We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“disgusted” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Carlo

Cafe Carlo
Ranked #963 of 2,527 Restaurants in Dublin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Just opposite the famous Dublin Spire on O'Connell Street in Dublin city center, Café Carlo - an ambient gem of an eatery specializing in a delicious fusion of Irish & international cuisine. The relaxed and intimate setting of Carlo's Restaurant, coupled with its high-quality, reasonably priced food and friendly, attentive staff has made this restaurant a huge favorite with Dublin diners. Not only is it a popular choice with visitors to Dublin City, it's also found a place in the hearts of the discerning locals, who return time and again to soak up the Carlo's atmosphere and enjoy some genuinely delicious food.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“disgusted”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

be careful if your buying vouchers for this restaurant for they dont honour whats on your voucher eg paid for either the lunch menu or the early bird menu by voucher and was told by a very arrogant waiter that it wasn,t for the early bird deal when in fact it was .the atmosphere in the restaurant was terrible was also told we could just leave and take our voucher with us terrible way to treat a customer who had bought and paid for an early bird deal and was then refused it very embarrassing and upsetting especially as the restaurant was full .

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
Helpful?
1 Thank lucinda1049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    80
    40
    19
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Quality - you can't go wrong”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Amazing value & service, menu is very good espc steak on stone. It prob could do with a bit of painting but food price service more than shine and O'Connell Street location too - you just can't go wrong

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ronanocathain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good grub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Ate at this restaurant using a grab one voucher - food was excellent. Soup & vegetarian noodles for me (both delicious & fresh - not always the case for vegetarian meals in a non vegetarian restaurant) & spicy chicken winds & beef stroganoff for my sister (generous helpings, delicious & served with no delays or fuss). We will both be back... Even without the voucher they are great value. A Galway girl...

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aml1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent steak on the stone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Got a voucher for a steak on teh stone wtih wine deal, and have to say, I was surprised at how good it was! Decor wouldn't be to my liking, very basic, but the staff and the food make up for that. Very impressed with the quality of the steak that we got for such a reduced price deal. Red wine was also lovely. We bought starters too and were both happy with what we got (calamari and breaded mushrooms). Will definitely return!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank citigirl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monasterevin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Place and Fantastic Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

My girlfriend and I stay in Dublin for college and we were looking for a place to get Steak on the Stone. We found Cafe Carlo and we were both very pleased with the food and the service. The price was fantastic compared to places we've been to before. The atmosphere was quiet but we liked this

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Carlo also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Cafe Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing