We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for One Night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Times Hostels - College Street
Ranked #17 of 106 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good for One Night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Maybe I am getting a little too old for hostels, but I still like staying in them. This place was very bare bone. The computers did not seem to work well, along with poor wifi connection in the rooms. You had to sit in the small lobby to find connection. We stayed in an ensuite room with 4 bunk beds. Fortunately, it was for only one night. I will say it is a great location for seeing lots of the tourist sights. However, if you want a good night's sleep, consider staying elsewhere. The springs in the frame of my mattress poked me all night, so I could not get comfortable. If this does not matter to you, then it can be a decent place.

I guess I got what I paid for, a cheap, central location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelatravels11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    198
    97
    39
    30
See reviews for
31
80
96
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Hostel is very clean with helpful an friendly staff. The room were also very clean an spacious. Was in the perfect location for the nightlife of Dublin. Would highly recommend this hostel to anyone who goes to Dublin.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Good value, staff helpful and friendly, perfect if you are a group of lads on the beers in Dublin (short stagger from local pubs). Free wifi and you are able to secure luggage securely if you arrive before check in. Room was clean, if a little rough around the edges. It's definitely not the Ritz but I have stayed in far worse. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Cameron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penarth, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

The Times Hostel is a very friendly and clean hostel in the Centre of Dublin - perfect for short breaks on a budget. The rooms are comfortable, my bedroom (6 beds all female) had an en-suite bathroom for the room which was great. Breakfast was served in the spacious kitchen where you can prepare your own meals as well. In the evening they offered free drinks (sangria I believe - but didn't have chance to sample as I was out). Next time I am going to Dublin I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

I visited Dublin 2-5 August, 2013 and stayed at The Times. It is located directly across the street from Trinity College and offers 24hr. access.

The Aircoach bus from DUB Airport drops off in front of Trinity College for 7Euro and it was quite simple to walk a couple of minutes to The Times.

The Times is located less than five minutes walk from the Temple Bar area, close enough to find your way back after an evening of food, drink and music without needing a taxi but far enough away from the noise when you're ready for some quiet time. St. Stevens Green, Dublin Castle, Grafton Street shopping, as well as Henry Street/Earl Street shopping are all within 15 minutes walking. I was also able to walk to the Guiness Storehouse and Jameson Factory tour in about 25 minutes. If you are up for the trip, it took just under half an hour to walk to Heuston Station for a train ride out of the city with a 12kilo backpack.

The staff was friendly and helpful and the laundry facilities worked perfectly fine. The breakfast rush seemed to be fairly disorganized on my first attempt, with 30 people trying to use all the facilities at the same time, so I elected to eat out. The second time I tried breakfast I missed the rush and had no difficulties or delays in getting something to eat.

Overall, it was easy enough to get to, the location was convenient for my needs, the staff was very helpful, the facilities functional if a bit crowded (during summer), and I felt the price was reasonable given the high tourist season. Not being in my 20s any more and having more flexibility with my budget (even during a bank holiday weekend) I was able to enjoy a private double room (bunk bed though) with a private bathroom en suite and even had a television in my room for about USD$110 per night.

I give a 4 out of 5 because the kitchen area could be expanded or improved upon slightly. That being said, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THE TIMES HOSTEL!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quinn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

The hostel location is amazing. Very close to great pubs, oconnell street, trinity college, temple bar, and more. Rooms was average, bed was passable (mattress was actually broken), but was very clean and fairly quiet. Got a full night's rest - but it was a Monday. Room smelled a lot like bleach. Kitchen is fairly small for a hostel of this size and has a dish washer so tends to run out of mugs at breakfast. Great price, friendly staff. Would stay at for a short term stay (1 or 2 nights). For longer stays, it might be worth it to find something a bit less central but a bit nicer on the room side. You are absolutely paying for the best location and the cost can't be beat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Great location in Dublin city centre, easy to get the number 16 bus from the airport to just around the corner from the hostel. Young girls on reception were helpful, even offering me an umbrella to use in the downpour outside. Guinness storehouse 20 min walk away, and a free walking tour leaves from down the road. Rooms spacious, and Wednesdays there is a free dinner the hostel kindly puts on to the first 40 people who sign up. Kitchen doubles as the common room also.

Street noise is quite high as its the city centre, earplugs are a good idea if you are a light sleeper. Otherwise cant fault this place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roamingkangaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Westin Dublin
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,408 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#41 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,144 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#45 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,276 reviews
The Morgan
#35 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,663 reviews
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Times Hostels - College Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Times Hostels - College Street

Property: Times Hostels - College Street
Address: 8, College Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 106 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Times Hostels - College Street 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a beautiful old fashion building, in a fantastic location, The Times Hostel is the perfect base for all tourists and backpackers, to enjoy "The Most Lively City in Europe!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Times Hostels - College Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Times Hostel - College Street Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing