We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty food and very good service”
Review of Saagar - Dublin - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Saagar - Dublin
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
186 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Tasty food and very good service”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We went to Saagar restaurant for a Sunday evening meal and we really enjoyed it, Food and drink selection was extensive, service was very good and both dishes (lamb bhuna and chicken jaipur) very tasty and to the highest standard.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sead J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    25
    10
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Århus
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“some of the best Indian food I have had”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Food absolutely top class, but service very odd - either to fast and too intrusive (wanting to take orders before I had time to read menu) or non-existant. But worth it for the the food quality!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Helle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana, USA
Level Contributor
122 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very nice place to eat.”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Great selection, good food. Nice and quiet a real change from the tourist pub places.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank MTRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
125 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good Food but Short on Staff”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Went here on a Saturday evening. Place was pretty full. Service took forever. Enjoyed the food but had to wait about 30 minutes between starter and main course. if they could sort our the staffing this would be a good spot.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stanDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Huge Disappointment”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

I had heard this place was meant to be a good option for mid priced Indian Food in town (and has loads of awards on the door testifying to this) but we were hugely disappointed by this restaurant and the overall experience. Food was okay IF A BIT BLAND but the service was terrible and the overall feel of the place felt dated, over-lit and grotty.

The service was the thing that put us off the most. The waiter seemed never to have seen the menu before, we were served the wrong food twice and we were already on our main course and had to ask the waiter for the third time for our wine and some water. You could forgive their general incompetence if it was tempered by an ounce of friendliness. However, this was not the case.

Indian Ocean around the corner is a much better option.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saagar - Dublin also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing