We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant and delicious”

The Cliff Townhouse
Ranked #318 of 2,543 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $76 - $98
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, European, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
“Elegant and delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Loved the hotel and the restaurant. It's all about simple elegance. Treat yourself to a meal with some friends and enjoy the hospitality of the staff. Fabulous fish and chips, and lovely lemon tart!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulFinegan, Manager at The Cliff Townhouse, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear Kimberly E,

Thanks for the lovely review. We are lucky to have such a great room.We 'll keep working hard at the rest!

Kind regards,

Paul Finegan, Manager, The Cliff Townhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    155
    75
    40
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashbourne, Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“My Favourite place in Dublin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great food, wonderful welcome & service, great atmosphere. Always love coming back here. The project nights are a special experience. Always an enjoyable meal!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulFinegan, Manager at The Cliff Townhouse, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear Patricia K,

It's always a pleasure to welcome you back. Many thanks from all the staff, great to get such positive feedback.

Kind regards,

Paul Finegan, Manager, The Cliff Townhouse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

We returned to the Cliff Townhouse to try their Michelin star Tasting Menu. Each dish was creative both in terms of ingredients and presentation. Most important of all it tasted wonderful. Since our last visit there have been some management changes and the very positive impact is clearly evident from the welcome to the farewell. Thanks to Paul and his team for a great evening!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsKDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulFinegan, Manager at The Cliff Townhouse, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear MrandMrsKDublin,

Many thanks for the kind review. We were delighted to host Martijn's tasting menu and it was a great success. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Paul Finegan, Manager, The Cliff Townhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I ate here twice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

They've got a good Irish menu, in that the produce is distinctly Irish rather than tourist-trap Irish recipes (bacon & cabbage, pork belly etc). Sit at the counter and chat to the barman while swilling Guinness and oyster, or a fish chowder.

Feels cosmopolitan for a small, personal city. It could be in the swankiest parts of NYC, but isn't. AND it won't break the bank

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karem S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulFinegan, Manager at The Cliff Townhouse, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear Karem S,

NYC on St Stephen's Green - we'll take that! Glad that the value on the menu is apparent. Hope we to see you back again soon,

Best wishes,

Paul Finegan, Manager, The Cliff Townhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Go for the early bird special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

The trick in Dublin for getting a good deal at high end restaurants is to take advantage of the early bird deal, generally from 5.30 to 7pm. The Cliff's excellent fish dishes (we had a fine piece of hake and fish pie) were on that special menu as were the irresistible desserts, which had a strong emphasis on chocolate and ice-cream creations. Very good bread too and excellent service. The winelist, which of course does not benefit from the early bird deal, was long, intriguing but also somewhat expensive. We thought the best value red, was the excellent Martinborough pinot noir from New Zealand, but perhaps I display a national prejudice. I would like to have recommended the Guinness as an alternative to wine but I did notice a diner at an adjoining table send his Guinness back and then fail to finish a replacement. Perhaps he was just being difficult. La Mere Zhou, a restaurant pretty well downstairs from the Cliff, but separately entered, also has an excellent early bird special if you are less into fish than we are. In both restaurants, you may be well advised to book. The Cliff also has accommodation but this is expensive.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NZDAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulFinegan, Manager at The Cliff Townhouse, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear NZDAY,

Thank you for the positive feedback. We do feel our early bird is good value. good to read all the positives. Disappointed to read about the Guinness - we'll check it out. Hope to welcome you back again soon,

Kind regards,

Paul Finegan, Manager, The Cliff Townhouse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cliff Townhouse also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Cliff Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing