We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Italian I've ever had in Dublin”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of IL VICOLETTO

IL VICOLETTO
Ranked #47 of 2,543 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Temple Bar
Description: Please Note that we're open 7 days a week despite any hours published on this forum .We strongly recommend you to visit our website ,as on our website any information is correct.For reservations please contact directly the restaurant or else you may email us directly on our email address .Please be aware that we don''t take responsibility for third parties reservations ( i.E online websites featuring restaurants including this forum also) as none of them are employed by us. In order to avoid any confusion or disappointment please contact the restaurant directly with accurate and detailed contact informations. Regards , the management
Dublin
Level Contributor
83 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best Italian I've ever had in Dublin”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Went with 5 colleagues last Thursday evening for an early bird to celebrate one achieving her doctorate. It literally couldn't have been better - from the prosecco on arrival to the grappa at the end. We were told the specials which included scallops (perfectly cooked!) on black pudding with caviar or spicy prawns with garlic bread (also sumptuous- we shared!). The mains involved homemade ravioli one with cream cheese and spinage and another with potato and chorizo. The portion size was perfect, flavour sublime- totally authentic - not trying too hard. I highly recommend it and it was excellent value and the wine tasty and again wide selection. The only thing I would say is that we were summarily dismissed to make way for the next sitting but at those prices they deserve the table back after 3 hours! Service classic Italian- I was in Rome at Easter and the food here was better!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Issy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    862
    250
    69
    20
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious food and cosy setting”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We loved this cute, cosy restaurant which had a very authentic feel to it. Italian waiters were very attentive and helpful and added to the overall experience. The pasta dishes which we ordered were fantastically tasty. I would definitely recommend this place as good value and a great choice for couples.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank lorenzo182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ont.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience every time”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We have frequented this restuarant many times over the past number of months and have never once been disappointed. Quite the opposite. This is a very quaint, cozy spot. Reservations are definitely required. Each experience has been wonderful. The food is rich in flavours and always top notch. Please try the calamari, it's the best I've ever had. The service is second to none. They always take time to review the menu items and the wine.. oh, the wine. They truly know their wines, from the origin of the grapes, the specialty of each of the vineyards and how best to serve it. They do their very best to ensure that each glass of wine tastes exactly as it was intended.

All the waiters and waitresses are great, but Roberto has taken special care of us. We all appreciate his attention to detail and making sure our experience is the best it can be.

Highly, highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Todwad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Cozy excellent service and food”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

You should make a reservation before and bring the confirm-mail when you visite the restaurant. It's very small only about 8 tables or so. The service was excellent and the staff were very nice and friendly. Our waitress recommended a great red wine to the seafood we had. They served a wonderful dish as a starter -quite hot prawns... They were soo delicious and spicy and fresh - great taste. The put a special "thing" at the top of the winebottle that made the wine mix with air while pouring the glass.. Mmm excellent.
You won't regret going to this place - Next time I'll have their Risotto...
(The price of the wine makes my review £££ - the food is ££ - £££)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nilla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ristorante al Vicoletto - a jewel in Italian gastronomy”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I am a great evaluator of and authority on Italian cuisine so I was surprised and at the same time happy to discover that in Ireland, here in Dublin, it is possible to taste real Italian cooking.

The food I had at Vicoletto restaurant is hard enough to find even in Italy other than in the renowned temples of high cuisine.

it's not a big restaurant, tastefully decorated but not overdone, a true bijou.

The warm and relaxing atmosphere makes it very welcoming, puts you into a good humour and glad to be there.

The smiling staff is careful, kind and professional and makes you feel you are in the right place.

The charismatic figure of the owner Christian, the true performer behind this restaurant, advised us the best wines to have with each course.

His great passion for wines has led to a deep knowledge which goes beyond that of a skilled sommelier. He constantly researches unique producers of fine wines and to find them often has to travel the length and breadth of Italy.

I tasted a selection of wonderfully exquisite cured meats in an attractively presented plate. The salamis, chosen from amongst the best and most refined, were a celebration of flavour to the palate.

A great moment was when we tasted the pasta dishes. Handmade pasta that was not the same as you often find on menus called 'homemade pasta' . This pasta is made by expert hands respecting the traditions of the various typical Italian dishes which represent the Italian cuisine's richness and originality. This brought back memories to me of my childhood long ago.

The Chef's perfect interpretation and harmony in the various food combinations gives you dishes that are well presented and looked after, making you realise that nothing was left to chance but is the result of a long and careful research for top quality products, many of which come directly from Italy.

An evening I can still remember well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roberto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IL VICOLETTO also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to IL VICOLETTO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing