We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll never know” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clyde Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clyde Court Hotel
Ranked #69 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I'll never know”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

The Berkely Court may well be the best hotel in Ireland, but alas I'll never know. Despite booking the hotel on 9th April and receiving a confirmation email by return, they phoned on 21st of April to say that "the website" had overbooked and they were moving me to a hotel 8.5km away. Totally useless customer service followed and I still await confirmation from the alternative hotel. This would be bad if it was just me, you know like a one-off. I know of at least 30 other people in exactly the same position. We had all booked this hotel and it's sister hotel D4 for their convenience to the Aviva Stadium and now find ourselves maybe booked into a hotel on an industrial estate, 5 miles away. Oh, and "the website" are adamant that responsibility for this lies with the hotel and no-one else. So it might be fantastic, wonderful, tremendous - trouble is, they can't even deal fairly with people who want to book a room there so I won't be staying, ever. Neither will at least 30 other people I know. And I hope you won't. Shameful way to treat people.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BillyM32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulaneManagement, General Manager at Clyde Court Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I'm disappointed that you did not get to experience our hotel and I'm sorry about the situation that occured. I would be grateful if you could email me your contact details to dmccann@berkeleycourthotel.com so we can discuss further.

Kindest Regards,
Des McCann
General Manager
Berkeley Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    297
    144
    35
    19
See reviews for
100
314
30
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wexford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

Recently stayed in the Berkeley Court Hotel for a couple of nights. The room was a Junior suite and i found the room very nice and spacious. My only constructive criticism is that the TV is placed in a cabinet and once the doors were open you would have to be directly in front of the TV to see it! The cabinet would be too heavy to move! A suggestion to maybe take the doors off? Although might take the look off the cabinet!! Another small thing was the curtains! , they didn't quiet cover all of the windows. When I stay at hotels, the one thing I look forward to are the 'black out' curtains' however wasn't a major issue.

I found the staff at the hotel very friendly and accommodating and no ask was a big deal.
I would recommend this hotel and look forward to going back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miss_lisamarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulaneManagement, General Manager at Clyde Court Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write this review and I have noted your points. I'm glad you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards
Des McCann
General Manager
Berkeley Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

The Berkeley was our first stop in our driving tour of Ireland. Got off to a great start because our room was ready early...9 a.m.! and we were able to rest up from our night flight. The accommodations were fine, the staff was very helpful...went out of their way to help me set up the charging process for my laptop. We also finished up our touring at the Berkeley 10 days later.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatM52807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulaneManagement, General Manager at Clyde Court Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thanks for much for taking the time to write this review - it's much appreciated. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope that you will stay with us again if you return to Ireland for a visit.

Kindest regards
Des McCann
General Manager
Berkeley Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

This hotel was nice, it looks average from the outside, and there was a bit of an 'old' smell around, but once you got used to it it was ok. The rooms were nice and big and the shower was great. Staff were helpful. The breakfast was good, but the scrambled eggs were rather tasteless.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Montreal_Aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulaneManagement, General Manager at Clyde Court Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thanks for writing this review and I have noted your point on the breakfast and will pass it on to the kitchen. I hope if you ever return to Dublin that you will visit us again.

Kind regards
Des McCann
General Manager
Berkeley Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

Stayed here for the Italy V Ireland match. Rooms were fine bit dated and dusty. Could do with dust and paint. Price was cheap for the night 50pp for the night. Taxi into the town is cheap 12euro for four people. Ate in t.he restaurant after the match and it was fab. Great choice on the menu and service was quick. Food was great value. Good atmosphere in the bar afterwards you could have the banter with people. Car park on site aswel 10euro to leave the car there as long as you want. Hotel is close to the DART and RDS aswel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Babs M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulaneManagement, General Manager at Clyde Court Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Des McCann
General Manager
Berkeley Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

I was attending a function at the Hotel, me and a few friends were in our room having a few drinks and the manager( a woman ) knocked on the door then stormed into our room and told us to go downstairs due to the fact she had a noise complaint. The complaint was totally acceptable and I apologized profusely for it, but the manner in which she spoke to me and dealt with the manner was truly unacceptable, I personally work in the hospitality industry and if I or any of the staff I manage and work with had spoke to a customer the way she spoke to us, they would be out the door. It truly was a horrific experience dealing with her. The Hotel and Room were very nice and I have stayed on many occasions before but this truly was one of the worst customer service I've ever had. I would recommend staying here and will definitely be back, but hopefully they will do some staff training or customer relation skill workshops.

Room Tip: I got a Suite and was very nice, but bathroom could be bigger but was worth the extra money :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JohnC1689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulaneManagement, General Manager at Clyde Court Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and I'm disappointed that you had this experience. I would welcome the opportunity to speak to you in person. I would be grateful if you could email me your contact details to dmccann@berkeleycourthotel.com.

Kindest Regards
Des McCann
General Manager
Berkeley Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, CT
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights over St. Patrick's Day weekend and were very happy with our room. It was clean & spacious and the beds were very comfortable; only thing we weren't crazy about was the weird spotty water pressure in the shower, but that is to be expected in a hotel. It was a close 10-15 minute walk to all the major visitor spots in Dublin. The breakfast was very good & fresh, full Irish if that's what you desire and a wide variety of yogurt, fresh fruit, oatmeal & cereals if you want something lighter. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachelmhanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulaneManagement, General Manager at Clyde Court Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write this review and I'm delighted that you liked your room and found the breakfast delicious.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Des McCann
General Manager
Berkeley Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
Pembroke Townhouse
Pembroke Townhouse
#77 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
0.3 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#21 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
1.2 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#51 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lansdowne Hotel Ballsbridge
0.1 mi away
Ballsbridge Hotel
Ballsbridge Hotel
#88 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,104 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#12 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clyde Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clyde Court Hotel

Property: Clyde Court Hotel
Address: Lansdowne Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland (Formerly Berkeley Court Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Dublin
#41 Business Hotel in Dublin
#43 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#45 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clyde Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Clyde Court Hotel is perfect for both business and leisure guests. Set in Dublin’s most prestigious postcode and only minutes from the city centre, the Clyde Court has been host to many famous celebrities and Heads of State including Nelson Mandela, Frank Sinatra, Madonna, Elton John, and Cher to name but a few. The elegant hotel is comprised of 185 fully air conditioned and spacious guest rooms and can also cater for business conferences and weddings for up to 450 guests. The Clyde restaurant is set in a contemporary space bathed in natural day-light and the food is sourced from reliable local farms. There is a garden area seating up to 30 people and the Clyde Room, located off the restaurant is perfect for a private dinner or to entertain guests or clients. The Clyde Bar is the perfect place to relax after a long day, with its atmospheric high ceilings, plush leather armchairs and floor to ceiling mahogany wall panels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Clyde Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Court Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing