We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place, just let down by the area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Herberton Apartments
Ranked #73 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good place, just let down by the area”
Reviewed August 3, 2010

4 of us stayed here for a weekend away in July 2010...

Good points:
Spacious, modern, well equipped. Kitchen was good.
Proximity to the LUAS tram system - 30 seconds away - arrives every 5 mins or so, couple of euros you're in the centre.
Customer service - Apartments have 24hr reception and were welcoming when we arrived.
Shame we booked 2 twin rooms yet arrived to find doubles - this is a good point because 2 hours later we came back to find they had changed both the beds for 4 singles.
Price - compared to the other places its relatively cheap
Free wifi

Bad points:
The area is awful, taxi driver said the area used to be some slum that got knocked down. - explains all the ne'er-do-wells hanging around in the evenings.
Taxi back home was necessary due to this location.

If i was being picky:
Wasnt the cleanest apartment. Floors were very dusty.
Barely enough cutlery/utensils for an apartment for 4 people.
Tiny old TV about 10 years old, proper flatscreen is standard these days even if theres nothing on!
There are shops 5 mins walk away - shame you have to walk through the bronx to get there. Mornings are fine though.

Overall yes i would come back but only if there wasn't anywhere else available as the dodgy area is something one shouldnt have to worry about when away on a break.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauly74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    8
    8
    13
See reviews for
20
Couples
0
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northants
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2010

The good:

1. What staff were about seemed friendly.
2, Secure free car park.
3. Free Wifi.
4. Enough space.

The bad:

1. Apparently a 24 hour reception, which is not the case.
2. The cleaning was poor, floors not swept or mopped meant black feet or socks if walking around without shoes. The toilet had not be cleaned properly, and under the seat was worse than a public toilet.
3. No shower curtain, but that wasn't too much of an issue since the shower was worse than useless. The pressure was non existant which caused the water from the shower to cling to the shower hose and drip off at the base, not one just of water at all. Apparently, they would sort this out for me, but nothing happened.
4. As there was no shower, I had to take baths, which, with the thick layer of dirt and scum around the surface didn't make for a nice experience.
5. On turning up at the apartment, the place wasn't ready for me as they "didn't think I would arrive yet". Kitchen utensils didn't arrive for over 24 hours.
6. Don't be fooled by the website, these aren't dedicated holiday apartments, they are student accomodation, where when an apartment becomes vacant, they let it out.
7. One night local children decided to throw stones at all apartment windows which continued on and off until about midnight.

If you have any choice, do not stay here. I checked out early in the end.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rmj0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dublin hotels

WSM
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2010

Clean and functional with all you could need for a weekend stay. 1 minute from Luas stop. I would not recommend it if you want too much luxury from either interior or surroundings.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaldBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kongsvinger
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2009

The apartment was not ready when we arrived. The manager told us that it was "a little out of season". Is that possible in this kind of town?
We had this apartment and it was quite ok. But: the apartment didn't have any glasses to drink of, not a frying pan so it was impossible for us to cook food there. The cleaning could also been a little better.
The fascilites was quite good. For 5 Euros a day we had entrance to swimming, jacuzzi, steam bath, sauna and fitnesscenter.
It is about 10-12 minutes with the luas to town (a local train). The apartment are also in walking distance to the Guinness Brewery.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vingeren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed November 16, 2009

Last November, my family and I traveled to the "Emerald Isle" for an extended stay and to experience Christmas in Ireland. We looked at different accomadation options that would suit our family. Luckily, we came accross the Herberton Apartments in Dublin. The accomadations were excellent with two bedrooms and two baths. The water for the showers were always hot which was great after some cold and rainy days, just the norm for Ireland. The kitchen was well appointed with all of the "mod cons" that included a dishwasher, washing machine, tea pot and toaster. The living room had two sofas and a TV with cable. The location of Herberton was also a hugh plus. The local transportation, LUAS, was just outside the door and brought you to many locations throughtout Dublin. Grafton Street, a bustling area full of shopping, restaurants, and nightlife was only a nice 15 minute stroll away. This area is also beutiful at Christams time with all of the lights cascading above the streets. We alos found the staff at Chubb Properties very helpful with our booking and gave us information as to all of the sites to see that "locals" frequent. They may even give you a cup of hot tea, which tastes a lot better than the "southern ice tea" that my wife drinks. I would highy recommend the Herberton to anyone and I am sure that your stay will be great and you will recieve a friendly Irish welcome.
Tommy

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrincipalSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 151 in Dublin
4,371 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Apartments by theKeyCollection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crompton Hall
#71 of 112 in Dublin
6 reviews
Portland House
#46 of 149 in Dublin
125 reviews
South City Centre
Doheny House
Doheny House
#79 of 149 in Dublin
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herberton Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herberton Apartments

Property: Herberton Apartments
Address: St. Anthony's Road, Dublin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Hotel Class:3 star — Herberton Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and HostelWorld so you can book your Herberton Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing