We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definately go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Times Hostels - College Street
Ranked #21 of 120 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Reviewed November 18, 2010

When arriving at the Times Hostel we arrived at 8.30am and were greeted by friendly staff. Check-in isn't until 2pm so we stored our luggage in their luggage room until then. We also stored our luggage when checking out at 10am as our flight wasn't until 7pm.

I travelled with one other person and we stayed in a mixed 10 bed dorm. The rooms were clean and are cleaned every day. The room has an en-suite bathroom with 24 hour hot showers. The beds are reasonably comfortable. The facilities in the kitchen are good, however there isn't an oven which we were pretty suprised about. There is also a sitting area in the kitchen with a TV and a radio.

The location is excellent and is next to Doyle's pub and Trinity College. If you're there to drink a lot, Doyle's is a great place to go to get drunk or even just for a drink in the day time. However, prices are a little expensive .. A pint of Heiniken costing 4.90 Euros. On the other hand, if you're not there to drink, it's also a great place to meet new friends and other backpackers. Even though it is above Doyle's we never heard noise from the pub, but we were on the third floor.

There is also free wi-fi, which is great if you have a laptop or internet phone!

When arriving in Dublin, we took the Airlink bus for 6 Euros, dropping us off on O'Connell Street (A fair walk away) and on the way back we caught a taxi from an Air coach bus stop right near the hostel for 7 Euros .. The Air Coach is a good way of returning to the airport and is 7 Euros each.

Overall, I would recommend this hostel and will be returning at some point next year!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACBxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (503)
There are newer reviews for Times Hostels - College Street
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 503 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2010

Stayed here for 3 days during my trip in october 2010.

The service was really good, kind and friendly people working there and very helpfull! And they made pancakes for all guests in the weekend! Nice :)

The hostel is in the middle of everything, so location is great.

The rooms are quite fine - normal hostel standard, not the most clean and new bathroom, but it was ok. The beds where clean and fine - and good to sleep in!

Breakfast was good - normal toast and cheap stuff, but better than most hostels I have stayed at.

The hostel in general is a bit old, have to walk up and down old stairs and corridors, but compared to other places I have lived, its is a good 'normal' hostel which I could see my self book again - if I want to go back to Dublin ;-)

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DKMikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010

Very basic hostel but good kitchen and location. My parent's first stay in a hostel and they were fine here. A little noisy but that comes with the location. Very friendly staff. What you expect for what you pay

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew_Kellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

+: kind crew, in the heart of Dublin, cheap, breakfast is ok;
-: noisy creaking beds, noisy architecture, spartan rooms

the crew was really kind, the location in the heart of Dublin is perfect, the rent is cheap an the breakfast is ok (toast, cornflakes, tea, coffee, orange juice, sometimes pancakes)

we had a double room, the room was furnished with a bed and a tv-set. unfortunately the bed was made of metal and was creaking everytime we moved. unfortunately we heard a lot of noises from other rooms espacially from the rooms above us all night long).

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lucky_time69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

stayed there two nights and enjoyed it very much. very nice staff, great kitchen surprises (like white sangria for free) greetings to martin, leah and the australian desk staff (don't know the name)

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wgtarier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at the College street location for 3 nights. We had a double, ensuite room. Other than street noise, we did not hear much. If you're a light sleeper you'll want to bring ear plugs, they helped me tremendously because it is located on a busy street directly across from Trinity College. But what hostel isn't some what noisy? The pub crawl was a fun way to meet new people from around the globe and the staff was SO nice and helpful. They suggested things for us to do, and looked up bus routes for us. I hope to visit Dublin again and will definitely recommend this hostel to our friends!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPaisal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

My boyfriend and I stay at the times hostel for 2 night. It's a nice hostel. Big room and washroom. The biggest that I seen in Europe. The washroom was not so clean. Hair on the bathroom floor and in the shower. Cold room. The breakfast was small. They had only toasts and they were out of orange juice. The location is ok but a little far. You are better at the Barnacles. The staff was awesome during the day but the night staff was not really helpful. They don't have a common room except the kitchen which have a sofa. The room were you keep you backpack is not safe. Anybody could take you backpack and tell the receptionist that is their. Also, anybody could go up in the hostels because the doors is not lock.

A good thing is that the phone calls are free. You can phone home whenever you want.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronica025_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Sky Backpackers
#10 of 120 in Dublin
337 reviews
South City Centre
Ashfield Hostel
Ashfield Hostel
#9 of 120 in Dublin
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 120 in Dublin
2,128 reviews
Temple Bar
Abigails Hostel
Abigails Hostel
#7 of 120 in Dublin
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Times Hostels - College Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Times Hostels - College Street

Address: 8, College Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 120 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range: $26 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Times Hostels - College Street 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a beautiful old fashion building, in a fantastic location, The Times Hostel is the perfect base for all tourists and backpackers, to enjoy "The Most Lively City in Europe!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Times Hostels - College Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Times Hostel - College Street Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing