We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you can't make a salad it's time to close up shop!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frankies Steakhouse and Bar - CLOSED

Frankies Steakhouse and Bar
Price range: $16 - $38
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Description: Frankie’s Steakhouse & Bar offers exceptional food at affordable prices and a fantastic party atmosphere. The menu has been meticulously chosen by Marco himself and offers the finest steak in Templebar. With trendy cocktails, lively music and the ability to cater for parties of up to 200 people, Frankie’s is the perfect party venue for any occasion.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“If you can't make a salad it's time to close up shop!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Wandered around Dublin yesterday looking for a place to eat as all the usual haunt's were booked for the christmas rush. Decided to try a spot in Temple Bar that is in the square as it was very handy. Ordered the crab cakes and the Ceasar salad with blackened prawns and avacado. (sounds brilliant doesn't it?) The crab cake were average but the salad was a total disaster. The prawns were bordering on uncooked and the salad was cut into pieces, like a hamburger topping, To say it was overdressed was an understament, it was clotted with dressing that was laced with anchovies. Overall it was the worst salad I have ever had. I would not recommed this place to anyone based on the food and the price. I would have to say it was the worst restaurant I have every had the unfortunate experience to dine in.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank don j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    30
    22
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
galway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Great buz but food poor :( ordered NY BLT butger. Burger tough and cold, my partner had steak, dinner cold. wont be back

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GalwayKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Rude waiter”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Food was fine, nothing amazing but no problem. Most of the staff seemed to be nice but our waiter was incredibly rude. I asked for a pepper sauce rather than a tarragon sauce for my dish and he actually threw his eyes to heaven! Won't be back because of him and will tell others to avoid

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank emcdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Popped in during weekend away with my hubbie, lucky to get a table was extremely busy. The chicken wings for starter was finger licking good and the creme brûlée was the highlight of my night. The staff were fantastic and very helpful. Will be back

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Poisontiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dinner in Frankies”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

My work collegues and I went to the restaurant last Friday night . It was fairly busy but not full to capacity. We all had the set dinner menu which was offering good vvalue and lots to choose from. I had chicken wings to start with garlic dip which were fine but nothing sensational. I followed it with rib eye steak which was disappointig , very tough and presentation poor amount of fries on the plate was miserable and sauce came seperately which was creamy . I then went to desert a cheesecake with passionfruit topping and it was devine. I would say that a lot of work needs to be done on both sevice , presentation and customer service from staff as we felt we were an imposition rather than a paying guest who might return some say.This will not be the case as there are pleanty of better restaurnts and service to choose from overall disappointing night.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank birthdaygirl61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frankies Steakhouse and Bar also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing