We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of Clyde Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clyde Court Hotel
Ranked #73 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Limerick, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is a lovely hotel in an excellent location. It really has some old fashioned character. The room was bright and airy..not like some hotel room which are really hot and stuffy. Staff were friendly and helpful. Had to pay for parking which was a bit of a down side.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 596Marg596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulaneManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clyde Court Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest

So glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope you will visit us again.

Kind regards
Paul Beehan
Operations Manager
Clyde Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    298
    144
    35
    19
See reviews for
100
314
30
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2013

First impressions were very good. Great location , just enough off beaten track to be quiet at night , but 10 mins walk from whatever you are looking for in Dublin. Reception , bar , restaurant all very nice , however room was a let down. Very small bed , TV broken , water pressure low ( I wasn't showering at peak time ) and paper thin walls , I could over hear everything the couple in the next room said and it didn't seem to me that they were shouting. The room rate was very good , but I do know that in peak times you are paying a fair whack. Good value for money on the rate I paid but would have been annoyed if I was paying top euro.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tadhgsdad01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulaneManagement, Manager at Clyde Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest

I'm disappointed to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us. I will investigate the issues raised regarding your TV and water pressure immediately.

Kind regards
Paul Beehan
Operations Manager
Clyde Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed there last week and from check in we were not impressed. Firstly a junior staff member hurriedly checked us in with no additional info (breakfast times and location) even though there was no one else checking in. We go to the room with our 2 key cards and only later (after leaving our room with our belongings in it!!) did we realise the key cards did not work and the room door was open all the time (note to self always check room is closed behind you). After going back down to reception we were told we needed a metal key for that room (their mistake but the response of another staff member was 'It happens') and that there was only one key. Since there was 2 of us and we were going different places the next day I said we needed to have 2 keys, their solution was to drop and pick the key up at reception all day. I mentioned that with the amount of people around on the Heineken Cup Final we might have to queue each time and came up with the suggestion that they moved us to another room the next day. We didn't end up doing that as the same lady that checked us in was there the next morning. On that morning we left the room with the 'Please clean my room now' label on the door, on returning at 2.40pm (4 hours later) the room was still not done even though no other room had that label hanging on their door when we left and one of the cleaning staff saw us leaving the room. I'd like to point out I do not blame the cleaning lady, she seemed to be working hard. Breakfast was good although the first day we were shown to a door (not to a seat) of another room where there was a basic breakfast and did not know the main breakfast was in the other room with a bigger selection. On our last morning we were woken up at 6am by someone screaming and kicking at a door for a good 10 minutes. I opened my door to be faced with a guy in his underpants who was locked in the fire exit! Of course this is not the hotels fault and I can laugh at the image now!!Overall though am disappointed. I can accept the dated and small rooms etc...but bad and casual service leaves an impression. On the plus, if you are going to the RDS or Aviva the location is ideal!

Room Tip: Don't get a room with a metal key!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmsterdamShamrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulaneManagement, Manager at Clyde Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest

I'm disappointed to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us as we pride ourselves on our hospitality and customer service at Clyde Court Hotel. I will discuss the issues raised with our management team and see if we can get to the bottom of it. If you wish to talk directly with me please contact pbeehan@clydecourthotel.com.

Kind regards
Paul Beehan
Operations Manager
Clyde Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed here for business. The breakfast is superb - great sausages, eggs, mushrooms, bread, cereals, etc. My praise stops there. The rooms are tiny, the temperature either way too cold or too hot, outdated bathroom, uncomfortable bed. The location isn't the greatest - a good walk to the city centre but in pleasant weather, this is fine; in the rain, take a cab. Better yet, don't stay here at all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chickendip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The receptionist and staff were polite and friendly. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. However, they are very skimpy on the towels available for each guest. Rooms needed touch-ups ~ baseboards and paint in bathroom especially. No a/c in the room we were in. Windows opened but no screens. No free Wi-Fi. The bar was very nice and relaxing and the restaurant was good for both breakfast and dinner. Close to the DART.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlene_and_Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty Twp. Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed at the Clyde Court Hotel on May 12th and May 19th, the first and last night of our Ireland tour. The hotel was not in the center of the city, but was in walking distance to some local pubs. You can catch the bus at the corner or take a taxi into the center of the city. The rooms were clean and had plenty of space. Breakfasts were provided and we had no complaints about the amount or quality of the food. There would be no reason not to recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ohiogil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here foe the rugby - 2 mins to the Aviva. There are mixed reviews on triadvisor but found nothing to fault. It was a strange weekend as the rugby brought a lot of people in but I thought they handled the event well - great atmosphere in the bar on match day.ddont know what he atmosphere would be like if there had been no rugby - I would have thought a bit dead

Walked into the centre, took about 20 mins , a cab is about euro. The rooms were clean, the food ok - most people would probably eat out if on a weekend break. I was on a corporate jolly so didnt spend a lot, but did see the tarrif and thought a bit pricey ( dont want to be ungrateful to my hosts!)

The staff were perfectly friendly , as you would expect in Eire.

Would stay there again without a problem, but if I could get cheaper for to the city , I would do that.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sutttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Ballsbridge Hotel
Ballsbridge Hotel
#89 of 151 in Dublin
2,233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pembroke Townhouse
Pembroke Townhouse
#76 of 151 in Dublin
781 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#11 of 151 in Dublin
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#20 of 151 in Dublin
1,987 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lansdowne Hotel Ballsbridge
0.4 mi away
Schoolhouse Hotel
Schoolhouse Hotel
#29 of 151 in Dublin
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clyde Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clyde Court Hotel

Property: Clyde Court Hotel
Address: Lansdowne Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland (Formerly Berkeley Court Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Dublin
#41 Business Hotel in Dublin
#45 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#45 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Hotel Class:4 star — Clyde Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Clyde Court Hotel is perfect for both business and leisure guests. Set in Dublin’s most prestigious postcode and only minutes from the city centre, the Clyde Court has been host to many famous celebrities and Heads of State including Nelson Mandela, Frank Sinatra, Madonna, Elton John, and Cher to name but a few. The elegant hotel is comprised of 185 fully air conditioned and spacious guest rooms and can also cater for business conferences and weddings for up to 450 guests. The Clyde restaurant is set in a contemporary space bathed in natural day-light and the food is sourced from reliable local farms. There is a garden area seating up to 30 people and the Clyde Room, located off the restaurant is perfect for a private dinner or to entertain guests or clients. The Clyde Bar is the perfect place to relax after a long day, with its atmospheric high ceilings, plush leather armchairs and floor to ceiling mahogany wall panels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clyde Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Court Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing