We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great cultural experience”

An Evening of Food, Folklore and Fairies
Ranked #1 of 71 Concerts & Shows in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience an enchanting evening of Irish folklore,storytelling and music while enjoying a candlelit traditional Irish dinner in Dublin's oldest Pub, The Brazen Head. Sit back , relax and let our renowned storytellers take you into a world of the imagination with wonderful insights and magical tales of Irish life in times past.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great cultural experience”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

If you're looking for a gourmet. lavish or posh evening out, this isn't the event you're looking for (move along). However, if you want a peek into what life might have been like for the "average" Irish person from about the 1800s to the early 1920s, this dinner and entertainment evening is a really good place to start. You don't have to go in knowing much about Irish culture to appreciate this evening, but if you already have a passion for it you'll be in for a treat. The food is good -- just remember it's meant to be more rustic than gourmet. And you couldn't find someone more passionate and enthusiastic about his work and his subject than Johnny Daly. Well worth a visit if you have the opportunity.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank smjones281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,541
    468
    88
    27
    20
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Goose Creek, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“third time”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This was our third time to the show. Can't say enough nice things about it. Great stories, great food, and great beer.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carole56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A GREAT EVENING”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This was definitely one of the most fun evenings we had in Ireland. The host for the evening is a great story teller and provides so much information on Ireland's history and culture in such an entertaining manner.
Dinner was also good and it was fun to share with other travelers our mutual experiences in Ireland.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
1 review
“Great night”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Lots of fun. The stories were so interesting, Johnny really captivated us. He is a great story-teller. And it was fun to learn more about Irish culture.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Serena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Touristy but authentic”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Initially this event was hard to find - we knew it existed and we wanted to go, but our B&B had a flier for the Brazen Head that didn't mention this event at all! We weren't sure who we were supposed to call, but eventually we made it, and we are really glad we did. It was a great introduction to Ireland, not just talking about fairies and make-believe but going into the heart (and history) of Irish culture, providing context to the folklore - but in a really engaging, interesting way - Philip was a great storyteller. The food is traditional Irish fare but the menu is quite limited - my partner (who is a picky eater) didn't find anything that suited his fancy, but everything we ended up having was quite delicious.

Ideal for big groups, most of the tables seat 8 or more. My partner and I were one of only three couples who came on our own.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ali R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed An Evening of Food, Folklore and Fairies also viewed

 

Been to An Evening of Food, Folklore and Fairies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing