We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Special :-)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of IL VICOLETTO

IL VICOLETTO
Ranked #32 of 2,396 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Temple Bar
Description: Please Note that we're open 7 days a week despite any hours published on this forum .We strongly recommend you to visit our website ,as on our website any information is correct.For reservations please contact directly the restaurant or else you may email us directly on our email address .Please be aware that we don''t take responsibility for third parties reservations ( i.E online websites featuring restaurants including this forum also) as none of them are employed by us. In order to avoid any confusion or disappointment please contact the restaurant directly with accurate and detailed contact informations. Regards , the management
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Special :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was my 1st time here and without a doubt i intend to return. Enjoyed a fantastic meal on a weekend break in this very homely well placed restaurant in the heart of the city, Staff were as everyone else has found very friendly and attentive. The menu was pretty wide ranging to cover most peoples tastes and the food was outstanding. I would normally try and point out something that was not so good about restaurants that i visit, however i have nothing but praise for this wee gem :-)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trovatofoodproject, Owner at IL VICOLETTO, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Hi Mr David , we're happy to hear that your experience in our restaurant it was a special one. We'd like to assure you , that such compliment is only motivating the whole team of Vicoletto ,we do want to make people happy and contribute to their experience when in Ireland/Dublin and make it memorable. Is exactly what we like to receive when we travel abroad ourselves , so as you know by now we enjoy our work and we consider that focus on customer service and detail is the new form of luxury , and all that as being a homely restaurant (we really liked that remark) and not as a luxurious sophisticated venue.So looking forward to have you with us again soon, very best regards Vicoletto team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    760
    229
    61
    14
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Fantastic! Authentic Italian!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We have enjoyed many meals here...wonderful, personal service where the staff really does care that you enjoy the food. Good wine selection. Vegetarian options are willingly prepared! A total boutique find!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank maruska c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I are from the States and we were visiting Dublin on holiday. We enjoyed the spicy prawn appetizer, spaghetti with yummy sausage/tomato sauce, cheese ravioli, and amazing chocolate lava cake with gelato. The only annoying thing (no fault of the restaurant) was that we were seated next to a girl (I believe she was a local - the staff seemed to know her) and she had the most obnoxious laugh I've ever heard - I'm a 30-year-old teacher so I'm used to loud noise, bars and clubs, but this was ear-piercing and spontaneously erupting - it definitely took away from the ambiance of this adorable, romantic Italian restaurant - I couldn't even hear my husband! I'm glad she was having the time of her life (I can't imagine what her date was saying that was so hilarious) but I was very glad when she left after our appetizer so that we could enjoy our meal!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Comfortable, atmospheric, delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I've been here multiple times over the past year or two and kept intending to post a favourable review, only getting around to it now.

Great spot for special occasions and very cosy and romantic. The waiting staff and friendly and funny, but not intrusive. Usually booked out on busy evenings so it's definitely worth booking ahead to avoid being disappointed.

Fresh ingredients, knowledgeable staff regarding wine choices (I'll admit to being a little ignorant here) and the daily specials (or those I've tried) have all been winners.

Very well-priced too given the location and calibre of the food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jmnire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Steak to die for!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Visited this restaurant recently and was impressed. Fine Italian restaurants are hard to find but this is the real deal. Service was the right balance of helpfulness without being intrusive. Good selection of wines although a bit pricey. Food was excellent value for money with the 10oz ribeye steak being the best I've ever had, really beautifully cooked. I will revisit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thor8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IL VICOLETTO also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to IL VICOLETTO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing