We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, (so that's why it's so noisy)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kelly's Hotel Dublin
Ranked #94 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great location, (so that's why it's so noisy)”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Everyone here has said it already, it's in a noisy area, and I concur; the hotel is in a great, lively location, just a short walk from Temple Bar, but that's why there's so many people around.

We stayed a Friday and Saturday night, and it's very loud until quite late. With the (very nice) adjoining 'bar with no name', Karaoke in the lounge downstairs, the late night Hogan's Bar on the ground floor and the busy Great George's Street outside it all adds up to quite a cacophony. We just about managed to sleep through the audio barrage, but only as we'd been out late ourselves.

The Hotel is fine, quite trendy, simple and clean. The room was very small, the staff were lovely, and the breakfast around the corner was great – although there is an extra charge for a cooked Irish breakfast we weren't aware of.

It depends what holiday you're after really, if you're there for the famous Irish 'craic' then it's perfectly positioned, if you'd like somewhere a little quieter, there are other hotels not too far away.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the top floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin P, Manager at Kelly's Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hi Karl
Thanks we are located in the Hip Happening part of town. Kareoke we don't do ! That Sat eve we had a private birthday party in The Candle Bar . Glad you enjoyed the vibe Karin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    122
    50
    30
    16
See reviews for
16
170
24
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Visiting Dublin for a birthday and we stayed in an executive double. There were 9 couples in total staying in the hotel. Our room was nice and clean - an all white affair, and big enough to manoeuvre. My friends regular rooms however were small, and I do mean small. The hotel is basically like a big converted house, with lots of stairs everywhere, no lift and its all a bit poky. There is a cocktail bar that is beyond pretentious - staff hanging about doing nothing. The continental breakfast in the adjoining restaurant was nice. Exactly what you'd expect, breads, cheeses etc. The staff were grand - informative but not over friendly.

If you like your hotels quirky, painted floorboards everywhere, Mick Jagger posters, poky rooms, too cool for school bar, and each room comes especially equipped with ear plugs for the late night shenanigans, then you will love this place. I didn't at all, maybe I'm too old!

Room Tip: Upgrade to an executive double, especially if you are claustrophobic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AineWicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin P, Manager at Kelly's Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hi Aine
Thanks for feedback . Sorry we didn't match your style! Karin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed here for two nights on a recent visit to Ireland. Very well located in the centre of Dublin city, really nice common areas. Our room was pretty small, but clean and comfortable. All the staff are very nice and helpful. Breakfast is next door in a french restaurant called l'Geuleton and its really tasty.

Overall would recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnsanderson22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

ID: Young active professionals from the states

Strengths: Very cute hotel in a great location in downtown Dublin. Rustic to chic remodel very well-done. We stayed in the penthouse- lots of space (two stories with two bedrooms and a living area). The decorations are all modern and it has a very cool feel to the hotel. There is the "no name bar" connected to the hotel, which is a great place to hang out and get a drink, especially if you are interested in an upper-scale bar with a cool ambiance. There is a lovely private bar in the reception area if you want something more private reserved just for guests. The hot breakfast is additional but worth it. Very secure with multiple locking doors and security.

Weaknesses: Stairs, lots of stairs and no elevator. Noise (especially above the bar) that extends well past midnight. For the penthouse specifically, the layout is a bit strange. The only bathroom is upstairs, and is open to the bedroom. Which can get a bit tricky if multiple people are staying together. I peered into one of the other rooms and they seemed a bit small (not a problem with the penthouse- there is a LOT of room). There are small details that seem to be missing (for example, there is no toilet paper roll holder in our bathroom or a basket to hold the earplugs provided- they are instead tossed next to the bed). This gives the feel of more of a "hostel" mentality rather than a "resort" hotel.

Overall: Great smaller boutique hotel for the price and location. Lovely remodel with a french country feel with some unfinished walls and old banisters, but very cozy and it flows well. Recommended for young adults who want to experience the night life, don't mind the noise, and like to go with the flow. Probably not recommended for those who like the "traditional" hotel experience, elderly or those with difficulty with stairs, or individuals who like peace and quiet.

Recommendations- check out the "no name" bar- very trendy and fun. Penthouse is definitely worth it, but do consider the one 'open floor plan' bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovn2ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed here on two different occasions in a weeks span. You cannot beat the location of this hotel in city centre. Located close to almost everything in Dublin. The staff is extremely nice, especially the over night desk (Thanks, John!). The rooms are nice but the bathrooms are small! Room selection is key here. The first night we stayed here we booked online. We got No. 6, which is located right above The No Name Bar. Beyond LOUD until 2:30! We just went down and joined the party . But if you want to go to sleep early, avoid this side of the Hotel. The next time we were moved to No. 9, which is much quieter! No sound problems at all. Definitely stay here if you want a great location and don't mind the bar sound. Just ask for a room away from the Bar!

Room Tip: Get a room away from the bar downstairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin P, Manager at Kelly's Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Hi James ,we love that attitude " joined the party!" Kellys is located in the heart of the Creative Quarter with lots of cafes's bars & restaurants & at the week ends it can be lively.Thanks for posting review. So glad you enjoyed our space! karin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Kelly's is upstairs from Hogan's, one of the most popular pubs in Dublin, so the crack (as the Irish say) is good, but boisterous. The hotel has been renovated in recent years; the rooms are small but comfortable and very clean; the hotel's breakfast is available around the corner at the French restaurant and is delightful; the location is right in the heart of Dublin, and the staff are very friendly. We were there mid-week for three nights, and the noise stopped around 11pm which was fine. However, with the later close on weekends, noise could be a factor. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneMeg_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Everything about Kelly's is very good. People are very friendly and helpful, beds are comfy but if your looking for a full nights sleep Kelly's isn't it.
In the e-mail (they send you after booking) they make it sound like it is a busy street while in fact it is the in house bar and the lack of isolation that will keep you up most of the night. Makes you feel like sleeping in a club.

Room Tip: As far from the in house bar as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Snoeshaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Drury Court Hotel
Drury Court Hotel
#26 of 151 in Dublin
1,433 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Central Hotel
The Central Hotel
#92 of 151 in Dublin
883 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercantile Hotel
Mercantile Hotel
#113 of 151 in Dublin
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dublin Citi Hotel
Dublin Citi Hotel
#74 of 151 in Dublin
1,002 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelly's Hotel Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelly's Hotel Dublin

Property: Kelly's Hotel Dublin
Address: 36 South Great Georges Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelly's Hotel Dublin 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kelly's Hotel Dublin, is the sharpest new urban hotel in the heart of Dublin's City Centre. Brought to you by the same mindset that has created some of Dublin's most popular bar and restaurant environments, Kelly's Hotel Dublin is cool yet affordable. While the rooms on offer have the comfort and style expected from a high end hotel, Kelly's Hotel Dublins unfussy sensibility appeals to a broad range of travellers. The Hotel has 16 rooms which: 1 is the Loft Penthouse Suite, which can fit 4 people in 10 are Standard Double with a Queen Size Bed 5 are Executive Double with a King Size Bed All rates include continental breakfast served in our award winning French restaurant L'Gueuleton. We look forward to welcoming you at Kellys Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kelly's Hotel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing