We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant marathon weekend”
Review of Cliff TownHouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cliff TownHouse
Ranked #21 of 149 Dublin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We requested an early breakfast as we where doing the marathon ,no problem ,we requested a late check out as we where doing the marathon ,no problem. In fact from the moment we arrived until the moment we left nothing was a problem and everything was done with a smile.I won't go into detail because it would take too long but we have stayed in a lot of hotels and this ticked all the boxes,friendly staff,great area,clean,comfortable with history . I will be back .

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raymo990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulFinegan, Manager at Cliff TownHouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear raymo990,

Music to our ears - we aim to please and go the extra mile!! We look forward to welcoming back and thanks for the great review,

Kind regards,
Paul Finegan
Manager
The Cliff Townhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (340)
There are newer reviews for Cliff TownHouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 340 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed here for one night in June. We chose this hotel because it was one of the only hotels that allowed you to stay for one night on a Saturday in central Dublin. It was fairly expensive for one night (We paid about $200 Euros) but it was a beautiful stay. The room was very nice and the breakfast was wonderful and in a beautiful setting. The staff were very helpful and even helped us carry our bags up the multiple staircases! (No elevator). It was also right across from the park and a short walk to Grafton Street. Although a little pricey for us, we would still recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulFinegan, Manager at Cliff TownHouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear Katie M,

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you had such a pleasant stay. We do have a service elevator to the rear of the building however it just services the first two floors.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future,

Kind regards,

Paul Finegan
Manager
The Cliff Townhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in for some while. Small with only 9 rooms all labelled with the name of a famous Irish person, mine was James Joyce. Great room. Nice breakfast. Friendly staff. I am not going to waste words other than to say, why not stay here?

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beesbeesbees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulFinegan, Manager at Cliff TownHouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear beesbeesbees,

Thank you very much for your kind words and for the vote of confidence. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the future,

Kind regards,

Paul Finegan
Manager
The Cliff Townhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Had dinner here last night. One of the best nights out in a long time. Staff were excellent and very friendly. Fish was so tasty we had a sea bream and halibut. Good value for money and nice relaxing atmosphere. Will defo be back again soon!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EbhL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulFinegan, Manager at Cliff TownHouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear EbhL,

Many thanks for the kind review. It's great to get such positive feedback. I hope we get the chance to welcome you back again soon,

Best wishes,

Paul Finegan
Manager
The Cliff Townhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This small hotel at the top of St. Stephen's Green is elegant and perfectly located for sightseeing in Dublin--my husband and I could walk to all the major museums. We knew in advance that the elevator only goes up a few floors, so we were ready to walk to the top. (We always got help with our bags.) Our Double Deluxe room was very comfortable but had no view. But more important, it was very quiet. We do recommend that the management take care of some mold appearing on the shower ceiling. There seemed to be a problem in the kitchen at breakfast a few mornings but by the time we left, everything was back to normal. Everyone was very helpful to us and accommodating for all our needs. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Double Deluxe room was a decent size. Those facing the back are very quiet. Those with a view face a...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaTer.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulFinegan, Manager at Cliff TownHouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear Maria Ter,

Thank you for your honest review.
We have addressed the issues you mention and painted the bathroom since your stay. We do also have a new person at breakfast and there were a couple of issues as they found their feet. I hope that it did not effect your stay. Our location is one of our great assets and I'm glad you found it so beneficial. I hope that you get the opportunity to visit us again soon,

Kind regards,

Paul Finegan
Manager
The Cliff Townhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Just about everything was right, starting with the friendly welcome and service on arrival. Our room, 'WB Yeats', was grand and overlooked the green; comfortable, spacious and in Georgian splendour.This is a nice looking hotel, privately owned, with motivated helpful staff. The bar is set up for some serious cocktails, but we were there on a Sunday night, so it was quiet. Not so the restaurant, which is popular and deservedly so; we had a really delicious meal with quick, unobstrusive service.
The only negative was the website stating 'free parking', which only refers to overnight outside on the square in the free hours. Parking in the nearby car park was expensive (even with the hotel discount if for 24 hours) and a bit interesting to access. but this was a minor irritation when all else was fine with the hotel. An excellent place to stay in a pleasant and convenient part of Dublin.

Room Tip: Superior room was that, but not at great extra expense.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulFinegan, Manager at Cliff TownHouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear Henry B,

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind comments regarding the food and service. I have adjusted the website info regarding the parking, as you said we do have a reduced rate with a local car park - the St Stephen's Green car park. I am glad that the upsides of your stay outweighed the parking issue. We look forward to welcoming you back again,

Best wishes,

Paul Finegan
Manager
The Cliff Townhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We just dropped into the bar to round our night off before going home. My partner will only drink Caprioska so was a bit peeved not to find one on the menu. Not to be deterred I mentioned it to the bar tender who had never heard of one (it might have been my pronunciation!) he asked what was in it and offered to make it to the recipe I gave him. It turned out superb. We also had a passionfruit mojito and an espresso martini, both of which were fantastic also. The bar looks lovely and with staff as nice as the ones we encountered we will surely be back.

Room Tip: I marked "average" for sleep quality, swimming pool and fitness centre as I didn't ac...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lollymcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulFinegan, Manager at Cliff TownHouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Dear Lollymcd,

Many thanks for the positive review. We do pride ourselves on our cocktails and our staff and I hope that you come back to visit us and sample our wares soon again,

Yours sincerely,

Paul Finegan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Dawson Hotel & Spa
The Dawson Hotel & Spa
#103 of 150 in Dublin
725 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#24 of 150 in Dublin
1,504 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 150 in Dublin
2,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
0.3 mi away
Drury Court Hotel
Drury Court Hotel
#23 of 150 in Dublin
1,500 reviews
0.3 mi away
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff TownHouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff TownHouse

Address: 22 St Stephen's Green, Dublin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range: $204 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cliff TownHouse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cliff Townhouse is superbly located in the heart of Dublin with boutique style rooms and wonderful restaurant with great food, superb service and ambiance at great value. Private dining facility also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Cliff TownHouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Town House Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing