We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostelling out of passion”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Times Hostels - Camden Place
Ranked #22 of 120 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We absolutely loved this hostel. Our room was rather tiny and the location pretty noisy, but it was evident that the people there did hostelling out of passion. They had a lot of events and specials, free WiFi and landline phone calls, city maps and other info material. Also everybody from the staff was very friendly and helpful.
One of the best things was the kitchen: All stainless steel, clean, spacious, well-equipped – wonderful!
Location is good, too: It's within walking distance of a lot of Dublin's top pubs, for anything beyond that, there's a bus stop close to it.
We would surely recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aosterholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
latestviking, General Manager at Times Hostels - Camden Place, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Thanks for your feedback. We're happy you enjoyed your time in Dublin and your stay with us. We like to offer loads of free stuff for you and we're glad you enjoyed our big kitchen for your cooking. Look forward to having you here with us next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
There are newer reviews for Times Hostels - Camden Place
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 363 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2011

We arrived much earlier than our check in time to The Times Hostel and our experience from walking through the door to leaving for our trip back home was brilliant. The staff were extremely friendly, went out of their way to re-arrange things for us and other guests and always helped us with any queries we had.

The main receptionist Emma was a delight and felt as though she went out of her way to make things happen that just wouldn't have happened in another Hostel or even Hotel's. We stayed here because it was the Dublin Marathon and we wanted a vibrant place to stay close to the City. On the morning of the marathon breakfast was served an hour earlier for us and when they have 'Crepe and Ice Cream night' they served them an hour earlier as we were going out. It was fantastic and they were very easy to speak to.

The rooms were a lot better than we were hoping for and we stopped in a Double En-suite room which was spacious and clean. The bed was comfortable and it wasn't noisy at all meaning we had a great nights sleep. Any small glitches were resolved by the staff without any hesitation which was brilliant.

In the lounge were DVDs, board games and plenty of comfortable seating. The kitchen was huge with plenty of amenities for cooking and little extras such as unlimited tea, coffee, milk and hot chocolate definitely made the trip here worthwhile. As it was the marathon weekend there was a huge group of 40+ French runners which made the atmosphere brilliant and everyone had a great time in the hostel.

On our departure day we were able to leave our suitcase at the Hostel meaning we could spend a whole day in the city without having to take our luggage everywhere which was brilliant. Overall this was the best hostel I've ever stayed in and would definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: The rooms in the newer build to the hostel were great. The beds were extremely comfortable and it wa...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRHallam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
latestviking, General Manager at Times Hostels - Camden Place, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Thanks for your feedback. We're happy you enjoyed your stay with us during the Marathon weekend, a vibrant hostel full of french runners. We like to go out of our way to make sure everyone is having a great time and happy you enjoyed your double room and free things. Look forward to seeing you next time.
Emma says hi!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

I couldn't have asked for a better experience! The staff here is PHENOMENAL. They are so happy and cheerful, even at 3am, and go out of their way to help guests any way possible. The rooms and bathrooms are very clean. They have an event of some kind every night; from wine and cheese in the hostel to a dublin pub crawl. I liked this place so much I came back a few days later. Only downside, which doesnt effect my rating, is that the breakfast consists of toast and cereal... which is better than nothing. But they do have a full kitchen and a market a couple minutes away if you wanna cook something up. Its very close to a bunch of fun pubs... but just grab a pair of the ear plugs they have at reception as the very close location to fun = a lil loud at night.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room not directly on Camden is you want something a lil quieter and the rooms to th...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Divingdiva13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

We booked a trip to Dublin and went with this Hostel as it had rooms available. I got the experience of staying as a couple and in a bedroom of 4.The experience I had in the twin and the 4 bedroom were very contrasting so Im goint to comment on both. First off, the staffs hospitality is great. You feel very welcome and they are very helpful and take initiative to help you with activities such as pub crawls and sightseeing. They are hands on the pub crawls and have one of the best in town. If youre late for your plane they try everything to help you e.g. a shuttle service to the airport is provided. Always good for conversation.

The lounge area seemed a bit under furnitured. There was a table and chairs that you could sit on, but that was not very cosy. My tip: Add some nice sofa corners in the bug lounge area so it feels comfy and people connect easy to each other. What about some music in the background or a hi fi that one can have access to.

The Rooms:


4 bedrooms:

The second night two of our friends came so we booked a 4 bedroom in the other wing.
That was great! Big room, a nice bathroom, it was quiet and we had our own shower. It was the total opposite of the twin room so be aware of that. It only costs 30€ for 2 nights wich was amazing compared to the twin room for 29for one night.

The Twin Room was hardly okay. I paid about 29 Euros for one night. You get hotels for that price. No offence but I think its very similar to cells in a average prison. Very tiny. No Bathroom, no cupboard, just space for you to turn around. You have two tiny shared bathrooms. One shower was out of order. No window to open if someone was in the toilet before you. The floor was constantly wet because people go in and shower. Tiny Hallway. My suitcase was kind of too big for the room so that I couldnt open the door anymore. I had to push it under the bed.The beds were above each other which made it even more prison like. It was not so good and I felt like prisoner bedrooms were more cosy. Im so happy that we changed the room.

Breakfast is okay. You help yourselves. Not of high quality but okay. Some bananas in the kitchen, which was good.

Tip: avoid staying as a single or as a twin above the reception!

Location:

The location was excellent.The Hostel is set right next to a busy nightlife pub and club street. A 15 minute walk to temple bar district.


All in all very good but avoid staying above the reception thats a prison.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms above the reception
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mightyrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We booked a series of nights for a trip to Dublin, as a couple on a budget who could not afford to pay hotel prices. We had a private double ensuite room, which was of a very high standard - in a new wing, and newly completed. Positives: the bed was comfy, the shower was great, we could save by making our own meals in the kitchen, the location is brilliant - ten minutes walk to Grafton Street, supermarkets and pubs within minutes. Negatives: street noise was pretty bad, the helfpfulness of the staff were hit-and-miss, and the building work was continuing and started at 8am (although I expect that would finish son). Having stayed in hostels before we were pretty happy with the arrangement, but I would be careful if you are used to staying in hotels and are expecting the same standard of service outside of the room.

Room Tip: Try for a room in the new wing, and at the back of the building (i.e. not on the alley)
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clairekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

I have travelled and hosteled a lot and this is one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in, and definitely has the best atmosphere!! We were not in Dublin for a planned trip but to sort out an unexpected bureaucratic headache and I ended up there for two weeks. The staff were AWESOME-more than sympathetic and understanding, ready to help, adapt rooms/ reservations (as I had no idea what my plans were), help problem solve and provide an ever-ready listening ear.

The staff are relaxed, friendly, involved in hostel-life and up for a good conversation. This is contagious to the guests. All kinds of people stay here - all ages – lots of backpackers and pub-crawlers, families, students there for courses/ work placements. The common area and large kitchen are clean, well stocked with utensils, and a great meeting spot. There is nearly always an interesting conversation going on. There's lots of free stuff- a free 'something' everyday: free drinks, free dinner, free pancake breakfasts at the weekend, free crepes and ice cream night (quick!- they're gone fast), pub crawls and free group trips out of the city to Howth- very scenic walk (you have to pay for your train ticket but that's it). The activities get people chatting and mingling with each other. Free luggage storage. Really fun, friendly atmosphere in a great hostel!!

MY HUSBAND'S THOUGHTS:
I stayed at Times Hostel with my wife during July and cannot say enough about how helpful and accomodating they were.
We were in a pinch with some typical government bureaucracy and all the staff and management were incredibly helpful to us while we sorted everything out.
They really helped make our stay as easy as possible and bent over backwards to do anything they could while we were there.
The hostel is also really friendly and a great place to stay - the rooms are really clean, well looked after and the kitchen and other facilities are first class.
I've stayed in hostels around the world and this is one of the best and certainly most helpful I've ever stayed in. GO THERE! :-)
10/10

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WelshMapleLeaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

never thought a hostel could be that clean,safe,warm, homely and CHEAP!. I had the fullest of fun, been my first time in Europe.
The staff are so amazingly kool and sweet!....and i noticed the staff are from around the world; Australia, Spain,Brazil, Denmark, Ireland......this makes the visiting tourists blend in so quickly and nicely!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelvin050811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrahotel, Guest Relations Manager at Times Hostels - Camden Place, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2011

Thank you for your kind review. It is lovely to get positive feedback. Hopefully we will see you back at Times Hostel - Camden Place again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Sky Backpackers
#9 of 120 in Dublin
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 120 in Dublin
2,128 reviews
Abbey Court
#8 of 120 in Dublin
1,061 reviews
South City Centre
Kinlay House
Kinlay House
#15 of 120 in Dublin
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Times Hostels - Camden Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Times Hostels - Camden Place

Address: 8 - 9 Camden Place, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 120 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range: $26 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Times Hostels - Camden Place 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Times Hostels Dublin are funky, friendly, clean and vibrant Dublin hostels located in the heart of the city. St. Stephen's Green and the Iveagh Gardens (one of Dublin's hidden gems) are just around the corner from Times Hostels - Camden Place. Our guests are certain to have the best of times during their stay in Dublin! Our staff is more than happy to help you out, answer all of your questions and guide you not to miss what Dublin has best to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Times Hostels - Camden Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Times Hostel - Camden Place Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing