We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top-notch and quality tour”

Day Tours Unplugged
Ranked #15 of 95 Outdoor Activities in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Best Small group Day Tours from Dublin, 16 persons max. TA Certificate of Excellence 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014. Tour Wicklow & Glendalough. Discover Newgrange and Boyne valley a UNESCO World heritage site, older than the Pyramids. Guides are Failte Ireland Approved and badged, don't settle for less. Support sustainable tourism tour with like minded guests in small groups.
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Top-notch and quality tour”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

During my last trip to Dublin, I wanted to do a day out to the Boyne Valley to see Newgrange and some of the other sites in the area. From my initial research, Day Tours Unplugged stood out from its competition in a very clear way. In the same amount of time (roughly 8 hours), this tour went to only three sites as opposed to the six or more listed with others. As someone who has traveled extensively (about 80 UN countries now), I have learnt that quality of sites is more important than quantity, so I booked with them to see Monasterboice, Newgrange and the HIll of Tara day tour.

The experience itself lived up to the billing. Damian picked us up at the appointed location. There were only a few on the tour, so he arrived in a smaller van instead of a tour bus based on the size of the group. This made for a much more intimate experience where we could all talk more easily, and the vehicle was very comfortable with good views out the windows. Damian is a top-notch tour guide who is very credible and knowledgeable and passionate about the subject matter. What I really appreciated is that he talked about Ireland comprehensively including its strengths, hopes and struggles. I came away with a much more thorough understanding of Ireland and its complexities from interacting with Damian.

As mentioned, there was plenty of time at each stop to explore and learn. Damian did introductions but gave us free time as well, so it was the perfect balance of guiding. All the sites delivered in terms of being impressive. Seeing Monasterboice was special because it's more off the beaten path. Newgrange is really impressive as well as worthy of its UNESCO designation. I've seen other passage tombs in the Orkneys of Scotland and Newgrange really impresses. I want to go back and see some of the others nearby including Knoth on my next visit. The last stop at the Hill of Tara was really enjoyable. You get a tremendous sense of the geography there and why the location was chosen as the congregation point for ancient Irish kings. Between all the stops, Damian got off the motorways when possible to give us a better sense of place as well. That was very appreciated!

I have in the past used a few of the other Irish tour companies with their big coaches, large groups, time wasting and endless driving.. None of them compared to the quality experience that Damian provided with Day Tours Unplugged who seem to be in a class all their own for day tours from Dublin. Thanks for an amazing and memorable day out!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MondoTrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    68
    10
    4
    23
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tustin, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Once again”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Went on three of unplugged tours in 2011 and took a friend this year to the Glendalough tour. Had Martin again and once again it was fantastic! The tours are smaller and very personable. Highly recommend visiting Mick the last vendor on the right side at Glendalough. He too is wonderful. Just tell him Holly says hello.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank HollyBryantLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Malahide, Wicklow and Glendalough Tours-All day”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Tour guide Martin picked us up promptly at 0820 for a half-day Malahide Castle tour immediately followed by a half-day Wicklow and Glendalough tour. Martin's knowledge, good humor and professionalism were first rate. He left us in the good hands of a Malahide Castle docent to learn about that beautiful estate but guided us in the Wicklow Mtns and during our Glendalough tour of the monastery ruins. It was a perfect tour day with well timed comfort stops for restrooms and food combined with seeing beautiful country side just north (Malahide) and then south (Wicklow and Glendalough) of Dublin. Our group of four hiked about 1.5 miles from the Glendalough Visitor's Center to the two gorgeous lakes that encompass this spot. Spectacular!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank NoDaker52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Highly Professional, Exceptional Tour”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

With Day Tours Unplugged, I guarantee that you will have an exceptional tour! As independent travelers, my husband and I rarely take organized tours because as everyone knows, it can be such a hit-or-miss situation; low information/poor guide, bad itinerary, last-minute cancellation, inattentive & straggling tourists etc. However with Day Tours Unplugged, you will encounter none of these negatives....only an extremely positive and enjoyable tour experience.

We took the Wicklow full-day tour on 3, April and in spite of bad weather road closures that altered the itinerary, we had the most AMAZING time and an OUTSTANDING last day in Ireland. I cannot thank Damien enough for all of the thought and energy he put into making this a truly memorable experience. If you want a tour company that delivers what it promises and A LOT more, then definitely book with Day Tours Unplugged. Every aspect of this tour from the initial on-line booking to the conclusion of the trip was professional, well-organized and executed, informative, and fun! Damien's extensive background and knowledge provided us with one of the most intelligent, current, uniquely-tailored, and thoroughly interesting commentaries/conversations we've ever had on tour! In addition, the practical details of the day were so seamlessly handled that we were always comfortable, knew exactly when and what to expect, and were able to maximize our time at each stop.

The drive along the coast through the village of Malahide and the Malahide Castle & Gardens was beautiful and rewarding; even off-season with only a few "brave" flowers in the Gardens! The Wicklow Mountain scenery is stunning and the snow-capped mountains more than made up for the road closures. Glendalough (added to immensely by Damien's brilliant commentary) is one of the most interesting ancient monastic sites I've ever seen. Afterwards, it was great to have some time to set out on our own to walk along the lower lough and to quietly experience the serenity of this beautiful place.

Damien, thank you very much for such a splendid day! You gave us so many new ideas for what will be our next and 4th trip to Dublin - and - since we missed Enniskerry and Poppie's this time, I guess we'll just "have" to re-book another Wicklow Tour with Day Tours Unplugged in 2014!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank DHG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Half Day Wicklow and Glendalough tour”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Our tour guide was Martin. He is very knowledgeable, friendly and humorous. The half day is just what we needed given our short time in Dublin. The views are beautiful and relaxing. Shows you just a small piece of the country side.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tolliver7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Day Tours Unplugged also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Day Tours Unplugged? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing