We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, room a bit scruffy”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Clyde Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clyde Court Hotel
Ranked #70 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good value, room a bit scruffy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel's exterior and lobby look fantastic, but on heading into the room there were stains all over the carpet and the heating was stuck on. We knew the staff were aware as they had opened the window fully but as the controls on the heating were broken they should have been fixed before we had to ask. The kettle was also broken and the room just looked beyond tired. Despite this, we found the staff to be incredibly friendly and helpful. The hotel is about a minutes walk from the bus stop where you can get a 10 minute bus ride straight into the city centre. The view was lovely and the surrounding area is nice and peaceful even though its so near to the Aviva stadium.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulaneManagement, General Manager at Clyde Court Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest

My sincere apologies that you had issues with your room. Our Accommodation Manager has been notified about this complaint. I'm delighted you enjoyed the hospitality and location of the hotel however and I do hope you will visit us again.

Clyde Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    297
    144
    35
    19
See reviews for
100
314
30
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
152 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Was here for a wedding, stayed 2 nights. Reception a bit old fashioned but quite impressive in a 'grande' style. Efficient and friendly check in. Room a good size, clean and although not bang up to date for the rate we paid (Euro 80 B&B) it was good enough. Drinks in the bar like all hotels, a bit pricey. The breakfast was excellent with a really good choice of cereals etc., breads, fruit and of course the hot stuff (really kind and lovely chef served breakfast on our second day). Staff in the breakfast room very efficient. The food we had in the bar area was very average and really not that good. The food at the reception was OK considering they were catering for 100. The location of the hotel was good. On the airport bus route, on a bus route into town (15 mins) and a taxi rank at the end of the road. Hotel in a quite and good class neighbourhood. Would recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NESSY3306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

This hotel gets an extra star for it's exceptional value. It seems like the hotel has turned hands over the past few years, and as many other reviewers have mentioned, the rooms could do with an update. Little things like the cord for the kettle being too short to put on the table whilst plugged in (had to set kettle on the floor) and the maid not emptying and replacing my used tea cup (she put a napkin on top, (wtf) and left it there. The room was also freezing cold, but we managed to get the heater going.

It is a good 20 minute walk from the city center and cabs are not inexpensive in Dublin, so plan accordingly. The only reason we stayed in this hotel was for the price, which we paid 40% off because of a hotels.com special. I was also a bit upset, because I booked the hotel twice, I had accidently booked a queen bed when I needed two twins, and they would not refund me, even though I had a phone conversation with a women at the front desk weeks before explaining my mistake. She assured me I wouldn't be charge, and yet I was. I have taken the issue up with both my credit card company and hotels.com

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Have stayed here a number of times both before and since the recession, the hotel went through a slight dip but seems to be returning to form, some of the rooms are a bit dated but very friendly staff in particular I wanted to mention the exceptionally lovely female chef, unfortunately I didn't get her name but she was incredibly kind and accommodating to me and my family on our recent stay. Its people like this that make a place. In past stays was never impressed with breakfast but recently have noticed a huge improvement, have to say the choice and selection of fruit pastries etc was excellent. Unfortunately good service and friendliness are not always the norm particularly nowadays so I very especially wanted to write this review (my first!!) and to complement the staff.

Just one point I would like to add though I don't think there should be an extra charge for the wifi, especially given that this is a four star hotel I think in this day and age that it should be freely available.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Apple1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Our first impression on entering the lobby, was very nice. Also lift. And corridors. The.room was completely different. Plug socket hanging off wall, no sink plug, lost a couple of things down there. The tv didn't work at first, we had to ask to have that fixed and to put heating on. The beds were clean and tidy. But room service didn't turn up til 5 o'clock, which wasn't good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanneS662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

A nice clean hotel with friendly staff and good value. The only down side is that the rooms are a bit dated and could do with an update but otherwise I would highly recommend this hotel. The staff appeared to go out of their way to assist and the breakfast is excellent value. I will stay again!

Room Tip: Look for a room on the 5th floor away from the lift. Rooms in general are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Looks great when you enter. Staff friendly. Our room had sockets literally hanging off the wall. TV didn't work. Not even a plug on sink. Good location but. Good half hour walk into Dublin. Bus service good though.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sylvie020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
Pembroke Townhouse
Pembroke Townhouse
#76 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#9 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lansdowne Hotel Ballsbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#22 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,716 reviews
1.2 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ballsbridge Hotel
Ballsbridge Hotel
#89 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clyde Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clyde Court Hotel

Property: Clyde Court Hotel
Address: Lansdowne Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland (Formerly Berkeley Court Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Dublin
#41 Business Hotel in Dublin
#43 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#45 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clyde Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Clyde Court Hotel is perfect for both business and leisure guests. Set in Dublin’s most prestigious postcode and only minutes from the city centre, the Clyde Court has been host to many famous celebrities and Heads of State including Nelson Mandela, Frank Sinatra, Madonna, Elton John, and Cher to name but a few. The elegant hotel is comprised of 185 fully air conditioned and spacious guest rooms and can also cater for business conferences and weddings for up to 450 guests. The Clyde restaurant is set in a contemporary space bathed in natural day-light and the food is sourced from reliable local farms. There is a garden area seating up to 30 people and the Clyde Room, located off the restaurant is perfect for a private dinner or to entertain guests or clients. The Clyde Bar is the perfect place to relax after a long day, with its atmospheric high ceilings, plush leather armchairs and floor to ceiling mahogany wall panels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clyde Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Court Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing