We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartment!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Herberton Apartments
Ranked #76 of 120 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We had a great stay in Dublin at the Herberton.

Nice open spaces, comfortable beds. Had a bit of trouble with the boiler but they had it repaired the very next morning.

It is a bit far out of the city for walking. The Luas runs in front of the property and will bring you right into town.

Parking was very convenient. Didn't have a chance to enjoy the Leisure center.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwigirl839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
There are newer reviews for Herberton Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 43 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2011

There are two good things about this apartment complex: the door out and the Luas tram line across the street which brings you to the city centre in 5 minutes.

The apartment we rented was 3 bedroom, 6 single beds, it was spacious. There were 3 mugs - for accommodation that sleeps 6! It was kind of clean but not sparkling, and the bathrooms smelled like bleach mixed with urine (sorry but they did) so not really clean at all. The staff were friendly but there is no reception desk. The neighborhood is a bit rough, I certainly didn't want to look like a tourist and I didn't come home later than 8 pm (it was still daylight). I didn't bring my daughter out to play anywhere, we just got out the neighbourhood every day.

I don't know if I could recommend this place for anyone, it's just not quite right, a bit scary to be honest.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GMNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We were on vacation from the states and rented 2 apartments. Ours was on the 3rd story. While sightseeing in the city, I got a call from my sister-in-law that our apartment was burglarized. The thieves shimmied up a pipe in broad daylight that was on the main street! The police came and were very helpful, but they recommended we find alternate lodging (which they drove us around to find). They said the patio doors could just be yanked open from the outside. The management did not give us a credit for the unused days, so we had to dispute it with the credit card company. When we first read the other reviews, we noticed some good and some bad, but decided that will always be the case. Take my word, this is an unsafe area, and I would never stay there again, if we ever get back to Dublin.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank platteville82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

I visited these apartments with trepidation after reading the reviews, my fears were unfounded. We loved the apartment ! It was spacious and comfortable, liked the balcony which was accessible from all the rooms. It was clean and was well equipped. OK the area was not the greates,t as we kept getting informed by everyone, there are no restaurants or bars nearby but with the LUAS tram station just outside it was easy to reach the city centre. There is someone on reception 24hrs, special mention to Richie who helped us check in. Only problem was finding the apartment, not easy!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edwina50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2011

Pre-arrival we were very concerned having read other reviews here, but need not have been. The apartment we were allocated was enormous - 3 twin rooms, 2 full bathrooms, a very large open plan living space with 3 sofas, dining table and PC workstations, fully-equipped kitchen with everything you could possibly need and no less than 3 balconies. More than enough space for the 6 of us. There were also 2 large empty storage rooms, which was a bit odd I guess. Everything was clean, fresh and very contemporary, although sparsley furnished and the bed linen and towels were of a low quality. The staff were young and not overly-professional, but were friendly and knowledgable and responded very efficiently when we requested additional cutlery, crockery, saucepans and glassware. As other reviews have pointed out, this complex operates as student housing for the local universities, and only offers rooms when students are not in town. As such, guests should lower their expectations and not expect full "tourist" or normal hotel facilities and services. The complex does have its own leisure centre with pool and gym, but we did not avail of this. As for the area outside the complex, yes it is certainly a very low-income neighbourhood and not very pretty, but I would certainly not have said it was dangerous and we felt quite safe, even when returning in the early hours of the moring. The LUAS tram system stops literally across the street with a fast and frequent service to the north-central parts of the city, but is not very convenient for the south part of the city, which is where tourists spend most of their time. Taxis are easily available. I would recommend this complex for young groups rather than for families or older travellers, who may be hoping for a more refined service and more luxurious facilities. Would certainly return. Some great value rates available.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alaxandar1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

4 of us stayed here for a weekend away in July 2010...

Good points:
Spacious, modern, well equipped. Kitchen was good.
Proximity to the LUAS tram system - 30 seconds away - arrives every 5 mins or so, couple of euros you're in the centre.
Customer service - Apartments have 24hr reception and were welcoming when we arrived.
Shame we booked 2 twin rooms yet arrived to find doubles - this is a good point because 2 hours later we came back to find they had changed both the beds for 4 singles.
Price - compared to the other places its relatively cheap
Free wifi

Bad points:
The area is awful, taxi driver said the area used to be some slum that got knocked down. - explains all the ne'er-do-wells hanging around in the evenings.
Taxi back home was necessary due to this location.

If i was being picky:
Wasnt the cleanest apartment. Floors were very dusty.
Barely enough cutlery/utensils for an apartment for 4 people.
Tiny old TV about 10 years old, proper flatscreen is standard these days even if theres nothing on!
There are shops 5 mins walk away - shame you have to walk through the bronx to get there. Mornings are fine though.

Overall yes i would come back but only if there wasn't anywhere else available as the dodgy area is something one shouldnt have to worry about when away on a break.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauly74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

The good:

1. What staff were about seemed friendly.
2, Secure free car park.
3. Free Wifi.
4. Enough space.

The bad:

1. Apparently a 24 hour reception, which is not the case.
2. The cleaning was poor, floors not swept or mopped meant black feet or socks if walking around without shoes. The toilet had not be cleaned properly, and under the seat was worse than a public toilet.
3. No shower curtain, but that wasn't too much of an issue since the shower was worse than useless. The pressure was non existant which caused the water from the shower to cling to the shower hose and drip off at the base, not one just of water at all. Apparently, they would sort this out for me, but nothing happened.
4. As there was no shower, I had to take baths, which, with the thick layer of dirt and scum around the surface didn't make for a nice experience.
5. On turning up at the apartment, the place wasn't ready for me as they "didn't think I would arrive yet". Kitchen utensils didn't arrive for over 24 hours.
6. Don't be fooled by the website, these aren't dedicated holiday apartments, they are student accomodation, where when an apartment becomes vacant, they let it out.
7. One night local children decided to throw stones at all apartment windows which continued on and off until about midnight.

If you have any choice, do not stay here. I checked out early in the end.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rmj0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham
Herbert Park Hotel
#16 of 150 in Dublin
2,189 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#69 of 150 in Dublin
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ashling Hotel
#13 of 150 in Dublin
4,572 reviews
Doheny House
#80 of 149 in Dublin
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herberton Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herberton Apartments

Address: St. Anthony's Road, Dublin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 120 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Hotel Class:3 star — Herberton Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HostelWorld so you can book your Herberton Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing