We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and Affordable Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clyde Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clyde Court Hotel
Ranked #68 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quiet and Affordable Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband had a conference in Dublin and I tagged along. At the last minute my sister was able to join us, so we needed a larger room. We were able to upgrade to a suite for just a little bit more. Wow! The room was huge! Perhaps 3x the size of a regular room. It was a little outdated and there were some spots on the carpet, but I still felt the place was quite clean. My husband and my bed was very comfortable; the rollaway for my sister wasn't super great but it worked. The bathroom was almost as large as one of the regular rooms and had a huge (but outdated) tub.

Transportation to the city was very close by. We'd also just walk into the city sometimes as it was a nice walk passing either St. Stephen's or Marion Park.

The breakfast was amazing! It was on par with breakfasts at 5 star resorts in my opinion. The selection might be a little less, but the quality was fantastic. I was very surprised, as I only expected basic, dry, sugary food (or what you typically get at a continental breakfast in the U.S.) but it was much, much better.

I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite! It's worth the little extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KMS0782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    297
    144
    35
    19
See reviews for
100
314
30
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

This hotel as you walk in looks great, with large nicely decorated areas, unfortunately as we quickly discovered the reallity is as thin as the veneer on the coffee tables. We stayed for approximately 14 hours and in that time failed to find any member of staff who could be bothered to provide any standard of service above poor. The food we were served was tasteless and some of our party complained it was cold. The bar staff seemed to be continually arguing with the waiters and our waiters at dinner could hardly speak enough English to as who wanted to order what. The final straw was when we were asked to leave the breakfast area because they hadn't been asked to start the serving 15 mins earlier than normal as we had a ferry to catch. Not so bad had the head waiter not lost his temper in the process. I'll find somewhere else for my next stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAW1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulaneManagement, Front Office Manager at Clyde Court Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear RAW1000

Thanks for taking the time to post a review. I'm disappointed to hear you had service issues at the hotel as we pride ourselves in our customer service and hospitality. I will discuss your comments with our Restaurant Manager.

If you wish to discuss this matter further please contact me directly on dmccann@clydecourthotel.com

Kind regards
Des McCann
General Manager
Clyde Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this hotel as part of a bus-tour of Ireland. We checked in early, due to an early flight to Dublin. The front desk staff was very accommodating and got us the last room in the hotel. The room was very small, but clean. The tv was an old tube-type with only 8 stations on it. It did have a 110v outlet above the desk, which was a plus. It was a five minute walk to the US Embassy, and a really nice pub, I think it was called Bellamy's, where my wife and shared our first pint of Guinness on Irish soil.
The water pressure in the shower wasn't the greatest and the bathroom sink had a slow drain, but other than that, we had a good stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Banjo39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed in a lot of hotels in Dublin in the past and this hotel has the best customer service of any hotel I have been in Dublin. Reception and bar staff the friendliest I have come across in a long time. Hotel is a bit dated and rooms could be better but the food and the ambience within the hotel more than makes up for it. Will stay in this hotel again

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peewee021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

It's quite eerie finding everything in a hotel from menu to soap labelled with another hotel name ie Berkeley Court. But this hotel - now known as Clyde Court - is probably Dublin's best kept secret. We watched Katie Taylor winning Ireland's only gold medal and how happy we were that the schizophrenic approach adopted by our new Irish friends kept the mood cheerful. The food in the restaurant however was lovely and the staff so inclusive that even we English felt welcome.

Room Tip: If you like to wake up to a view of the Lansdowne Road Rugby Stadium, with the sun glinting on the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Traveling with an affinity group from the U.S., I stayed at the Clyde Court for several nights in late August and early September 2012. The days were both exciting and challenging because, over the same weekend, the 2012 Navy-Notre Dame football game was scheduled at nearby Aviva Stadium. Despite the flood of American fans in and around the hotel, the staff kept its good humor and attended to even small requests. The room itself was comfortable and clean, and the bed was especially good. I particularly availed myself of the bar menu, which provided tasty, reasonably priced fare until late at night. Located in the leafy zone known as "Dublin 4," the hotel is a little removed from the city center, but the distance is easily covered by a 15-min walk or brief cab ride.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CalifRoaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel many times - inlcuding during its former life as The Berkeley Court, I love the location.
I had booked with a third party as a last minute deal, for three nights, but was unable to arrive on Friday and advised the third party accordingly. On arrival, after a long train journey, reception were having a problem finding my booking, I started to get anxious, but no "not to worry it will be fine" would you like to take a seat and have a cup of tea while we sort it out" - Tea - lovely, no problem, tea arrived promptly with biscuit:) heaven after a long journey, and in no time booking sorted and in my room. Lovely girls on reception, yes parking is extra and staff knocked on our door at 8.00 am to clean the room - twice - but overall a great experience, lovely comfortable bed, clean and bottled water provided in room. Much appreciated.

All in all I was impressed with the customer service and will without doubt return.

Room Tip: was on fourth floor - room quiet and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BiscuitCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
Pembroke Townhouse
Pembroke Townhouse
#77 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
0.3 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#22 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
1.2 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#51 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ballsbridge Hotel
Ballsbridge Hotel
#89 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,103 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lansdowne Hotel Ballsbridge
0.1 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clyde Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clyde Court Hotel

Property: Clyde Court Hotel
Address: Lansdowne Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland (Formerly Berkeley Court Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Dublin
#41 Business Hotel in Dublin
#42 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#45 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clyde Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Clyde Court Hotel is perfect for both business and leisure guests. Set in Dublin’s most prestigious postcode and only minutes from the city centre, the Clyde Court has been host to many famous celebrities and Heads of State including Nelson Mandela, Frank Sinatra, Madonna, Elton John, and Cher to name but a few. The elegant hotel is comprised of 185 fully air conditioned and spacious guest rooms and can also cater for business conferences and weddings for up to 450 guests. The Clyde restaurant is set in a contemporary space bathed in natural day-light and the food is sourced from reliable local farms. There is a garden area seating up to 30 people and the Clyde Room, located off the restaurant is perfect for a private dinner or to entertain guests or clients. The Clyde Bar is the perfect place to relax after a long day, with its atmospheric high ceilings, plush leather armchairs and floor to ceiling mahogany wall panels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Clyde Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Court Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing