We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem”
Review of Botanic Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Botanic Villa
Ranked #19 of 151 Dublin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This B &B was an absolute gem. Affordable, clean, comfortable and an excellent breakfast served by a a warm friendly landlady.
My father and I stayed here when a day trip from Belfast to Dublin turned out to be a weekend stay as my mother suffered an accident shortly after arriving and had to be hospitalised.
Our stay at this B & B made a very stressful time a lot easier. We were provided with everything from toiletries to an umbrella (yes, we didnt even have any luck with the weather!) and a lift to the hospital thrown in.
I would most definitely recommend staying here.
A big thank you to Sandra, from Linda and Frank

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaS1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 348 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2012

B&B Botanic villa is, without any hesitation, a nice, small, friendly B&B. Good public transport to the city centre for less than 2€ per fare. We had a room at the front side, a little bit noisy. The Irish breakfast is very traditional and served by the very friendly Sarah. The room and bathroom however were outdated, shower was working, but not very convincing.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We've just come back from our city trip in Dublin. We stayed a few nights in the Botanic Villa. The owners were very welcoming and gave us good advice on the places where we should go (like the Kilmainham Gaol). The breakfast was great. Our room was what you expect from a B&B, small and cozy, except our ensuite shower didn't work that well, the spurt of the water was very weak. They said different professionals had taken a look at it but they couldn't fix it obviously. We decided to stay one more night (because our flight back departed in the early morning) and we got some reduction because we didn't need the breakfast for that extra night. The villa is a half an hour walk from the main street (O'Connell Street), but there are loads of buses which can take you there as well. When you have to go to the villa make sure you hop on bus 4, 9 or 83.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlorentineCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Botanic Villa B&B is a lovely, comfortable, and most pleasant place to stay while visiting Dublin and surrounding areas. Sandra and Ken were most hospitable and a wealth of information. I would love to return to Ireland and stay here again. I would most definitely recommend staying here. It was very convenient and most reasonably priced. Sandra's full Irish breakfast was beyond compare! Thank you Sandra. Your B&B was a great first experience in Ireland.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Botanic Villa has an excellent location! Dublin city centre, Botanic Gardens, pubs(check out Hedigan's the Brian Boru) and Irish sights are within walking distance. Need a ride? There are city buses not minutes away. Botanic Villa is the perfect place to be...comfortable, clean, restful and quiet rooms, we were ready for the tasty full Irish breakfast (asked for oatmeal and got that too!!) and good coffee. That's the place! Have we told you how special Sandra and Ken are? Kind, thoughtful, helpful, caring and informative, they guided our very first Irish experience with insights, directions and maps...Sandra is wonderful and Ken is the all-time 'aide de camp'! We were on vacation travelling in and around Ireland. But, when we left Sandra's Botanic Villa, we felt like we were leaving home. Getting a room at the Botanic Villa, yes, you get the full Irish breakfast...you also get the full splendid Irish hospitality! Many thanks to Sandra who went the extra distance in helping us and to Ken whose knowledge of the local landscape got us to where we had to go and back! Grazie mille! Merci beaucoup! your Montreal, Canada guests...jim & Cathy

Room Tip: in Dublin, choose Botanic Villa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights in June. Sandra and Ken was so welcoming and although we were too early to check in, we were offered cups of tea and a place to leave our bags safely until later in the day. The full Irish breakfast had by my boyfriend was lovely, and a vegetarian breakfast was provided for myself. We were offered cereals, toast, yoghurt, tea, coffee, juice, as well as the hot breakfast. Nothing was too much for Sandra and Ken.. The room was great, and was just what we needed. The only problem we had was the shower was cold, but this was sorted as soon as we reported it to Ken. We were attending a concert at Croke Park, and Botanic Villa was within 15 mins walking distance to the stadium. The fact we returned to the B&B late in the night was not a problem.There are regular buses to the City Centre, but we chose to walk the 30-35 mins instead. The B&B is in close proximity to Glasnevin Cemetry and The National Botanic Gardens which are both worth a look. I would definately stay here again, especially if I was attending an event at Croke Park. Many thanks to Sandra and Ken for being so welcoming and making our trip to Dublin so enjoyable :-) x

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed three days at Botanic Villa and haven't a single complaint about this B&B. The location was perfect; pubs,restaurants, as well as Glasnevin Cemetery were all within walking distance. Check out the Gravedigger's pub (John Kavanagh) for something truly interesting. Very easy to get to downtown Dublin via bus. Sandra and Ken couldn't have been more welcoming and both of them cooked a delicious Irish Breakfast. The rooms and bathrooms are smallish but my husband is 6' 4" and didn't have a problem. Can't recommend this B&B enough.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charburk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.5 mi away
Tipperary House
Tipperary House
#9 of 151 in Dublin
306 reviews
1.8 mi away
Almanii Bed & Breakfast
Almanii Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 151 in Dublin
338 reviews
0 mi away
Botanic View B & B
Botanic View B & B
#1 of 151 in Dublin
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Egans House
Egans House
#26 of 151 in Dublin
463 reviews
1.3 mi away
Annandale Bed & Breakfast
Annandale Bed & Breakfast
#10 of 151 in Dublin
274 reviews
3.4 mi away
Donnybrook Hall Hotel
Donnybrook Hall Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botanic Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botanic Villa

Address: Botanic Villa 13 Botanic Road | Glasnevin, Dublin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range: $110 - $744 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Botanic Villa, a value priced B&B, is situated less than 15 minutes by bus or car from Dublin city centre. The airport is 20 minutes away by car. We have a choice of double rooms, twin rooms, family and single rooms all with en suite facilities. All our Guest Rooms are equipped with cable television. Tea and coffee making facilities are available to all guests. Secure parking facilities available. Breakfast consists of full Irish breakfast, and for those who wish, a vegetarian and continental is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Botanic Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing