We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clyde Court Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clyde Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clyde Court Hotel
Ranked #70 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Clyde Court Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed at the Clyde Court Hotel at the beginning and end of our 2 week vacation in Ireland. The staff were exceptionally helpfull and friendly! The rooms were spacious, very neat and comfortable. The last day of our holiday we arrived way before our check-in time, and they were very accomodating in so far as letting us store our luggage so that we cour go do more sight seeing which we wanted to do. We were really happy with our stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulaneManagement, General Manager at Clyde Court Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Colleen N

Delighted to hear you found our staff so friendly. I'll pass on your positive comments to the team.

Kind regards
Des McCann
General Manager
Clyde Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    297
    144
    35
    19
See reviews for
100
314
30
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

The Clyde Court hotel in Dublin was a real pleasure. We stayed both at the beginning and the end of our trip to Ireland, and when we returned after almost two weeks, the staff remembered us. The rooms were a nice size and very comfortable. The lobby was a pleasant place to wait for our friends or our driver -- lots of comfortable chairs and well decorated. The "Traditional Irish Breakfast" buffet was plentiful and tasty. We ate one night in the restaurant and once in the bar; both were good choices.

This used to be the Berkeley Hotel but was sold and put under new management shortly before we arrived. There were still some vestiges of the old ownership (i.e.: the plates in the restaurant), but the new management seems to be doing a fine job.

The hotel was farther away from downtown than we anticipated, but there's a rail station not too far away, and taxis were there when we needed them.

We'd return to the Clyde Court.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dulle_noted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulaneManagement, General Manager at Clyde Court Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear dulle_noted

Thanks for choosing Clyde Court Hotel not once but twice on your trip to Ireland. We really appreciate it and I'm delighted that you found our staff so friendly.

I hope to mete you personally myself on your next visit.

All the best
Des McCann
General Manager
Clyde Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solon, Ohio
Level Contributor
121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Was here for a conference and the Clyde court was a perfectly adequate choice,but I would not return for business unless the hotel became more business friendly. There's no excuse anymore to charge for wireless. It's just a big turn off to hear wifi is "available" when you book and then see the bill when you try to connect. You just feel duped. As a female business traveller, amenities are important. The Clyde has a great makeup mirror, but no hair dryer, hair conditioner, hand lotion or sewing kit. I've stopped packing these things when checking into a business hotel,with he expectation the hotel will provide. It would also be nice for the hotel to participate in a frequent flyer program or hotel club.

Other than that, the location is great,the staff friendly, the rooms nice enough and a good breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brushjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

This is the old Berkley Court, now apparently operated by a management company until the hotel or property market improves.
This is not a bad thing for the guest. The hotel is well run and maintained but could obviously do with a refurbishment programme in the near future.
In the meantime, prices are reasonable. The buffet breakfast was particularly good value at €10. There wax a fine selection of everything with the quality of the hot, full Irish items being especially memorable.
The lobby and bar area are just as they were in the Berkley Court days with plenty area for meetings, morning coffees and afternoon teas.
Would stay again at the price.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mnmob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulaneManagement, General Manager at Clyde Court Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear mnmob

Great to hear the positive comments. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Kind regards
Des McCann
General Manager
Clyde Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

The Clyde Court (formerly the Berkeley Court) is walking a fine line between 'traditional and well established' and 'old fashioned and tired', and just about manages to stay on the right side most of the time.

Certainly a lot of work has gone into the lobby, bar and restaurant to give them a traditional yet contemporary style that will doubtless go down well with people in town to watch a match at the (very) nearby Aviva Stadium. Certainly with the Christmas decorations up it felt to me like a positive ambiance and a good place to spend some time.

However the rooms don't really match up to the quality of the public areas, and are let down by slightly cheap fixtures and fittings and a general sense of a lack of basic maintenance.

Staff are very helpful, so in all it is a pleasant experience but definitely on the lower side of four stars. At the right price this place has something to offer but competition in Dublin is strong and there is nothing to warrant paying a premium here, except proximity to the stadium.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank voehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulaneManagement, General Manager at Clyde Court Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear voehn

We appreciate your feedback and hope you will consider us on your next visit to Dublin.

Kind regards
Des McCann
General Manager
Clyde Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed here with one work colleague for one night only, arriving on Tues xx September 2012.
The location seems to be in a quiet business district called Ballsbridge.

If you are going to get a taxi from Dublin airport straight to the hotel, ask the taxi driver to travel via the toll motorway, it costs a bit more but the whole journey (via the toll motorway) from the hotel to the airport takes only about 15 minutes in the late afternoon (on a Wednesday), the cost was about 15 Euros. On the previous afternoon (a Tuesday), we got a taxi leaving Dublin airport at about 5.25pm, the journey time on local roads (not the toll motorway) from the airport to the hotel was well in excess of one hour and cost more than 30 Euros.

The hotel has a very spacious and very smart entrance lobby and other public rooms, as it is a large hotel.

The breakfast was OK for the price.
There are some excellent local restaurants within 5 to 10 minutes walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SurreyMan2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulaneManagement, General Manager at Clyde Court Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear SurreyMan2007

Many thanks for your review and I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit.

Des McCann
General Manager
Clyde Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Louth
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed in this hotel over the weekend, I was really looking forward to it as the reviews online have been very good, the key card lock to our room didn't work which we found out by accident when someone opened the door by mistake!! When we mentioned this to reception they advised us that our room key card lock was broken they apologised and gave us a key to lock the door with, why was this not given to us at check in? We ate in the hotels restaurant which was nice but very limited for a 4* hotel. The hotel was busy due to the rubgy match so reception was turned into a temporary bar, but to be fair the staff did handle the volume of people very well. The room was absolutely freezing for the whole night and the bathroom was very dated and needed a good clean, not for us and I dont think we would stay again..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sadmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulaneManagement, General Manager at Clyde Court Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear sadmat

I apologise that there was an issue with your keycard and I have spoken to the frotn desk about this. I'm glad you enjoyed the food and found our staff efficient during a busy weekend. I hope you will visit us again on your next visit to Dublin.

Kind regards
Des McCann
General Manager
Clyde Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
Pembroke Townhouse
Pembroke Townhouse
#75 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
0.3 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#21 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,609 reviews
1.2 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#51 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ballsbridge Hotel
Ballsbridge Hotel
#89 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lansdowne Hotel Ballsbridge
0.1 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clyde Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clyde Court Hotel

Property: Clyde Court Hotel
Address: Lansdowne Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland (Formerly Berkeley Court Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Dublin
#41 Business Hotel in Dublin
#43 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#45 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clyde Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Clyde Court Hotel is perfect for both business and leisure guests. Set in Dublin’s most prestigious postcode and only minutes from the city centre, the Clyde Court has been host to many famous celebrities and Heads of State including Nelson Mandela, Frank Sinatra, Madonna, Elton John, and Cher to name but a few. The elegant hotel is comprised of 185 fully air conditioned and spacious guest rooms and can also cater for business conferences and weddings for up to 450 guests. The Clyde restaurant is set in a contemporary space bathed in natural day-light and the food is sourced from reliable local farms. There is a garden area seating up to 30 people and the Clyde Room, located off the restaurant is perfect for a private dinner or to entertain guests or clients. The Clyde Bar is the perfect place to relax after a long day, with its atmospheric high ceilings, plush leather armchairs and floor to ceiling mahogany wall panels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Clyde Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Court Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing