suitcases under the bed. There are no drawers so we were basically living out of suitcases for the time we were there. This location was ideal for us - within walking distance of just about everything we wanted to do in Dublin, terrific restaurants and pubs right nearby. The staff were very helpful with everything from early morning wake-up calls; calling cabs; telling us how to ride the DART, etc.

If I had one recommendation for the hotel it would be to include some small fans in the rooms. This would help with air circulation in the room on the rare warmish days and could also be useful at night to block out street noise. They do provide earplugs but I hate wearing them as they make my ears itch!

We loved Dublin and would happily stay at this hotel again if/when we return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peromyscus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin P, Manager at Kelly's Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Hey Guys Thanks for review! Glad you liked our style & the fact that we are located in the heart of Dublin's Creative Quarter sorry about itchy ears!! Karin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed 5 nights (including Weekend) at the Kellys Hotel in Dublin and I loved it. First of all the ensuite room was nice, clean and well equipped (TV, kettle, safe, wifi). My room was facing towards the main street (South Great Georges Street) and the window didn't block any of the noise.
This lead to a noisy awakening in the morning, but if you're a early bird like me, this shouldn't be a big issue. But the perfect location in the heart of Dublin (2 mins to Temple Bar, 2 mins to Grafton Street) makesit up for the lack of silence.
Another plus for the Hotel was the delicious breakfast ('til 10:30 am), provided by the restaurant around the corner.
To sum up, great location, nice staff, clean room, good breakfast, a bit noisy (earplugs provided)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Comrade1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Everyone here has said it already, it's in a noisy area, and I concur; the hotel is in a great, lively location, just a short walk from Temple Bar, but that's why there's so many people around.

We stayed a Friday and Saturday night, and it's very loud until quite late. With the (very nice) adjoining 'bar with no name', Karaoke in the lounge downstairs, the late night Hogan's Bar on the ground floor and the busy Great George's Street outside it all adds up to quite a cacophony. We just about managed to sleep through the audio barrage, but only as we'd been out late ourselves.

The Hotel is fine, quite trendy, simple and clean. The room was very small, the staff were lovely, and the breakfast around the corner was great – although there is an extra charge for a cooked Irish breakfast we weren't aware of.

It depends what holiday you're after really, if you're there for the famous Irish 'craic' then it's perfectly positioned, if you'd like somewhere a little quieter, there are other hotels not too far away.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the top floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin P, Manager at Kelly's Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hi Karl
Thanks we are located in the Hip Happening part of town. Kareoke we don't do ! That Sat eve we had a private birthday party in The Candle Bar . Glad you enjoyed the vibe Karin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Visiting Dublin for a birthday and we stayed in an executive double. There were 9 couples in total staying in the hotel. Our room was nice and clean - an all white affair, and big enough to manoeuvre. My friends regular rooms however were small, and I do mean small. The hotel is basically like a big converted house, with lots of stairs everywhere, no lift and its all a bit poky. There is a cocktail bar that is beyond pretentious - staff hanging about doing nothing. The continental breakfast in the adjoining restaurant was nice. Exactly what you'd expect, breads, cheeses etc. The staff were grand - informative but not over friendly.

If you like your hotels quirky, painted floorboards everywhere, Mick Jagger posters, poky rooms, too cool for school bar, and each room comes especially equipped with ear plugs for the late night shenanigans, then you will love this place. I didn't at all, maybe I'm too old!

Room Tip: Upgrade to an executive double, especially if you are claustrophobic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AineWicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin P, Manager at Kelly's Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hi Aine
Thanks for feedback . Sorry we didn't match your style! Karin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed here for two nights on a recent visit to Ireland. Very well located in the centre of Dublin city, really nice common areas. Our room was pretty small, but clean and comfortable. All the staff are very nice and helpful. Breakfast is next door in a french restaurant called l'Geuleton and its really tasty.

Overall would recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnsanderson22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

ID: Young active professionals from the states

Strengths: Very cute hotel in a great location in downtown Dublin. Rustic to chic remodel very well-done. We stayed in the penthouse- lots of space (two stories with two bedrooms and a living area). The decorations are all modern and it has a very cool feel to the hotel. There is the "no name bar" connected to the hotel, which is a great place to hang out and get a drink, especially if you are interested in an upper-scale bar with a cool ambiance. There is a lovely private bar in the reception area if you want something more private reserved just for guests. The hot breakfast is additional but worth it. Very secure with multiple locking doors and security.

Weaknesses: Stairs, lots of stairs and no elevator. Noise (especially above the bar) that extends well past midnight. For the penthouse specifically, the layout is a bit strange. The only bathroom is upstairs, and is open to the bedroom. Which can get a bit tricky if multiple people are staying together. I peered into one of the other rooms and they seemed a bit small (not a problem with the penthouse- there is a LOT of room). There are small details that seem to be missing (for example, there is no toilet paper roll holder in our bathroom or a basket to hold the earplugs provided- they are instead tossed next to the bed). This gives the feel of more of a "hostel" mentality rather than a "resort" hotel.

Overall: Great smaller boutique hotel for the price and location. Lovely remodel with a french country feel with some unfinished walls and old banisters, but very cozy and it flows well. Recommended for young adults who want to experience the night life, don't mind the noise, and like to go with the flow. Probably not recommended for those who like the "traditional" hotel experience, elderly or those with difficulty with stairs, or individuals who like peace and quiet.

Recommendations- check out the "no name" bar- very trendy and fun. Penthouse is definitely worth it, but do consider the one 'open floor plan' bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovn2ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Central Hotel
The Central Hotel
#96 of 151 in Dublin
892 reviews
0.1 mi away
Drury Court Hotel
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 151 in Dublin
1,460 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercantile Hotel
Mercantile Hotel
#115 of 151 in Dublin
403 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dublin Citi Hotel
Dublin Citi Hotel
#76 of 151 in Dublin
1,019 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Dawson Hotel & Spa
The Dawson Hotel & Spa
#105 of 151 in Dublin
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelly's Hotel Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelly's Hotel Dublin

Property: Kelly's Hotel Dublin
Address: 36 South Great Georges Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelly's Hotel Dublin 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kelly's Hotel Dublin, is the sharpest new urban hotel in the heart of Dublin's City Centre. Brought to you by the same mindset that has created some of Dublin's most popular bar and restaurant environments, Kelly's Hotel Dublin is cool yet affordable. While the rooms on offer have the comfort and style expected from a high end hotel, Kelly's Hotel Dublins unfussy sensibility appeals to a broad range of travellers. The Hotel has 16 rooms which: 1 is the Loft Penthouse Suite, which can fit 4 people in 10 are Standard Double with a Queen Size Bed 5 are Executive Double with a King Size Bed All rates include continental breakfast served in our award winning French restaurant L'Gueuleton. We look forward to welcoming you at Kellys Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kelly's Hotel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing