We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faded glamour”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Clyde Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clyde Court Hotel
Ranked #70 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Faded glamour”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is a nice hotel that is in need of a bit of a makeover. The hotels in this area (Ballsbridge in Dublin) used to be among the leading hotels in the city, but the recession has hit them hard, as they were almost exclusively aimed at business people or wealthy tourists. The hotel features a lovely lobby and bar, and the staff are very polite and helpful. It's in good condition throughout, but feels a bit tired. The rooms need an upgrade, some fresh decor, better TV sets. They're also not the biggest rooms around (I saw inside 2 different rooms). beds are comfy, without being amazing. A good choice if you get a low rate and are going to a concert or match in the Aviva stadium, or working in the area. But there are better choices in Dublin, and at the moment this is falling short of the glamour status that it would like to pitch itself as.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eldarro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    297
    144
    35
    19
See reviews for
100
314
30
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

The hotel was very convenient for our visit to the Aviva, the staff friendly and welcoming and the lobby/restaurant areas fine if a bit dated furniture wise.
But the accommodation really lets them down, the duvet cover was stained, torn and ill-fitting, the tv antiquated with a useless remote and the noise from the rooftop air conditioners directly outside our (closed) window made sleep nigh impossible. Plugs did not work, light switches seemed to change which lights they operated each time they were switched on/off, and were situated only at the door which was a pain in the middle of the night - you bump into the furniture only to get the wrong switch and turn on the main light, not the bathroom light, cue angry woken partner! All the chairs in the room were torn underneath and despite instructions for air-conditioning controls, we could find no air con present. Great when the noise forces you to keep the windows shut. I have stayed in many better 3 stars than this and can't quite understand how they have managed to retain 4 stars with rooms so in need of refurbishment.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyberpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, , Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

stayed for 2 nights at clyde court, location is great and easy to find with dart, bus or taxis outside. taxi is about 10euro into town and bus is only around the courner at 2.15euro & leaves you right on oconnell st. Hotel itself is lovely especially the reception staff, the girls were great and very friendly and helped us find any place we wanted to go! rooms were spacious and perfect for a few nights away. food is fab and they also had enterainment on sat night and a pianoist playing.. very grand!! recommended stay and a fab trip!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennii S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed over weekend with husband. First time staying here in many years. Had heard very good reports and I totally agree with them. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful with directions and how to go there. Room was spotless and bed very comfortable. We had lunch in bar and quality of food was excellent. Hotel was very busy but we still had a lovely quiet room and a great nights sleep. I travel to Dublin monthly and will definately stay at the Clyde Court Hotel for the future .
Well done to Management and staff.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flyingbods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

I came to Dublin for four months for my project. I stayed in Clyde Court for entire four months.I must say this is the one of the best hotel I have stayed so far. They have all the amenities-good location ,peaceful surroundings, quality food and the most important - very comfortable rooms.

All the staffs of the hotel are awesome and very polite. They gave me very good service through out my stay.... I was really touched when Janat - works in hotel's restaurant gifted me a handmade Doll for my daughter on my return to India. It was something that i didn't expect and really created a long lasting impact on me ...... Other staffs including Noha, Tanya were equally good and helpful.

I will definitely recommend this hotel if you want to enjoy good service.

- Mayank

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mayankverma2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallston, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, and within walking distance of some good restaurants. It also has a nice restaurant of its own. We stayed there at the beginning of our trip, and again at the end. The air conditioner in our room did not cool very much, and they added a fan to help us in the beginning. At the end of the trip, the air conditioner worked much better. Our room didn't have much place to put your clothing in drawers, which is okay for short stays.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanaof8Fallston_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Berkeley Court was my favourite hotel in Ireland it had everything style, location, wonderful staff and service, and I'm delighted to say that the current management team are on the case to make the Clyde court (aka Berkley Court) great again it was an amazingly busy weekend but all the staff smiled and nothing was an issue they just could not do enough for you, the manager is very visible he was on the shop floor from morning till night a real. nice man from cork who spent time to know his guests and thier needs, we were in town for the match and he exchanged gentle banter with us through out (we are from clare) yes some of the fixtures and fittings are being replaced and yes there is scope of improvement but sincerely is very minor and this could be 5 star very quickly,all in all things are excellent at the Clyde and I can see this fine hotel climbing back to the top of hotel tree in Dublin , seriously go stay here its staff, service and ambiance will not disappoint 10/10

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tirangapete1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
Pembroke Townhouse
Pembroke Townhouse
#76 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#9 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lansdowne Hotel Ballsbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#22 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,717 reviews
1.2 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ballsbridge Hotel
Ballsbridge Hotel
#90 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clyde Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clyde Court Hotel

Property: Clyde Court Hotel
Address: Lansdowne Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland (Formerly Berkeley Court Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Dublin
#41 Business Hotel in Dublin
#43 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#45 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clyde Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Clyde Court Hotel is perfect for both business and leisure guests. Set in Dublin’s most prestigious postcode and only minutes from the city centre, the Clyde Court has been host to many famous celebrities and Heads of State including Nelson Mandela, Frank Sinatra, Madonna, Elton John, and Cher to name but a few. The elegant hotel is comprised of 185 fully air conditioned and spacious guest rooms and can also cater for business conferences and weddings for up to 450 guests. The Clyde restaurant is set in a contemporary space bathed in natural day-light and the food is sourced from reliable local farms. There is a garden area seating up to 30 people and the Clyde Room, located off the restaurant is perfect for a private dinner or to entertain guests or clients. The Clyde Bar is the perfect place to relax after a long day, with its atmospheric high ceilings, plush leather armchairs and floor to ceiling mahogany wall panels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clyde Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Court Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing