We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent start to an Irish tour”

An Evening of Food, Folklore and Fairies
Ranked #1 of 72 Concerts & Shows in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience an enchanting evening of Irish folklore,storytelling and music while enjoying a candlelit traditional Irish dinner in Dublin's oldest Pub, The Brazen Head. Sit back , relax and let our renowned storytellers take you into a world of the imagination with wonderful insights and magical tales of Irish life in times past.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Stafford, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“An excellent start to an Irish tour”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This was an excellent way to introduce my children to Ireland. Our storyteller, Helena, was very entertaining and has an exceptional singing voice!
The food, drinks, atmosphere and entertainment were all first-rate.
I would highly recommend this to any family.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,081 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,490
    463
    84
    24
    20
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Irish Stories”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Johnny did a wonderful job keeping our attention with fascinating details about the "common folk" point of view over the centuries in Ireland. The musicians were good. I can't really agree with some of the reviews on the food though. The fish cakes tasted like they were bought in the frozen food section and microwaved, and the beef stew was OK; service was spotty, especially in refilling our pitcher of water (surely you weren't expecting me to buy my 4 children Guinness?). For roughly $50+ a head, you are paying mostly for the story-telling, not the cuisine, but if that is in your budget, it is a fascinating night out with an adequate meal.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BradleyFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodfolkandfairies, Owner at An Evening of Food, Folklore and Fairies, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
I am delighted you enjoyed the evening. With regard to the meal I just wanted to point out the fishcakes are made freshly every day as is all the food that is prepared for the dinner .The Beef and Guinness stew is generally our most popular dish so I am sorry you did not enjoy that. Thank you for your comments and I am delighted that you enjoyed the stories and folklore so much .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
“Anne & Malcolm - Falkirk”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

A fabulous evening of folklore and fairytales in the oldest pub in Dublin - The Brazen Head
Johnny the narrator did a fabulous job of captivating the audience with his passion for this subject presented between the courses of the meal which was also excellent.
A mystical night of transfixing stories and would highly recommend this evening.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank malcolm a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An Excellent Evening!!”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We booked this at the last minute due to reading the great write-ups on TripAdvisor and we weren't dissappointed. The atmosphere was great, the food was really nice and we couldn't have wished for better Storyteller, Irish band and hospitable staff!! A cracking idea to have this experience when you are on your travels! Other cities take note!! All in all, we had a great evening listening intently to Jonny Daly's great stories of Irish Folklore and his Fairytales really make you think!! Once you've had this experience you will also recommend it for sure!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank dave_smith77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The fairies did it!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

What a fantastic evening!

Set in the oldest pub in Dublin the location sets the tone of the evening. The charming room was fitting, and the greeting we received from the excellent host Johnny was warm. The staff were right hand on and the service was great.

Between the plates of delicious food, the superb story telling of Johnny had us transfixed, picturing Ireland all those years ago. A nice touch - we left our email address and Johnny forwarded us a selection of stories from the evening and a list of reference material.

We couldn't recommend this night more highly!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank r_a_holliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed An Evening of Food, Folklore and Fairies also viewed

 

Been to An Evening of Food, Folklore and Fairies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing