We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd Visit with a GrabOne Voucher”
Review of Cafe Carlo

Cafe Carlo
Ranked #1,013 of 2,560 Restaurants in Dublin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Just opposite the famous Dublin Spire on O'Connell Street in Dublin city center, Café Carlo - an ambient gem of an eatery specializing in a delicious fusion of Irish & international cuisine. The relaxed and intimate setting of Carlo's Restaurant, coupled with its high-quality, reasonably priced food and friendly, attentive staff has made this restaurant a huge favorite with Dublin diners. Not only is it a popular choice with visitors to Dublin City, it's also found a place in the hearts of the discerning locals, who return time and again to soak up the Carlo's atmosphere and enjoy some genuinely delicious food.
belfast
Level Contributor
106 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“2nd Visit with a GrabOne Voucher”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit to this restaurant Both times we have had a GrabOne voucher and found the 2 starters, 2 mains and 2 drinks great value for money. The food was of good qualityand service was excellent but a little fast; we were finished within 1 hour However as a Pre theatre or lunch venue it is excellent

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michellef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    80
    40
    19
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Craigavon
Level Contributor
186 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“A CITY CENTRE RESTAURANT WORTH A VISIT”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We arrived into the restaurant on Dublin's O'Connell Street and were warmly welcomed and shown to our table. The menu is extensive and our starters chicken wings and calamari were both really good. Our steaks one sirloin and one fillet were large and cooked to perfection.

The service was friendly and helpful and we dicovered a restaurant on the North side of the Liffey that deserves to be well supported and to which we will return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Irvine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never go in there”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Three of us visited today and were seated at the table for 10 minutes before someone came to take our order. We were going to use the GrabOne voucher for two of us and the third was going to pay full price. The first person ordered and all was okay. When he saw us with the GrabOne voucher he started to shake his hands and say no,no, no, it is too busy today to use that voucher. We were unhappy with this situation and the voucher should have been taken. We were directed out to reception to make another booking and were told that there was no availability today. The staff in this establishment have no idea of proper customer service. Also, the toilets were filthy.

Helpful?
3 Thank TD19850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Steak on Hot Stone”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Went there with the hubby for steak on hot stone and I have to say it was absolutely great. The meat was juice and tender, salad was fresh and crisp and the steak came with three sauces which were all good. I'm a pretty picky eater but couldn't fault the food at all. Service was prompt and efficient. Will definitely return for more steaks! And I have been recommending this place to friends as the 'cook your own steak on hot stone' theme is very exciting.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kitty Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Well Done Carlo”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was our second visit to Cafe Carlo's. Both times we have had a voucher, which makes it exceptional value. The food was the same great quality as our last visit, although the staff have changed; they seemed a little stressed and rushed, even though the restaurant was not that busy. Unfortunately we had been allocated the table in the coridor into the kitchen which mean that staff were whooshing past us every few minutes, knocking the chair - a table against the wall would have been better, given the choice. But all that was forgotten though when our signature steak on a slate arrived. Great fun to cook your steak how you like it, with three accompanying dips. I would have preferred chunky chips to the skinny chips we got, but it didn't detract from the meal. Two starters, two mains, and a bottle of wine later we were very full and very happy. Well done Carlos' keep up the good work. Will definitely be returning.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank HolidayJunkieCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Carlo also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Cafe Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing