We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location”
Review of Cliff TownHouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cliff TownHouse
Ranked #20 of 151 Dublin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2010

Great hotel in a fabulous location, right on Stephens Green. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms are on the small side, with the only negative point being there was no fridge. Overall an enjoyable stay with great food.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DrewFlood, Director of Sales at Cliff TownHouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2010

Dear dlaac,

Thank you for taking the time to post up a review after your stay with us at The Cliff Town House, we really appreciate your feedback and we hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regarda
Kerri Wells
Sales & Marketing Manager
The Cliff Town House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 350 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2010

just the best location - across from St.Stephens Green and one block from Grafton Street, great restaurants and pubs. We had "Full Irish Breakfast" everywhere we went (16 days) and the Bentley's was by far the best - gorgeous diningroom and very friendly staff. We initially stayed for 5 nights at the beginning of our trip and the last day of our trip. They kindly upgraded our room for the first 5 days and it was gorgeous - king bed, two floor to ceiling windows overlooking the "Green' and huge. Only small neg. is that we had 6 suitcases (we took our teen daughter who loved her room also) and there is no lift - those stairs after two flights should have a coffee stand!. This is a cute boutique hotel that has, I think, 9 rooms. They are well known for they oyster/seafood diners - which we did not have. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xylophila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DrewFlood, Director of Sales at Cliff TownHouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2010

Dear xylophila,

Many many thanks for your great review on Tripadvisor, we really appreciate you taking the time to do so.

We will certainly make sure we have coffee ready and waiting for you at the top of the stairs next time you come and stay with us!

Thanks again and hopefully welcome you back soon.

Regards
Kerri Wells
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

After arriving we were ignored at our table for 40 minutes before our order was taken by a gruff waiter. Starters arrived 30 minutes later, we were then left with empty plates for another 20 minutes! This pattern followed with another 30 minute wait for our main course which was cold and fish undercooked, impossible of course to attract a waiter to complain.

Summary: stay away, please don't come here you've been warned!!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victor2010-99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DrewFlood, General Manager at Cliff TownHouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2010

Dear Victor2010-99,

I would like to apologise that you did not have a good experience when you visited Bentley's in August, although the management team are still the same we have since changed name from Bentley's to The Cliff Town House and I can guarantee you that any service issues have been ironed out.

When you are in Dublin again I would like to invite you to come back to The Cliff Town House and I will make sure that you have a true dining experience with us and will personally look after your booking.

Drew Flood
General Manager
The Cliff Town House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

We booked the Bentley Experience (B & B plus dinner in restaurant) for myself and my husband as a romantic getaway. We booked over the phone and were greeted by an extremely helpful person who booked us into the restaurant for dinner at 7.00pm. When we arrived we were checked in by a very frosty receptionist who had no interpersonal skills. She told us there was no record of our dinner booking but could 'get us in at 7.00 / 7.30' but get this would need the table back by 9pm 'as Saturday is our busiest night'. We were very upset and asked could she accommodate us any other way - a firm ' no' was her reply. To have this 1.5 hour dining experience we would have to pay 130 euro exc wine / drinks or service charge. How insulting can you get.......who now, anywhere would spend 130 euro on a quickie meal and have to vacate the table by 9.00? It was a complete joke........ We had a room at the front of the building which had a fab view of St Stephens Green but music there was a concert on in the room below and the music was very loud so we got a room at the back of the house which was slightly better but we couldn't open the doors for fresh air as the doors backed onto the room which the music was in and it was even louder than the front of the house. Overall I would not rate this place at all. I had high expectations and was so looking forward to Richard Corrigans dinning experience but was deeply let down. We had a fantastic meal in The Saddle Room in The Shelbourne Hotel - maybe we should have stayed there instead. We won't be back to Bentleys.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveLifeLiveLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2010

Very small hotel with little rooms in a great location. Easy walk to great restaurants and pubs.

Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
Thank brianfind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2010

My Mom and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Our room was a decent size by European standards and had two twin beds, a nice television, desk and modern bathroom. The only missing modern (american?) amenity was an elevator. We were on the top floor with a nice view of St. Stephan's green, but we did have to climb the stairs to get back to our room.

The location was convenient. There were multiple city buses and the open top tourist buses that stopped right by the park. The hotel is approximately 2 blocks from Grafton St and within easy walking distance to trinity college and temple bar.

We ate one lunch and all of our breakfasts at the restaurant. Lunch was good, but definately on the expensive side. Breakfast was included with our room rate and we had a choice of an traditional Irish fry or continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaBoulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2010

rooms were nice, food was fine, service was efficient. Really nothing to write home about. Far too expensive for what it is, and considering the choice of other restaurants and hotels on Stephens Green, this one is probably at the bottom.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irelandadvisor41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 152 in Dublin
1,573 reviews
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 152 in Dublin
4,287 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 152 in Dublin
2,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 152 in Dublin
3,562 reviews
The Westbury
#6 of 152 in Dublin
4,183 reviews
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#58 of 152 in Dublin
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff TownHouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff TownHouse

Address: 22 St Stephen's Green, Dublin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range: $182 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cliff TownHouse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cliff Townhouse is superbly located in the heart of Dublin with boutique style rooms and wonderful restaurant with great food, superb service and ambiance at great value. Private dining facility also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cliff TownHouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Town House Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing