We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent staff pity about the chef”
Review of Pichet

Pichet
Ranked #81 of 2,558 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: South City Centre
cork
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent staff pity about the chef”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Had a lovely night out enjoyed the ambience and the service. Unfortunately the food was tasteless. Starter for four of us was beetroot and goats cheese. We were served a bowl of beetroot and one small piece of cheese each. So all I was getting was one boring flavour. Staff supplied more cheese when requested. My friend ordered scallops. She got one scallop!!!. My main course was sea breem. A blob of white tasteless fish. I would say the most tasteless meal I have ever eaten. The deserts were lovely.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kay m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    554
    262
    93
    44
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Love this lively restaurant, located in a great spot – Trinity Street – heart of Dublin, beside Grafton Street. Food great.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LIFL_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent All Round”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Had a fantastic dinner with my family in Pichet on Christmas Eve. The service is always excellent here and the food was really fantastic and great value. The infamous Hens Egg with Black Pudding to start, was out of this world and the fish main with Chorizo, was a real winner for all of us who had it. To top it off deserts all went down a treat. They also catered for kids with a good pasta dish and lovely ice-cream desert. Excellent on any occassion, but great atmosphere at Christmas too.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kaks122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not a Bar, but they have a bar inside!”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Absolutely terrible... Went to sit a the bar but was told we could only have a cocktail if we were going to eat and that we where in a restraint not a bar.

The time was 4:30 pm and no customers were in the place. Well I will never set foot in Pichet again.

Stephen Lynch, Boston, MA

Helpful?
12 Thank steolynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Restaurant”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I have been to Pichet four or five times since it has opened. It is consistently good. The service is strong and there is a really good atmosphere. The decor is amazing and it's very relaxing although there is still a great buzz in there for lunch or dinner. I was there over Christmas with a large group and again service was very good as was the food and it was not that expensive as we had a lot of wine. The only critisism I would give is that the menu was a little restrictive. We were ordering off a Christmas menu and if you didn't like traditional desserts the selection was a little disappointing. I have ordered off an early bird menu before and selection was good so hence the disappointment. Their a la carte menu is very strong but in this instance there were so many of us this was not an option. They did offer an ice cream selection as an alternative. I would go again. It is hard to get a booking as it's so popular so I would suggest planning ahead.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ninoDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pichet also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Pichet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing