We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They operate breakfast on Jamaican time”
Review of Sweeney's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sweeney's Hotel
Ranked #130 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed June 15, 2009

The hotel is central and the rooms are fresh enough. The breakfast was a disaster. The continental breakfast was included in the rate and it's £7 extra for full breakfast. Firstly it took them over 30 minutes to bring us our tea after ordering. The waiter said they were busy because even though they were only 2 parties in the restaurant! Two of use ordered the full beakfast and after a total of nearly and hour they brought us our full breakfasts. The eggs wer the burnt and teh sausages were raw. We obviously didnt eat and we didnt pay for it either. Eat there at you peril!!

Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank GALWAYEGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
There are newer reviews for Sweeney's Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 74 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2009

Le Cirk Hotel is ideally situated on Dame Street; it really is in the centre of Dublin. The reception staff were all friendly and helpful. The rooms consist of a double bed, comfee chair, coffee table, dressing table and chair, toilet and washbasin , with a walk in shower with a good head of water, under floor bathroom heating and heater in main room, also have tea/coffee making facilities and a hair drier. Our room over looked Dame Street, this was not a problem for us, however, due to the street noise it may not be to everyone’s liking. We were late in on both nights and so the noise from outside revellers and traffic didn't bother us. I could see it upsetting someone looking for a quiet night in. The bar down stairs has a great menu and is reasonably priced when compared to other Dublin eateries. Again the staff are really welcoming and attentive. They do a great breakfast for 7 euros which is a residents special price, again the local places do it for 7.95 etc, the one we went to on the first morning was not as good quality as the hotels, so again I would recommend hotel for breakfast, the continental is free, but after a night on the drink, a croissant doesn't cut it for me. At night the bar is open until 0230hrs and the noise does travel. The windows are not double glazed and as such are not suited to blocking out the noise from the very busy Dame Street, that said the atmosphere outside is great. The staff were great, and even the cleaning girl, was helpful, stocking us up on water and teabags/coffee and milk when we had used our lot up. At check out (1200) we were able to leave our bags in reception and pick them up later. One thing the hotel is small, however it has a lot of character and the buildings outer facade is beautiful.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank semper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2009

We thought this little hotel was lovely. We were able to check in early -we were given the room and floor i requested (115) - this was a front facing room in the attic with double glazed windows , making the room fairly soundproof and light and airy. The room isnt huge but who needs a big room . The bathroom and the underheated floor with double shower is a luxury .
The continental breakfast was very adequate and the pastries were some of the nicest and freshest i tasted with lovely fresh coffee , cereals, fresh fruit and toast .
All the staff we encountered were extremely friendly and very helpful .
The bars in the hotel were superb, infact we spent our Friday night downstairs in the cocktail bar listening to some superb music , down in the basement was a live jazz bar and the bar on the ground floor was buzzing with a mix of people.
The area is also recommended - everything is in walking distance. No taxi needed.
I would reccomend this hotel to couples or maybe a girly shopping trip - there is some nose from the pavement at night , but this can only be expected on a fri /sat night - stay and enjoy it like we did!
TIPS - shop around for restaurant offers - or eat early.
Airport transfer- Buy a freedom ticket and use it on the airlink . Ours cost 13 Euros for 3 days and included airport transfers and all bus journeys around dublin.
The last tip is don`t buy groceries/ snacks / drinks from the supermarkets close by - walk out of the area and look there.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2009

this is a nice, clean, new feeling hotel, we were welcomed perfectly and you can leave your bags there before check in and after check out, the rooms were pleaseant and fresh.
2 complaints ... 1 we had 2 pastries eacgh at breakfast, the waiter wanted to charge us 3.50 each as you are only allowed 1, made us feel like naughty children.
Secondly we were woken at 7.30am by the receptionist as they wanted the iron we had borrowed for our stay (Not impressed).

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonbozzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2009

The hotel was recently refurbished and very clean throughout. Our room was a little small, but had a flat screen TV on the wall and heated bathroom floor, but is so well situated to explore Temple Bar that you wouldn't stay in the room anyway! The bed was comfy and we had no noise issues (although we were in the back of the hotel.

The breakfast was good - located in the bar of the pub underneath.

We would definitely use this hotel again for a short break to Dublin.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russ_and_Jemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2009

just returned from a stay in Le Cirk and was very dissapointed to say the least.
although easy to find and in a great location the frontage of the hotel is pretty poor and had to buzz 5 times at the door and then get the barman to buzz for us.reception guy,no personality it was just a case of get the credit card out,i normally prefer to pay on check out or at least have that option.
room,adequate size but no mod cons to speak of but admittadly was clean.no tissues etc bathroom had a great double shower but no area to store toiletries etc,underfloor heating a bonus but in my opinion money could have been better spent elsewhere.bathroom had recently had some painting and grouting as the remnants of these were still on the floor.no attention to detail like the labels still stuck on the toilet and bin in the bathroom.room was replenished with tea bags and milk next morning but not the water nor the bed folded down.
must say the food in the bar is excellent if a little dear but thats dublin for you however the breakfast is without a doubt the poorest i have ever experienced.chap on the first morning was rather more generous with his toast so he must agree!next morning the croissants were soooo tiny i took two and was promply told i was only allowed one.only a cup of coffee not a pot and no fruit on the second morning.a total disaster.no thank you on check out or even a goodbye.
really if it were'nt for the location i would have nothing good to say and was really annoyed as it was a treat for my husband.
avoid.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NIrelandBigbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeCirkHotel, Front Office and Reservations Manager at Sweeney's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2009

Many thanks for your review on Tripadvisor.

We monitor all reviews closely and welcome all feedback. It helps us try and improve our service to you. With this in mind we provide comment cards in all rooms.

We wanted to let you know that we have looked into all the points outlined in your review and taken action on any of those within our control.

Kind regards,

Lucas Grzybek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed February 8, 2009

This hotel was not worth the money! At first we were given the keys to our room and it looked like a 'bomb site'. When we were given the correct room looking on to the main street our first impression was good. Modern bedroom and shower room with small LCD tv. The room was extremely cold due to poor heating and the old windows not closing correctly. This became a nightmare as the pub and club underneath was extremely noisy and you would need to have had a good drink to be able to sleep through it. A very basic breakfast was included in the price however this consisted of a cereal toast and tea. Anything else was an extra cost (and pricy). Location cant be faulted as it was very central, close to everything you need. The staff were unfriendly and slightly unwelcoming. Will not be going back.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeCirkHotel, Front Office and Reservations Manager at Sweeney's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2009

Many thanks for your review on Tripadvisor.

We monitor all reviews closely and welcome all feedback. It helps us try and improve our service to you. With this in mind we provide comment cards in all rooms.

We wanted to let you know that we have looked into all the points outlined in your review and taken action on any of those within our control.

Kind regards,

Lucas Grzybek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Citi Hotel
#75 of 150 in Dublin
1,038 reviews
Mercantile Hotel
#116 of 150 in Dublin
407 reviews
South City Centre
Fitzsimons Hotel
Fitzsimons Hotel
#133 of 150 in Dublin
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kelly's Hotel Dublin
#95 of 150 in Dublin
303 reviews
The Central Hotel
#103 of 150 in Dublin
911 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#38 of 150 in Dublin
2,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweeney's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweeney's Hotel

Address: 32 Dame Street, Dublin, Ireland (Formerly Le Cirk Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $164 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Sweeney's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cirk Boutique Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing