We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“March Dublin trip”
Review of Parkway Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Parkway Guesthouse
Ranked #18 of 149 Dublin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“March Dublin trip”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

From the first time we went we felt very welcome. We were met by the owner Seamus who was very accommodating and friendly. The rooms were very spacious and was spotlessly clean both room and bathroom. The location was great and is very central. It was very affordable and well worth the price.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkwaydublin, Manager at Parkway Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thanks a lot for your kind review.
Its was a pleasure to have you stay at Parkway and im happy you enjoyed your stay.
Kind regards,
Seamus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    101
    40
    8
    4
See reviews for
54
125
49
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick
1 review
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Excellent B&B. Great city centre location, in walking distance of everything! Big plus. Highly recommended.
The breakfast was great!. The room was clean and comfy and comes with wireless Internet access.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We were expecting a B&B experience, and this was more a mix of hostel and hotel. Everything was clean and neat, though older in nature. Convenient to O'Connel Street where we caught the Hop-on/Hop-off tour bus. We were able to walk to dinner very easily.
The room is narrow and long with the bathroom being about 20 inches by 7 feet or so. No soap/shampoo provided. Tea and instant coffee available in the room with an electric kettle to boil water.
The host had gone out of his way to provide Gluten Free Muesli for me for breakfast and I greatly appreciated that along with a fantastic breakfast.
It was the most expensive place we stayed and had the least ammenties.
Easy to get to from the airport and when we arrived during their breakfast service, they allowed us to put our bags in lounge for safety.
We stayed 2 nights, but did not return for our last night before leaving Ireland

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delane r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkwaydublin, Manager at Parkway Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thanks for your review and sorry the room was not up to American standards.You said that it was old but the room you stayed in was just renovated last year and 5,000 euro spent upgrading it.
also @ 45 euro per person in the centre of dublin when the tall ships festival was on and every other accomodation in dublin was double the price , parkway was not expensive.
Yes the room is long and narrow but with flat screen tv ,and small but very modern bathroom.
Thanks again.
Seamus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is a friendly, well-run establishment with a decent location and a generous hot breakfast. But my room, while nicely designed, was barely the size of a dorm room, with a width of about 10 feet. Hence, no room to move around and no place to work with an open suitcase. But the bathroom is the worst part. The sink is microscopic. There are separate hot and cold faucets. There are no toiletries except for a small soap bar. Inconveniently, a shelf is placed a foot above the sink, making things like washing your face and shaving very complicated. The $90 price tag is pretty steep for this kind of room. On the plus side, there was good WiFi signal in the room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArtsTravelerer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Parkway was a very good place to stay in Dublin. It was clean, comfortable, had wifi, private bathroom on request and close to city center. The hosts were nice and helpful and we had a good traditional Irish breakfast every morning.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XXXVIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramtein Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

This B&B is a great find! It is in a good location and the staff is extremely friendly! We very much enjoyed our stay at the Parkway Guesthouse. Just FYI, there are no in-room toiletries provided, and did not have hair dryers. Regardless, it is an excellent value and I certainly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I forgot to reserve room in Dublin and Parkway Guesthouse was the only available option with car parking not too far from O'Connel street. The price was pretty low and I did not expect much.
The room is basic but very clean. Shower is OK, no shower gel and shampoo, but you cannot get all in that price. The breakfast is good. The staff is excellent.
One tip - the rooms are upstairs and if you need elevator, the place is not for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dweisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Croke Park
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4,546 reviews
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 151 in Dublin
4,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#39 of 151 in Dublin
1,920 reviews
Egans House
#23 of 149 in Dublin
449 reviews
North City Centre
Anchor House Dublin
Anchor House Dublin
#26 of 149 in Dublin
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkway Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkway Guesthouse

Property: Parkway Guesthouse
Address: 5 Gardiner Place, Dublin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Parkway Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Parkway Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing